Quel contrôle de la pondération des critères de jugement des offres ?

What control of the weighting of the tender judgment criteria?

by Sébastien Palmier on June 24, 2020 | Category: Pre-contractual & Contractual referral
Quel contrôle de la pondération des critères de jugement des offres ? Quel contrôle de la pondération des critères de jugement des offres ?

CE June 10, 2020, Minister of the Armed Forces, req. n ° 431194

The public purchaser freely determines the weighting of the criteria for judging the offers. However, it cannot legally use a weighting, in particular for the price criterion, which clearly would not allow, having regard to the characteristics of the market, to select the economically most advantageous offer. The control of the judge is however limited to a limited control concerning the relevance of the weighting chosen by the public purchaser.


Lesson 1: Absence or obligation to weight the criteria according to whether it is an adapted or formalized procedure

 As a reminder, article L 2152-7 of the public procurement code recalls that the contract is awarded to the most economically advantageous offer on the basis of one or more objective, precise criteria related to the subject of the contract or to its performance conditions. Article L 2152-8 of the public procurement code also recalls that the award criteria retained by the buyer must not have the effect of giving him discretionary freedom of choice and must guarantee the possibility of real competition . This is the reason why article R2152-11 of the public procurement code indicates that the award criteria as well as the methods of their implementation must be indicated in the consultation documents.

For adapted procedures, the indication of the methods of implementation consists at least in the prioritization of the criteria for judging tenders. In his conclusions on this judgment, the Public rapporteur Mireille Le Corre recalls indeed that within the framework of an adapted procedure, the public purchaser is not bound to proceed to a balancing of the criteria but can be satisfied with a simple prioritization (CE January 30, 2009, ANPE, n ° 290236). However, nothing prevents it from opting for a weighting of the tender judgment criteria for " objectify " his choice. In his judgment of June 10, 2020, Minister of the Armed Forces, req. n ° 431194, the Council of State confirms this solution in its recital n ° 4: " even though the relevant market was a market with an adapted procedure, subject to a simple obligation to prioritize criteria, the Ministry of the Armed Forces had decided to weight the criteria for choosing the market ".

In an adapted procedure, the public purchaser is therefore free to specify the methods of implementation of the criteria for choosing offers by proceeding either to their prioritization or to their weighting.

 For formalized procedures, the indication of the methods of implementation consists at least in the weighting of the criteria for judging the offers.

Article R2152-11 of the public procurement code indicates that for contracts awarded according to a formalized procedure, the award criteria are subject to a weighting unless this proves impossible for objective reasons, in which case prioritization is permitted. The weighting can be expressed as a range with an appropriate maximum deviation.

In a formal procedure, the public purchaser is therefore required to specify the methods for implementing the criteria for choosing offers by weighing them, unless this is impossible for objective reasons.


Lesson 2: Judicial control over the weighting of criteria

According to the case law of the CJEU, the judge is competent to control the relevance of the weighting of the criteria for judging tenders with regard to the characteristics of the services targeted by the subject of the contract (CJEC, 4 December 2003, EVN and Wienstrom, C- 448/01, points 39 to 43).

In a judgment dated August 2, 2011, Parc Régional des Grands Causses, the Council of State had already had the opportunity to confirm this solution in these terms: Considering that it results from the instruction that the disputed market relates to seventy energy pre-diagnoses on public buildings, schools, town halls, municipal housing, village halls as well as on health establishments, campsites, lodges rural, holiday centers and hotels; that it provides for the completion of an energy assessment on each building as well as an assessment of energy saving deposits and an orientation towards simple interventions to be implemented or in-depth studies; that with regard to the technical nature of these services, the subject of the contract objectively justifies the use of the criterion, weighted up to 20%, relating to the candidates' references in order to take into account their experience; that taking this criterion into account had no discriminatory effect »(CE August 2, 2011, Grands Causses Regional Park, req.n ° 348254).

But above all, in a judgment of 7 May 2013, Department of Paris, the Council of State also had the opportunity to sanction the excessive weighting of the criterion of the price at 40 % having regard to the characteristics of the services targeted by the object of the in particularly clear terms: " 6. Considering that after having noted that the analysis services subject to the nomenclature, the invoicing of which could not be the subject of any form of re-application of the aforementioned provisions of the public health code, represented the major part of the total price of the contract at issue and that their price was thus binding on both the candidates and the contracting authority, the judge of interim measures of the Paris administrative court was able to deduce therefrom, without committing an error of law and by an assessment free of misrepresentation, in particular on the marginal and ancillary nature of the services likely to be invoiced, that the price criterion was not relevant for separating the offers and that its weighting of 40 % of the final score was manifestly excessive; that, if the ordinance further states that the cost of ancillary services such as collecting samples, administrative processing of files and training hours were not intended to be billed to Paris authorities, these reasons, whatever their merits, are overabundant and do not justify the requested cassation "(CE May 7, 2013, Department of Paris, req.n ° 364833).

