Précisions utiles sur les modalités d’appréciation de la condition d’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat

Useful information on how to assess the condition of urgency to suspend the performance of a contract

by Sébastien Palmier on 3 October 2017 | Category: Public markets
Précisions utiles sur les modalités d’appréciation de la condition d’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat Précisions utiles sur les modalités d’appréciation de la condition d’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat

CE 18 September 2017, M.AG ... R, req.no. 408894

In this case, the Council of State recalls that the members of the deliberative body of a territorial collectivity or a group of territorial collectivities which concluded an administrative contract are admissible to form before the judge of the contract an appeal in contestation the validity of the latter and may include in this appeal a request for the suspension of its execution on the basis of Article L. 521-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice.

The interest of the judgment lies not in this reminder but in the clarifications that the Council of State makes on the modalities of appreciation of the condition of urgency to suspend the execution of a contract within the framework of an intermediary formed by members of the deliberative assembly of the contracting public entity.

The facts of the case were as follows: in a deliberation of December 15, 2016, the community council of a community of communes approved the recipient of a contract for the design of an intercommunal swimming pool and authorized its president to sign the market. This public institution subsequently merged with two other public institutions that were transferred the rights and obligations of this market.

Several councilors of the new community council then decided to appeal to the Administrative Court of Lyon for the validity of the contract while at the same time introducing an interim order suspending its execution. By an order of 27 February 2017, the judge refused the application on the ground that the condition of urgency was not met.

In cassation, the Council of State confirms the order in the light of the circumstances of the case.

 

Rule n ° 1: The assessment of the emergency condition is assessed in concreto

The Conseil d'Etat first recalls the general rule that it is for the judge hearing the application to concretely, given the justifications provided by the applicant, if the effects of the contested act are such as to characterize an urgency justifying that, without waiting for the judgment of the application on the merits, the execution of the decision is suspended. The urgency must therefore be assessed objectively in the light of all the circumstances of the case.

More specifically, in order to assess whether the condition of urgency is fulfilled in the framework of an interim order suspending the performance of a contract brought by the members of a deliberative body of a contracting authority, the Council of The State recalls that the judge of the interim suspension must take into account all the elements which the applicants claim to be capable of characterizing a sufficiently serious and immediate breach of their prerogatives or the conditions for the exercise of their mandate, the interests of the community or the grouping of public authorities of which they are elected or, where appropriate, to any other public interest.

 

Rule 2: Evidence of the Urgency to Suspend the Performance of a Public Contract

The condition of urgency remains subject to the existence of factors capable of establishing the seriousness and immediacy of the breaches that the performance of the contract is likely to bring to the interests invoked. Thus, where the object of the contract is the construction of a public work: it must be demonstrated that its execution is likely to produce irreversible effects at short notice and to a certain extent so that they can be regarded as constitutive of an emergency situation.

The Conseil d'Etat thus considers that a sufficiently serious and immediate attack on the interests defended by the members of the deliberative body of a local authority or a group of local authorities is likely to be characterized when the cost of the works which are subject to a public contract may substantially affect the finances of the community or group concerned and that the work is imminent and difficult to reverse.

The onus is on the applicant to demonstrate that in the event of performance of the contract, the cost to the public purchaser of the resolution or termination of the contract that may be imposed by the contract judge the substance of the proceedings on the merits will be such that it is preferable to suspend its execution immediately. In other words, in order to fulfill the condition of urgency, it is necessary to demonstrate the importance of the financial consequences of the performance of the contract even during the duration of the contentious proceeding on the merits.

Applying this reading, the Council of State considers that in this case, the condition of urgency is not met to the extent that the applicants merely claim that the contract was concluded for a greater amount of 17TP1 to the original estimate without providing any concrete evidence to establish the existence of a risk for local finances.

Moreover, the Council of State considers in this case that the fact that the contract was concluded by a community of municipalities before it was merged, with two other communities of communes and that, consequently, the latter is execution of a contract on which it has not decided, derives from the application of the rules on mergers of public institutions of inter-municipal cooperation and can not therefore be regarded as seriously and immediately defended by the members of the community council of the new public institutions born of this merger.

