Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ?

Can a candidate for a public contract object to the General Terms and Conditions of Sale to the contracting authority?

by gmorales on 8 May 2013 | Category: Folders of the month
Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ? Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ?

Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ? The general conditions of sale are defined in Article L. 441-6 of the French Commercial Code. These are pre-established documents containing stipulations drafted unilaterally by one of the candidates and whose purpose is to regulate the legal regime of the future contract. The general conditions of sale are distinguished from the public contract which will be concluded at the end of the procedure of competition on two main points. First of all, they were not drafted for the purpose of concluding the contract, since they pre-exist and are independent of the latter. Secondly, their drafting is essentially unilateral, which raises, on the one hand, the problem of their knowledge and then their acceptance by the contracting authority, on the other hand, that of the conflict in their application which may result from their incompatibility with the specifications of the specifications. The general conditions of sale contain all the provisions applicable to a category of contracts (terms of settlement of accounts, calculation of deadlines, receipt of services, termination of the contract, procedures for settling disputes, etc.) which are often poorly known to the contracting authority because they are not physically annexed to the contract documents. Also, in the context of litigation before the administrative judge (contesting penalties, contestation of the settlement of a contract, termination ...), it is not uncommon to see a contracting authority dismissed of its request simply because he did not respect certain terms of performance of services, or settlement of disputes, provided for by these documents which he did not know that they applied to him! This situation is very frequently encountered for low-cost adapted procedure contracts where the purchase is often made on simple quotes or via the issuance of a purchase order or an unofficial contract drawn up directly by the holder at the end of the year. request from the contracting authority. In these cases, it is not uncommon to see the general conditions of sale as part of the conditions of performance of the contract. It can not therefore be stressed enough that the public purchaser must carefully read all the documents in the contract, including the documents to which he refers, since the general conditions of sale may contain many pitfalls in the event of litigation. the contracting authority!

The opposability of the general conditions of sale

The rule of thumb is that the general conditions of sale apply only to public contracts which expressly refer to them. They then acquire contractual value. This situation is very frequently encountered for certain types of service in the framework of adapted procedure contracts (boiler maintenance contract, supply and maintenance of fire extinguishers, rental and maintenance contract for photocopiers, ink cartridge deliveries, contract for vehicle maintenance, moving contract etc ...). Indeed, only general conditions of sale having contractual value, known and accepted by the other party, at the time of the exchange of the consents, may in principle be validly opposed and serve as law applicable to the execution, or to the termination of the contract. On the form, the conditions of sale must be legible and clearly appear as part of the offer known and accepted by the contracting authority before the conclusion of the contract (TA Chalon en Champagne, February 5, 2008, Sté LTJH Déménagements, No. 0,501,652). In practice, this acceptance can firstly result from the signing of a purchase order on which the general conditions of sale appear. Thus about the issuing of a purchase order issued by a municipality to buy vehicles for an amount of 50.000 € HT, the Administrative Court of Saint Denis de la Reunion will decide to apply the general conditions of sale that appeared on the purchase orders (TA Saint Denis of Reunion, December 1st, 1999, Mr. CAILLE François, n ° 9800368). This acceptance can then result from the signing of a contract on the back of which appear the general conditions of sale. In a judgment dated September 18, 2008, the Administrative Court of Montpellier has already had the opportunity to confirm this solution about a dispute concerning the termination of a maintenance contract for a photocopier. In that case, the firm which had contracted the contract had asked the Court to order a municipality to pay him the termination indemnity provided for in the general conditions of the maintenance contract. The judge will prove him right up to sanctioning the community for not having complied with the terms of termination provided in the terms and conditions of sale appended to the maintenance contract: "Whereas the municipality of Sète argues that the general conditions of sale have not been initialed by the mayor of Sète and that, consequently, it had not validly entered into these; that, however, the absence of initials of the general conditions of sale, placed on the back of the maintenance contract, has no impact on its contractual commitment resulting from the signature of the front, without it being necessary either that it make an express reference; that it follows from the instruction that a letter from a deputy mayor dated April 5, 2000, rejecting the claim of the applicant by qualifying the said clause 'leonine', should be regarded as establishing that the municipality has well knowledge of such a clause inserted in the initial contract; that it is not disputed by the municipality of Sète that this one terminated the contract in question on December 17, 1999, without respecting the forms envisaged by the aforementioned article, and engages its contractual responsibility "(TA Montpellier 18 September 2008, SOCIETE FAXCOPY DIFFUSION, No. 0604340). Be careful, however, because a purchase order can provide that the signatory acknowledges having read the general conditions of sale of the company and accepts them without these conditions being annexed to the contract (CAA Paris June 5, 2001, UGAP, req .n ° 00PA02972).