In its judgment of June 10, 2020, the State Council laid down for the first time the rule according to which the public purchaser freely determines the weighting of the criteria for judging tenders while specifying that this weighting is subject to a limited control of part of the judge to avoid on the one hand, that the weighting selected leads to a criterion being neutralized because of the weighting assigned to it; on the other hand, that the weight given to the price criterion does not have the effect of ruling out the economically most advantageous offer: "The contracting authority freely determines the weighting of the criteria for the selection of tenders. However, it cannot legally use a weighting, in particular for the price or cost criterion, which clearly would not allow, having regard to market characteristics, to select the economically most advantageous offer".


CE June 10, 2020, Minister of the Armed Forces, req. n ° 431194

Considering the following:

  1. It appears from the documents in the file submitted to the trial judges that the Minister of Defense has launched the award of a contract to purchase orders, according to the appropriate procedure, with a view to carrying out, in particular, training services on “public procurement” “, Divided into seven geographic lots. The offers of the consortium made up of the companies Erics Associés and Altaris were rejected. By a judgment of April 30, 2017, the administrative court of Rennes rejected the requests of these companies for the condemnation of the State to pay them the sum of 218,400 euros in compensation for the damage caused by their eviction from this market. The Minister for the Armed Forces appealed on points of law against the judgment of March 29, 2019 by which the Nantes Administrative Court of Appeal, on appeal from the companies Erics Associés and Altaris, quashed this judgment, ordered the State to pay them the sum of 4,800 euros and dismissed the remainder of their appeal.
  2. On the one hand, when a candidate for the award of a public contract requests compensation for the damage arising from his irregular eviction from this contract and there is a direct causal link between the fault resulting from the irregularity and the damages invoked by the applicant because of his eviction, it is up to the judge to verify whether or not the candidate was without any chance of winning the contract. In the absence of any chance, he is not entitled to any compensation. Otherwise, he is entitled in principle to reimbursement of the costs he incurred in presenting his offer. It should also be investigated whether the irregularly ousted candidate had a serious chance of winning the contract concluded with another candidate. If this is the case, he is entitled to be compensated for his loss of earnings, which necessarily includes, since they have been included in his expenses, the costs of presentation of the offer, which therefore do not have to make l unless otherwise stipulated in the contract, subject to specific compensation. On the other hand, the candidate cannot claim compensation for this shortfall if the public body renounces to conclude the contract for a reason of general interest.
  3. On the other hand, I of article 53 of the public procurement code, applicable on the date of award of the disputed contract, provided that: “To award the contract to the candidate who presented the most economically advantageous tender, the contracting authority is based: / 1 ° Or on a plurality of non-discriminatory criteria related to the subject of the contract, in particular quality, price, technical value, aesthetic and functional character, performance in terms of protection of the environment, performance in terms of development of direct supplies of agricultural products, performance in terms of professional integration of people in difficulty, overall cost of use, costs throughout the life cycle, profitability, innovative character, after-sales service and technical assistance, delivery date, delivery or execution time, security of supply, interoperability and operational characteristics tional. Other criteria may be taken into account if they are justified by the subject of the contract. 2 ° Or, taking into account the object of the contract, on a single criterion, which is that of the price “. It follows from these provisions that it is up to the contracting authority to determine the most economically advantageous tender on the basis of criteria enabling the overall performance of the tenders to be assessed in relation to its needs. These criteria must be linked to the subject of the contract or to its performance conditions, be defined with sufficient precision not to leave an indefinite margin of choice and not to create a breach of equality between the candidates. The contracting authority freely determines the weighting of the criteria for the selection of tenders. However, it cannot legally use a weighting, in particular for the price or cost criterion, which clearly would not allow, having regard to market characteristics, to select the economically most advantageous offer.