 

Rule n ° 3: The condition of urgency must be assessed independently of the means relating to the validity of the contested contract

Finally, the Conseil d'Etat also considers that, assuming that the choice to resort to a design-build contract can be considered as illegal, such an illegality can not be considered, by itself, as constituting a situation urgency within the meaning of Article L. 521 1 of the Administrative Justice Code. Clearly, any irregularities that may vitiate the procedure for the awarding of a contract can not be invoked as an emergency, but only on the condition that there is a serious doubt as to the legality of the contract. contract.

In that judgment, the Conseil d'Etat reiterates that the condition of urgency must be assessed solely in the light of the consequences of the performance of the contract whose suspension is requested and not in the light of any irregularities that may vitiate its award procedure. In order for an application for suspension to be successful, the applicants therefore have every interest in clearly distinguishing in their application the conclusions that demonstrate the urgency to be suspended and the conclusions tending to show the manifest illegality of the contract, as the latter can not no case hoping to justify any urgency.

 

Board of state
N ° 408894
7th - 2nd rooms together

Reading of Monday, September 18th, 2017

FRENCH REPUBLIC
IN THE NAME OF THE FRENCH PEOPLE

 

Considering the following procedure:

  1. AG ... R ..., MD..F ..., MS..Z ..., M. AB ... AC ..., MI..H ..., M. AF ... Y ..., MN..M ..., MJ..T ..., MD..C ..., ME..O ..., MA..AE ..., B ... AD ... AA ..., B ... W ... U ..., MV..Q ..., MX..G ..., MP..L ... and M. AG .. K ... asked the judge of the interim administrative court of Lyon to order, on the basis of Article L. 521-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, the suspension of the execution of the public contract of design- realization by the community of communes Center Dombes with the company Citinea, joint agent of a group of companies, for the restructuring of the intercommunal swimming pool of Villars-les-Dombes. By an order No. 1701388 of February 27, 2017, the judge of the Lyon administrative court dismissed their claim.

By a summary appeal, registered on 14 March 2017 at the litigation secretariat of the Conseil d'Etat, Mr AG ... R ..., MD..F ..., MS..Z ..., Mr AB ... AC ..., MI..H ..., Mr. AF ... Y ..., MN..M ..., MJ .. T ..., MD..C ... , ME..O ..., MA..AE ..., B ... AD ... AA ..., B ... W ... U ..., MV..Q ... , MX..G ..., MP..L ... and Mr AG ... K ... ask the Council of State to cancel this order.

By a supplementary memorial and a reply, registered on 28 March and 5 September 2017 at the Secretariat of the Council of State, the applicants asked the Conseil d'Etat:

1 °) with regard to MM.Z ..., AC ..., M ..., Q ..., G ..., L ..., K ... and B ... U. .., to give them notice of their discontinuance of proceedings;

2 °) as regards the other applicants, to rule in cassation after cassation, to grant their request of first instance and to put at the charge of the community of communes of the Dombes, coming to the rights of the community of communes Center Dombes, the sum of 4 000 euros under Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice.

Considering the other parts of the file;

Viewed:

- the general code of local authorities;

- Ordinance No. 2015-899 of 23 July 2015;

- Decree No. 2016-360 of 25 March 2016;

- the code of administrative justice;

  1. Considering that it appears from the documents in the file submitted to the judge hearing the application for interim relief that the community of communes of Center Dombes decided to award Citinea, the joint agent of a group of companies, a public contract on 15 December 2016 design-realization relating to the restructuring of the intercommunal swimming pool of Villars-les-Dombes, for an amount of € 5,420,000.20 including taxes; that, by a decree of the prefect of Ain from 1 December 2016, the community of communes Center Dombes was merged with two other communities of communes to constitute, as of January 1, 2017, the community of communes of the Dombes; that this decree provides that the property, rights and obligations of the merged municipalities of municipalities are transferred to the community of municipalities resulting from the merger and that this is substituted for them for the execution of the contracts concluded previously; that, on the basis of the provisions of Article L. 521-1 code administrative justice, AG ... R ... and sixteen other community advisers of the community of communes of Dombes seized the judge of referred by the Administrative Court of Lyon, on February 24, 2017, for an application to suspend execution of this public contract; that, by an order of February 27, 2017, against which Mr AG ... R ... and the other plaintiffs of first instance appealed in cassation, the judge of the summary of the administrative court of Lyon, ruling in application of the Article L. 522-3 of the Administrative Justice Code, rejected this request;