Settlement of conflicts of contractual standards

In case of contradiction between the general conditions of sale and the other parts of the contract, the judge will consider the order of priority of the contractual documents before making his decision if, of course, a contractual provision makes it possible to determine the order of priority of the documents. Otherwise, the judge will be forced to seek the common intention of the parties. In a judgment dated June 6, 2008, the Administrative Court of Nice recognized the right of the incumbent company to require the increase of its annual premium on the grounds that the general conditions of sale were an integral part of the contractual documents. of the contract: "Considering that the particular clauses applicable to the contested contract enumerate in descending order of priority the contractual documents, namely the act of engagement, the said clause of special clauses, and the general conditions of sale provided by the holder; that the stipulations of the particular clause of clauses prevail over those of the general conditions; Considering that if the particular clauses applicable to the contract do not open to the company AXA France the faculty to carry out a unilateral increase of the premium, it does not exclude it; that Article 8.3 of the general terms and conditions of the AXA insurance contract stipulates that "if, for technical reasons, the insurer is led to modify the rates applicable to the risks covered by this contract, the contribution payable on each due date principal will be modified accordingly. The notice of expiry will mention the reassessment. The subscriber or member may then terminate the contract by registered letter sent to the insurer within fifteen days after the day he became aware of the change. The cancellation will take effect one month after the dispatch of this letter ... In the absence of this termination, the modification of the contribution will take effect as from the expiry "; these latter provisions do not contravene those of the particular clauses; that they thus opened to the company AXA France the faculty of unilaterally modifying its tariffs, provided to justify a motive of a technical nature "(TA Nice, June 6, 2008, CCI of the VAR, n ° 0403952). The analysis of the administrative case law makes it possible to convince oneself of the importance of the general conditions of sale within the framework of the execution of the public contracts and the precautions to be taken before committing definitively. In any case, nothing prevents the contracting authority from modifying the general conditions of sale that appear on the order form or the estimate submitted to it, to specify certain conditions, to strike or to paraphrase in the margin the stipulations that he wants to see apart. Such an amendment may indeed be regarded as a kind against a proposal made by the contracting authority, which the supplier will be free, in turn, to accept or not. If the provider accepts these modifications, the modified terms of sale will become the law of the parties ...... thus, contrary to the widespread idea, the administrative judge may have to settle a dispute on the basis of the general conditions of sale written by a candidate for a public contract. Vigilance is essential.

Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ?

Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ?

par gmorales le 8 mai 2013 | Catégorie : Dossiers du mois
Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ?  Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ?