  4. It appears from the documents in the file submitted to the trial judges that even though the market in question was a market with an adapted procedure, subject to a simple obligation of prioritization of criteria, the Ministry of the Armed Forces had decided to weight the criteria of market choice. The consultation regulations stipulated that the offers would be assessed in the light of a technical value criterion weighted at 90 % and a price criterion weighted at 10 %. It follows from what has been said in point 3 above that, in considering that such a weighting was irregular on the ground that it was “particularly disproportionate”, that the Minister of Defense did not establish the need for it and that it led to “manifestly neutralizing” the price criterion, the Nantes administrative court of appeal committed an error of law.
  5. It follows from the above, without there being any need to consider the other grounds of appeal, that the Minister for the Armed Forces is entitled to request the setting aside of the judgment under appeal.
  6. The provisions of Article L. 761-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice prevent an amount from being paid in this respect at the expense of the State which is not, in the present proceedings, the losing party .

DECIDE:
Article 1: The judgment of March 29, 2019 of the Nantes Administrative Court of Appeal is set aside.
Article 2: The case is referred to the Administrative Court of Appeal of Nantes.
Article 3: The conclusions of the companies Erics Associés and Ataris presented under the provisions of article L. 761-1 of the code of administrative justice are rejected.
Article 4: This decision will be notified to the Minister of the Armed Forces and to the companies Erics Associés and Altaris.

Quel contrôle de la pondération des critères de jugement des offres ?

Quel contrôle de la pondération des critères de jugement des offres ?

par Sébastien Palmier le 24 juin 2020 | Catégorie : Référé pré-contractuel & Contractuel
Quel contrôle de la pondération des critères de jugement des offres ? Quel contrôle de la pondération des critères de jugement des offres ?

CE 10 juin 2020, Ministre des armées, req. n°431194

L’acheteur public détermine librement la pondération des critères de jugement des offres. Toutefois, il ne peut légalement retenir une pondération, en particulier pour le critère du prix, qui ne permettrait manifestement pas, eu égard aux caractéristiques du marché, de retenir l'offre économiquement la plus avantageuse. Le contrôle du juge se limite néanmoins à un contrôle restreint concernant la pertinence de la pondération retenue par l'acheteur public.


Enseignement n°1 : Absence ou obligation de pondération des critères selon qu’il s’agit d’une procédure adaptée ou formalisée

 Pour rappel, l’article L 2152-7 du code de la commande publique rappelle que le marché est attribué à l’offre économiquement la plus avantageuse sur la base d’un ou plusieurs critères objectifs, précis et liés à l’objet du marché ou à ses conditions d’exécution. L’article L 2152-8 du code de la commande publique rappelle également que les critères d’attribution retenus pas l’acheteur ne doivent pas avoir pour effet de lui conférer une liberté de choix discrétionnaire et doivent garantir la possibilité d’une véritable concurrence. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’article R2152-11 du code de la commande publique indique que les critères d’attribution ainsi que les modalités de leur mise en œuvre doivent être indiqués dans les documents de la consultation.

Pour les procédures adaptées, l’indication des modalités de mise en œuvre consiste à minima dans la hiérarchisation des critères de jugement des offres. Dans ses conclusions sur cet arrêt, le Rapporteur public Mireille Le Corre rappelle en effet que dans le cadre d’une procédure adaptée, l’acheteur public n’est pas tenu de procéder à une pondération des critères mais peut se contenter d’une simple hiérarchisation (CE 30 janvier 2009, ANPE, n°290236). Rien ne lui interdit néanmoins d’opter pour une pondération des critères de jugement des offres pour « objectiviser » son choix. Dans son arrêt du 10 juin 2020, Ministre des armées, req. n°431194, le Conseil d’Etat confirme cette solution dans son considérant n°4 : « alors même que le marché en cause était un marché à procédure adaptée, soumis à une simple obligation de hiérarchisation des critères, le ministère des armées avait décidé de procéder à la pondération des critères de choix du marché ».

Dans une procédure adaptée, l’acheteur public est donc libre de préciser les modalités de mise en œuvre des critères de choix des offres en procédant soit à leur hiérarchisation, soit à leur pondération.

 Pour les procédures formalisées, l’indication des modalités de mise en œuvre consiste à minima dans la pondération des critères de jugement des offres.

L’article R2152-11 du code de la commande publique indique que pour les marchés passés selon une procédure formalisée, les critères d’attribution font l’objet d’une pondération sauf si celle-ci s’avère impossible pour des raisons objectives, auquel cas la hiérarchisation est permise. La pondération peut être exprimée sous forme d’une fourchette avec un écart maximum approprié.

Dans une procédure formalisée, l’acheteur public est donc tenu de préciser les modalités de mise en œuvre des critères de choix des offres en procédant à leur pondération, sauf impossibilité pour des raisons objectives.