On the conclusions of MM.Z ..., AC ..., M ..., Q ..., G ..., L ..., K ... and AH ... B ... U ... seeking a declaration of their discontinuance:

  1. Whereas the discontinuance of instance of MM.Z ..., AC ..., M ..., Q ..., G ..., L ..., K ... and AH ... B ... U ... is pure and simple; that nothing prevents the act from being given;

On the appeal presented by MM.R ..., F ..., H ..., Y ..., T ..., C ..., O ..., AE ... and B .. .AA ...:

  1. Considering that under Article L. 521-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice: "When an administrative decision, even rejection, is the subject of a petition for annulment or reorganization, the judge of the interim, seized a request to that effect, may order the suspension of the execution of that decision, or of certain of its effects, where the urgency justifies it and where a means of creating, in state of the investigation, a serious doubt as to the legality of the decision (...) ";
  2. Considering that urgency warrants the suspension of the performance of an administrative contract where the latter adversely affects, in a sufficiently serious and immediate manner, a public interest, the situation of the applicant or the interests he intends to defend; whereas it is for the President of the Court to assess concretely, in the light of the justifications provided by the applicant, whether the effects of the contested act are such as to characterize an urgency justifying that, without awaiting the judgment of the application on the merits, the execution of the decision is suspended; that the urgency must be assessed objectively and taking into account all the circumstances of the case;
  3. Whereas it follows from the statements in the order under appeal that, in order to find that it was inappropriate to characterize an emergency situation, the imminent and easily reversible character of the works for the construction of the works which are the subject of the contract, of which the plaintiffs of the Lyon Administrative Court relied on the sole circumstance that they challenged the conditions under which the contract had been awarded and not the very principle of construction; that, however, as stated in point 4, it is for the judge hearing the application for interim measures, when ruling, within the framework laid down by Article L. 521-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, on the condition in the emergency, to assess whether the effects of the contested act are such as to characterize such a situation, independently of the examination of the pleas raised before him to establish the existence of a serious doubt as to the legality of the this act ; that the judge of interim relief thus marred his order of mistake of law; that, consequently, the applicants are justified, without it being necessary to examine the other grounds of the appeal, to ask for its cancellation;
  4. Considering that, in the circumstances of the case, it is necessary, pursuant to Article L. 821-2 of the Code of Administrative Justice, to settle the case under the interim proceedings initiated
  5. Considering that the members of the deliberative body of the territorial collectivity or the group of territorial collectivities which concluded an administrative contract, or which is substituted for one of the parties to such a contract, are admissible to form before the judge of the an unlimited remedy against the validity of the appeal, provided that the appeal is lodged within two months of the completion of the appropriate publicity measures relating to its conclusion, and may be accompanied by an application tending, on the basis of Article L. 521-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, to the suspension of its execution; whereas, in order to assess whether the condition of urgency is fulfilled, the judge hearing the application for interim relief may take into account all the factors which the applicants claim to be of such a nature as to characterize a sufficiently serious and immediate breach of their prerogatives or the conditions for the exercise of their mandate, to the interests of the community or group of public authorities of which they are elected or, where appropriate, to any other public interest;

     

  6. Considering that if an attack sufficiently serious and immediate to the interests defended by the members of the deliberative organ of a territorial collectivity or a group of territorial collectivities is likely to be characterized when the cost of the works which are the object of a public contract is likely to substantially affect the finances of the community or group concerned and that the undertaking of works is imminent and difficult to reverse, the applicants, who merely observe that the contract was concluded for an amount of greater than about 17 % in the initial estimate, do not provide any evidence to establish the existence of such a risk; that, moreover, the circumstance that the contract was concluded by the community of communes Center Dombes before this one merges, with two other communities of communes, within the community of communes of the Dombes, and that by subsequently, the latter is required to perform a contract on which it has not pronounced, follows from the application of the rules on mergers of public institutions of inter-municipal cooperation and can not, therefore, be regarded as carrying a serious and immediate attack on the interests defended by the members of the community council of the community of communes of Dombes; that, finally, assuming that the choice to use a design-build contract has in this case been unlawful, such an illegality can not be regarded, on its own, as constituting an emergency situation within the meaning of Article L. 521 1 of the Administrative Justice Code;