Un candidat à un marché public peut-il opposer ses conditions générales de vente au pouvoir adjudicateur ?  Les conditions générales de vente sont définies à l’article L. 441-6 du Code de commerce. Il s’agit de documents préétablis sur lesquels figurent des stipulations rédigées unilatéralement par l’un des candidats et dont l’objet consiste à régler le régime juridique du futur contrat. Les conditions générales de vente se distinguent du marché public qui sera conclu à l’issue de la procédure de mise en concurrence sur deux points principaux. Tout d’abord, elles n’ont pas été rédigées en vue de la conclusion du marché, puisqu’elles préexistent à celui-ci et indépendamment de ce dernier. Ensuite, leur rédaction est par essence unilatérale, ce qui pose, d’une part, le problème de leur connaissance puis de leur acceptation par le pouvoir adjudicateur, d’autre part, celui du conflit dans leur application qui peut résulter de leur incompatibilité avec les prescriptions des cahiers des charges. Les conditions générales de vente contiennent en effet l’ensemble des dispositions applicables à une catégorie de marchés (modalités de règlement des comptes, calcul des délais, réception des prestations, résiliation du contrat, modalités de règlement des litiges, etc.) qui sont souvent mal connues du pouvoir adjudicateur faute d’être concrètement annexées aux pièces du marché. Aussi , dans le cadre de litiges portés devant le juge administratif (contestation de pénalités, contestation du décompte d’un marché, résiliation…), il n’est pas rare de voir un pouvoir adjudicateur débouté de sa demande au seul motif qu’il n’a pas respecté certaines modalités d’exécution des prestations, ou de règlement des litiges, prévus par ces documents dont il ne savait pas qu’ils s’appliquaient à lui ! Cette situation se rencontre très fréquemment pour les marchés à procédure adaptée de faibles montants où l’achat se fait souvent sur simples devis ou via l’émission d’un bon de commande où d’un contrat peu formalisé établi directement par le titulaire à la demande du pouvoir adjudicateur. Dans ces hypothèses, il n’est pas rare de voir les conditions générales de vente faire partie des conditions d’exécution du marché. On ne saurait donc trop insister sur la nécessité pour l’acheteur public de lire avec attention l’ensemble des pièces du contrat y compris les documents auxquels il renvoit car les conditions générales de vente peuvent recéler, en cas de litiges, de nombreux pièges pour le pouvoir adjudicateur !

L’opposabilité des conditions générales de vente

La règle de principe est que les conditions générales de vente ne s’appliquent qu’aux marchés publics qui s’y réfèrent expressément. Elles acquièrent alors valeur contractuelle. Cette situation se rencontre très fréquemment pour certains types de prestation dans le cadre des marchés à procédure adaptée (contrat de maintenance de chaudière, fourniture et entretien d’extincteurs, contrat de location et maintenance de photocopieurs, livraisons de cartouches d’encres, contrat d’entretiens de véhicules, contrat de déménagement etc….). En effet, seules des conditions générales de vente ayant valeur contractuelle, connues et acceptées par l’autre partie, au moment de l’échange des consentements, pourront en principe être valablement opposées et servir de droit applicable à l’exécution, ou à la résiliation du contrat. Sur la forme, les conditions de vente devront donc être lisibles et apparaître clairement, comme constituant un élément de l’offre connu et accepté par le pouvoir adjudicateur avant la conclusion du marché (TA Chalon en Champagne, 5 février 2008, Sté LTJH Déménagements, n°0501652). Dans la pratique, cette acceptation peut tout d’abord résulter de la signature d’un bon de commande sur lequel figure les conditions générales de vente. Ainsi à propos de l’émission d’un bon de commande émis par une commune pour acheter des véhicules pour un montant de 50.000 € HT, le Tribunal administratif de Saint Denis de La Réunion va décider d’appliquer les conditions générales de vente qui figuraient sur les bons de commandes (TA Saint Denis de La Réunion, 1er décembre 1999, M. CAILLE François , n°9800368). Cette acceptation peut ensuite résulter de la signature d’un contrat au dos duquel figurent les conditions générales de vente. Dans un jugement en date du 18 septembre 2008, le Tribunal administratif de Montpellier a déjà eu l’occasion de confirmer cette solution à propos d’un litige concernant la résiliation d’un contrat de maintenance d’un photocopieur. Dans cette affaire, l’entreprise titulaire du contrat avait demandé au Tribunal de condamner une Commune à lui verser l’indemnité de résiliation prévue dans les conditions générales du contrat de maintenance. Le juge va lui donner raison allant jusqu’à sanctionner la collectivité pour ne pas avoir respecté les modalités de résiliation prévues dans les conditions générales de ventes annexées au contrat de maintenance : « Considérant que la commune de Sète fait valoir que les conditions générales de vente n’ont pas été paraphées par le maire de Sète et que, par suite, elle ne s’était pas engagée valablement sur celles-ci ; que, toutefois, l’absence de paraphe des conditions générales de vente, placées au verso du contrat de maintenance, est sans incidence sur son engagement contractuel découlant de la signature du recto, sans qu’il ait été non plus nécessaire que celui-ci y fasse un renvoi exprès ; qu’il résulte de l’instruction qu’une lettre d’un adjoint au maire en date du 5 avril 2000, rejetant la réclamation de la requérante en qualifiant ladite clause de ‘léonine’, doit être regardée comme établissant que la commune a bien eu connaissance d’une telle clause insérée dans le contrat initial ; qu’il n’est pas contesté par la commune de Sète que celle-ci a résilié le contrat en cause le 17 décembre 1999, sans respecter les formes prévues par l’article sus mentionné, et engage sa responsabilité contractuelle » (TA Montpellier 18 septembre 2008, SOCIETE FAXCOPY DIFFUSION, n°0604340). Attention néanmoins car un bon de commande peut prévoir que le signataire reconnaît avoir pris connaissance des conditions générales de vente de la société et qu’il les accepte sans pour autant que ces conditions soient annexés au contrat (CAA Paris 5 juin 2001, UGAP, req.n°00PA02972).