Enseignement n°2 : le contrôle du juge sur la pondération des critères

Selon la jurisprudence de la CJUE, le juge est compétent pour contrôler la pertinence de la pondération des critères de jugement des offres au regard des caractéristiques des prestations visées par l’objet du marché (CJCE, 4 décembre 2003, EVN et Wienstrom, C-448/01, points 39 à 43).

Dans un arrêt en date du 2 août 2011, Parc Régional des Grands Causses, le Conseil d’Etat avait déjà eu l’occasion de confirmé cette solution en ces termes : « Considérant qu'il résulte de l'instruction que le marché litigieux est relatif à soixante-dix pré-diagnostics énergétiques sur des bâtiments publics, écoles, mairies, logements communaux, salles des fêtes ainsi que sur des établissements de santé, des campings, gîtes ruraux, centres de vacances et hôtels ; qu'il prévoit la réalisation d'un bilan énergétique sur chaque bâtiment ainsi qu'une évaluation des gisements d'économie d'énergie et une orientation vers des interventions simples à mettre en œuvre ou des études approfondies ; qu'eu égard à la technicité de ces prestations, l'objet du marché justifie objectivement le recours au critère, pondéré à hauteur de 20%, tenant aux références des candidats afin de prendre en considération leur expérience ; que la prise en compte de ce critère n'a pas eu d'effet discriminatoire » (CE 2 août 2011, Parc Régional des Grands Causses, req.n°348254).

Mais surtout, dans un arrêt du 7 mai 2013, Département de Paris, le Conseil d’Etat avait également eu l’occasion de sanctionner la pondération excessive du critère du prix à 40 % eu égard aux caractéristiques des prestations visées par l’objet du marché en des termes particulièrement clairs : « 6. Considérant qu’après avoir relevé que les prestations d’analyses soumises à la nomenclature, dont la facturation ne pouvaient faire l’objet d’aucune forme de remise en application des dispositions précitées du code de la santé publique, représentaient la majeure partie du prix total du marché litigieux et que leur prix s’imposait ainsi tant aux candidats qu’au pouvoir adjudicateur, le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Paris a pu en déduire, sans commettre d’erreur de droit et par une appréciation exempte de dénaturation, notamment sur le caractère marginal et accessoire des prestations susceptibles d’être facturées, que le critère du prix n’était pas pertinent pour départager les offres et que sa pondération à hauteur de 40 % de la note finale était manifestement excessive ; que, si l’ordonnance énonce au surplus que le coût des prestations accessoires telles que le ramassage des échantillons, le traitement administratif des dossiers et les heures de formation n’avaient pas vocation à être facturées aux collectivités parisiennes, ces motifs, quel que soit leur bien fondé, présentent un caractère surabondant et ne justifient pas la cassation demandée » (CE 7 mai 2013, Département de Paris, req.n°364833).

Dans son arrêt du 10 juin 2020, le Conseil d’Etat pose pour la première fois la règle selon laquelle l’acheteur public détermine librement la pondération des critères de jugement des offres tout en précisant que cette pondération est soumise à un contrôle restreint de la part du juge pour éviter d’une part, que la pondération retenue conduise à ce qu’un critère soit neutralisé du fait de la pondération qui lui est affectée ; d’autre part, que la pondération accordée au critère du prix n’ait pas pour effet à écarter l’offre économiquement la plus avantageuse : "Le pouvoir adjudicateur détermine librement la pondération des critères de choix des offres. Toutefois, il ne peut légalement retenir une pondération, en particulier pour le critère du prix ou du coût, qui ne permettrait manifestement pas, eu égard aux caractéristiques du marché, de retenir l’offre économiquement la plus avantageuse".


CE 10 juin 2020, Ministre des armées, req. n°431194

Considérant ce qui suit :