  7. Considering that it follows from the foregoing, without it being necessary to pronounce on the existence of means likely to give rise to a serious doubt as to the legality of the contested act, that the request of MR .. and others must be rejected;
  8. Considering that the provisions of Article L. 761-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice prevent an amount being put, as such, the charge of the community of communes of the Dombes, which is not in this proceeding, the losing party; whereas, on the other hand, it is expedient to place on the charge of MM.R., F ..., H ..., Y ..., T ..., C ..., O. .., AE ... and AH ... B ... AA ... the sum of 3 000 euros to be paid to the community of communes of Dombes under the same provisions;

 

DECIDE:

--------------

Article1er: It is given act of the withdrawal of instance of MM.Z ..., AC ..., M ..., Q ..., G ..., L ..., K ... and AH ...DRANK....
Article 2: The ordinance of 27 February 2017 of the administrative court of Lyon is canceled.
Article 3: The request of MR .. and others as well as their conclusions presented under Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice are rejected.
Article 4: Mr. AG ... R ..., MD..F ..., MI..H ..., Mr. AF ... Y ..., MJ..T ..., MD ..C ..., ME..O ..., MA..AE ... and B ... AD ... AA ... will pay to the community of communes of Dombes a total sum of 3,000 under Article L. 761-1 of the Administrative Justice Code.
Article 5: This decision will be notified to Mr. AG ... R ..., sole representative, for all the applicants, as well as to the community of communes of Dombes.

 

Referred to the suspension of the performance of a contract introduced by the members of the deliberative body of the local authority or group of local authorities .... ,, To assess whether the condition of urgency is met, the The judge hearing the application for interim measures may take into account all the information on which the applicants claim to characterize a sufficiently serious and immediate breach of their prerogatives or the conditions for the exercise of their mandate, the interests of the community or group of public authorities whose elected representatives or, as the case may be, any other public interest.

Précisions utiles sur les modalités d’appréciation de la condition d’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat

Précisions utiles sur les modalités d’appréciation de la condition d’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat

par Sébastien Palmier le 3 octobre 2017 | Catégorie : Marchés publics
Précisions utiles sur les modalités d’appréciation de la condition d’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat  Précisions utiles sur les modalités d’appréciation de la condition d’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat

CE 18 septembre 2017, M.AG…R, req.n°408894

Dans cette affaire, le Conseil d’Etat rappelle que les membres de l’organe délibérant d’une collectivité territoriale ou d’un groupement de collectivités territoriales qui a conclu un contrat administratif sont recevables à former devant le juge du contrat un recours en contestation de la validité de celui-ci et peuvent assortir ce recours d’une demande tendant à la suspension de son exécution sur le fondement de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative.

L’intérêt de l’arrêt ne réside pas dans ce rappel mais dans les précisions que le Conseil d’Etat apporte sur les modalités d’appréciation de la condition d’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat dans le cadre d’un référé formé par des membres de l’assemblée délibérante de la personne publique contractante.

Les faits de l’espèce étaient les suivants : par une délibération du 15 décembre 2016, le conseil communautaire d’une communauté de communes a approuvé l’attributaire d’un marché de conception réalisation d’une piscine intercommunale et autorisé son président à signer le marché. Cet établissement public a par la suite fusionné avec deux autres établissements publics qui se sont vu transférés les droits et obligations de ce marché.

Plusieurs conseillers du nouveau conseil communautaire ont alors décidé de saisir le Tribunal administratif de Lyon d’un recours en contestation de la validité du contrat tout en introduisant parallèlement un référé tendant à la suspension de son exécution. Par une ordonnance du 27 février 2017, le juge du référé a rejeté leur demande au motif que la condition d’urgence n’était pas remplie.