Le règlement des conflits de normes contractuelles

En cas de contradiction entre les conditions générales de vente et les autres pièces du marché, le juge examinera l’ordre de priorité des documents contractuels avant de prendre sa décision si bien entendu une disposition contractuelle permet de déterminer l’ordre de priorité des documents. A défaut, le juge sera contraint de rechercher la commune intention des parties. Dans un jugement en date du 6 juin 2008, le Tribunal administratif de Nice a en effet reconnu le droit à l’entreprise titulaire d’exiger l’augmentation de sa prime annuelle au motif que les conditions générales de vente faisaient parties intégrante des pièces contractuelles du marché :« Considérant que le cahier des clauses particulières applicable au marché litigieux énumère par ordre de priorité décroissante les documents contractuels, soit l’acte d’engagement, ledit cahier des clauses particulières, et les conditions générales de vente fournies par le titulaire ; que les stipulations du cahier des clauses particulières prévalent donc sur celles des conditions générales ; Considérant que si le cahier des clauses particulières applicables au contrat n’ouvre pas à la compagnie AXA France la faculté de procéder à une augmentation unilatérale de la prime, il ne l’exclut pas ; que l’article 8.3 des conditions générales du contrat d’assurance AXA stipule que « si, pour des motifs de caractère technique, l’assureur est amené à modifier les tarifs applicables aux risques garantis par le présent contrat, la cotisation payable à chaque échéance principale sera modifiée en conséquence. L’avis d’échéance portera mention de la nouvelle cotisation. Le souscripteur ou sociétaire pourra alors résilier le contrat par lettre recommandée adressée à l’assureur dans les quinze jours suivant celui où il a eu connaissance de la modification. La résiliation prendra effet un mois après l’expédition de cette lettre… A défaut de cette résiliation, la modification de la cotisation prendra effet à compter de l’échéance » ; que ces dernières dispositions ne contreviennent pas à celles du cahier des clauses particulières ; qu’elles ouvraient donc à la compagnie AXA France la faculté de modifier unilatéralement ses tarifs, sous réserve de justifier d’un motif de caractère technique » (TA Nice, 6 juin 2008, CCI du VAR, n°0403952). L’analyse de la jurisprudence administrative permet de se convaincre de l’importance des conditions générales de vente dans le cadre de l’exécution des marchés publics et des précautions à prendre avant de s’engager définitivement. Dans tous les cas, rien n’empêche le pouvoir adjudicateur de modifier les conditions générales de vente qui figurent sur le bon de commande ou le devis qui lui est soumis, de préciser certaines conditions, de rayer ou de parafer en marge les stipulations qu’il souhaite voir écartées. Une telle modification peut en effet s’analyser comme une sorte contre proposition formulée par le pouvoir adjudicateur, que le fournisseur sera libre, à son tour, d’accepter ou non. Si le prestataire accepte ces modifications, les conditions de vente modifiées deviendront alors la loi des parties……ainsi, contrairement à l’idée répandue, le juge administratif peut être amené à trancher un litige sur la base des conditions générales de vente rédigées par un candidat à un marché public. La vigilance s’impose donc.