  1. Il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis aux juges du fond que le ministre de la défense a lancé la passation d’un marché à bons de commande, selon la procédure adaptée, en vue de la réalisation, notamment, de prestations de formation “ achats publics “, divisées en sept lots géographiques. Les offres du groupement constitué des sociétés Erics Associés et Altaris ont été rejetées. Par un jugement du 30 avril 2017, le tribunal administratif de Rennes a rejeté les demandes de ces sociétés tendant à la condamnation de l’Etat à leur verser la somme de 218 400 euros en réparation du préjudice causé par leur éviction de ce marché. La ministre des armées se pourvoit en cassation contre l’arrêt du 29 mars 2019 par lequel la cour administrative d’appel de Nantes a, sur appel des sociétés Erics Associés et Altaris, annulé ce jugement, condamné l’Etat à leur verser la somme de 4 800 euros et rejeté le surplus de leur requête d’appel.
  2. D’une part, lorsqu’un candidat à l’attribution d’un marché public demande la réparation du préjudice né de son éviction irrégulière de ce contrat et qu’il existe un lien direct de causalité entre la faute résultant de l’irrégularité et les préjudices invoqués par le requérant à cause de son éviction, il appartient au juge de vérifier si le candidat était ou non dépourvu de toute chance de remporter le contrat. En l’absence de toute chance, il n’a droit à aucune indemnité. Dans le cas contraire, il a droit en principe au remboursement des frais qu’il a engagés pour présenter son offre. Il convient en outre de rechercher si le candidat irrégulièrement évincé avait des chances sérieuses d’emporter le contrat conclu avec un autre candidat. Si tel est le cas, il a droit à être indemnisé de son manque à gagner, qui inclut nécessairement, puisqu’ils ont été intégrés dans ses charges, les frais de présentation de l’offre, lesquels n’ont donc pas à faire l’objet, sauf stipulation contraire du contrat, d’une indemnisation spécifique. En revanche, le candidat ne peut prétendre à une indemnisation de ce manque à gagner si la personne publique renonce à conclure le contrat pour un motif d’intérêt général.
  3. D’autre part, le I de l’article 53 du code des marchés publics, applicable à la date de passation du marché litigieux, disposait que : “ Pour attribuer le marché au candidat qui a présenté l’offre économiquement la plus avantageuse, le pouvoir adjudicateur se fonde :/ 1° Soit sur une pluralité de critères non discriminatoires et liés à l’objet du marché, notamment la qualité, le prix, la valeur technique, le caractère esthétique et fonctionnel, les performances en matière de protection de l’environnement, les performances en matière de développement des approvisionnements directs de produits de l’agriculture, les performances en matière d’insertion professionnelle des publics en difficulté, le coût global d’utilisation, les coûts tout au long du cycle de vie, la rentabilité, le caractère innovant, le service après-vente et l’assistance technique, la date de livraison, le délai de livraison ou d’exécution, la sécurité d’approvisionnement, l’interopérabilité et les caractéristiques opérationnelles. D’autres critères peuvent être pris en compte s’ils sont justifiés par l’objet du marché. 2° Soit, compte tenu de l’objet du marché, sur un seul critère, qui est celui du prix “. Il résulte de ces dispositions qu’il appartient au pouvoir adjudicateur de déterminer l’offre économiquement la plus avantageuse en se fondant sur des critères permettant d’apprécier la performance globale des offres au regard de ses besoins. Ces critères doivent être liés à l’objet du marché ou à ses conditions d’exécution, être définis avec suffisamment de précision pour ne pas laisser une marge de choix indéterminée et ne pas créer de rupture d’égalité entre les candidats. Le pouvoir adjudicateur détermine librement la pondération des critères de choix des offres. Toutefois, il ne peut légalement retenir une pondération, en particulier pour le critère du prix ou du coût, qui ne permettrait manifestement pas, eu égard aux caractéristiques du marché, de retenir l’offre économiquement la plus avantageuse.

  4. Il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis aux juges du fond qu’alors même que le marché en cause était un marché à procédure adaptée, soumis à une simple obligation de hiérarchisation des critères, le ministère des armées avait décidé de procéder à la pondération des critères de choix du marché. Le règlement de la consultation prévoyait que les offres seraient appréciées au regard d’un critère de valeur technique pondéré à 90 % et d’un critère de prix pondéré à 10 %. Il résulte de ce qui a été dit au point 3 ci-dessus qu’en jugeant qu’une telle pondération était irrégulière au motif qu’elle était “ particulièrement disproportionnée “, que le ministre de la défense n’en établissait pas la nécessité et qu’elle conduisait à “ neutraliser manifestement “ le critère du prix, la cour administrative d’appel de Nantes a commis une erreur de droit.
  5. Il résulte de ce qui précède, sans qu’il soit besoin d’examiner les autres moyens du pourvoi, que la ministre des armées est fondée à demander l’annulation de l’arrêt attaqué.
  6. Les dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative font obstacle à ce qu’une somme soit mise à ce titre à la charge de l’Etat qui n’est pas, dans la présente instance, la partie perdante.

D E C I D E :
Article 1er : L’arrêt du 29 mars 2019 de la cour administrative d’appel de Nantes est annulé.
Article 2 : L’affaire est renvoyée à la cour administrative d’appel de Nantes.
Article 3 : Les conclusions des sociétés Erics Associés et Ataris présentées au titre des dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative sont rejetées.
Article 4 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la ministre des armées et aux sociétés Erics Associés et Altaris.