En cassation, le Conseil d’Etat confirme l’ordonnance au regard des circonstances de l’espèce.

 

Règle n°1 : L’appréciation de la condition d’urgence s’apprécie in concreto

Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle tout d’abord la règle générale selon laquelle il appartient au juge des référés d’apprécier concrètement, compte tenu des justifications fournies par le requérant, si les effets de l’acte contesté sont de nature à caractériser une urgence justifiant que, sans attendre le jugement de la requête au fond, l’exécution de la décision soit suspendue. L’urgence doit donc être appréciée objectivement compte tenu de l’ensemble des circonstances de l’affaire.

Plus précisément, pour apprécier si la condition d’urgence est remplie dans le cadre d’un référé tendant à la suspension de l’exécution d’un contrat introduit par les membres d’un organe délibérant d’un pouvoir adjudicateur, le Conseil d’Etat rappelle que le juge du référé suspension doit prendre en compte tous éléments dont se prévalent les requérants qui sont de nature à caractériser une atteinte suffisamment grave et immédiate à leurs prérogatives ou aux conditions d’exercice de leur mandat, aux intérêts de la collectivité ou du groupement de collectivités publiques dont ils sont les élus ou, le cas échéant, à tout autre intérêt public.

 

Règle n°2 : La preuve de l’urgence à suspendre l’exécution d’un contrat public

La condition d’urgence reste subordonnée à l’existence d’éléments de nature à établir la gravité et l’immédiateté des atteintes que l’exécution du contrat est susceptible de porter aux intérêts invoqués. Ainsi, lorsque le contrat a pour objet la construction d’un ouvrage public : il convient de démontrer que son exécution est susceptible de produire des effets irréversibles à brefs délais et d’une certaine ampleur pour qu’ils puissent être considérés comme constitutifs d’une situation d’urgence.

Le Conseil d’Etat considère ainsi qu’une atteinte suffisamment grave et immédiate aux intérêts défendus par les membres de l’organe délibérant d’une collectivité territoriale ou d’un groupement de collectivités territoriales est susceptible d’être caractérisée lorsque le coût des travaux qui font l’objet d’un marché public risque d’affecter de façon substantielle les finances de la collectivité ou du groupement concerné et que l’engagement des travaux est imminent et difficilement réversible.

Il appartient au requérant de démontrer qu’en cas d’exécution du contrat, le coût que représentera pour l’acheteur public la résolution ou la résiliation du contrat qui pourra être prononcée par le juge du contrat s’il fait droit à leur recours dans le cadre de l’instance au fond, sera tel qu’il est préférable de suspendre de suite son exécution. En d’autres termes, pour remplir la condition d’urgence, il est nécessaire de démontrer l’importance des conséquences financières de l’exécution du contrat même pendant la durée de l’instance contentieuse au fond.

Appliquant cette grille de lecture, le Conseil d’Etat considère qu’au cas présent, la condition de l’urgence n’est pas remplie dans la mesure où les requérants se bornaient à prétendre que le contrat a été conclu pour un montant supérieur d’environ 17 % à l’estimation initiale sans apporter d’élément concrets de nature à établir l’existence d’un risque pour les finances locales.

Par ailleurs, le Conseil d’Etat considère en l’espèce que la circonstance que le contrat ait été conclu par une communauté de communes avant que celle-ci ne fusionne, avec deux autres communautés de communes et que, par suite, cette dernière soit tenue d’exécuter un contrat sur lequel elle ne s’est pas prononcée, découle de l’application des règles relatives aux fusions d’établissements publics de coopération intercommunale et ne peut de ce fait être regardée comme portant une atteinte grave et immédiate aux intérêts défendus par les membres du conseil communautaire du nouvel établissements publics nés de cette fusion.

 

Règle n°3 : La condition d’urgence doit s’apprécier indépendamment des moyens relatifs à la validité du contrat contesté

Enfin, le Conseil d’Etat considère également qu’à supposer que le choix de recourir à un marché de conception-réalisation puisse être considéré comme illégal, une telle illégalité ne saurait être regardée, par elle-même, comme constitutive d’une situation d’urgence au sens de l’article L. 521 1 du code de justice administrative. En clair, les éventuelles irrégularités qui peuvent entacher la procédure de passation d’un contrat ne peuvent pas être invoquées au titre de l’urgence mais uniquement au titre de la condition tenant à l’existence d’un doute sérieux quant à la légalité du contrat.

Dans cet arrêt, le Conseil d’Etat rappelle que la condition d’urgence doit être appréciée uniquement au regard des conséquences de l’exécution du contrat dont la suspension est demandée et non au regard des éventuelles irrégularités qui peuvent entacher sa procédure de passation. Afin qu’un référé suspension puisse espérer prospérer, les requérants ont donc tout intérêts à bien distinguer dans leur requête les conclusions permettant de démontrer l’urgence à suspendre et les conclusions tendant à démontrer l’illégalité manifeste du contrat, ces dernières ne pouvant en aucun cas espérer justifier une quelconque urgence.

 

Conseil d’État
N° 408894
7ème – 2ème chambres réunies

Lecture du lundi 18 septembre 2017

REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
AU NOM DU PEUPLE FRANCAIS

 

Vu la procédure suivante :

  1. AG…R…, M. D…F…, M. S…Z…, M. AB…AC…, M. I…H…, M. AF…Y…, M. N…M…, M. J…T…, M. D…C…, M. E…O…, M. A…AE…, B…AD…AA…,B… W…U…, M. V…Q…, M. X…G…, M. P…L…et M. AG… K…ont demandé au juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Lyon d’ordonner, sur le fondement de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative, la suspension de l’exécution du marché public de conception-réalisation passé par la communauté de communes Centre Dombes avec la société Citinea, mandataire commun d’un groupement d’entreprises, pour la restructuration de la piscine intercommunale de Villars-les-Dombes. Par une ordonnance n° 1701388 du 27 février 2017, le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Lyon a rejeté leur demande.

Par un pourvoi sommaire, enregistré le 14 mars 2017 au secrétariat du contentieux du Conseil d’Etat, M. AG…R…, M. D…F…, M. S…Z…, M. AB…AC…, M. I…H…, M. AF…Y…, M. N…M…, M. J… T…, M. D…C…, M. E…O…, M. A…AE…, B…AD…AA…, B…W…U…, M. V…Q…, M. X…G…, M. P…L…et M. AG…K…demandent au Conseil d’Etat d’annuler cette ordonnance.

Par un mémoire complémentaire et un mémoire en réplique, enregistrés les 28 mars et 5 septembre 2017 au secrétariat du Conseil d’Etat, les requérants demandent au Conseil d’Etat :

1°) en ce qui concerne MM.Z…, AC…, M…, Q…, G…, L…, K…et B…U…, de leur donner acte de leur désistement d’instance ;

2°) en ce qui concerne les autres requérants, de statuer en référé après cassation, de faire droit à leur demande de première instance et de mettre à la charge de la communauté de communes de la Dombes, venant aux droits de la communauté de communes Centre Dombes, la somme de 4 000 euros au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.

Vu les autres pièces du dossier ;

Vu :

– le code général des collectivités territoriales ;

– l’ordonnance n° 2015-899 du 23 juillet 2015 ;

– le décret n° 2016-360 du 25 mars 2016 ;

– le code de justice administrative ;

  1. Considérant qu’il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis au juge des référés que la communauté de communes Centre Dombes a décidé d’attribuer, le 15 décembre 2016, à la société Citinea, mandataire commun d’un groupement d’entreprises, un marché public de conception-réalisation relatif à la restructuration de la piscine intercommunale de Villars-les-Dombes, pour un montant de 5 420 000,20 euros TTC ; que, par un arrêté du préfet de l’Ain du 1er décembre 2016, la communauté de communes Centre Dombes a été fusionnée avec deux autres communautés de communes pour constituer, à compter du 1er janvier 2017, la communauté de communes de la Dombes ; que cet arrêté prévoit que les biens, droits et obligations des communautés de communes fusionnées sont transférés à la communauté de communes issue de la fusion et que celle-ci leur est substituée pour l’exécution des contrats conclus antérieurement ; que, sur le fondement des dispositions de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative, M. AG…R…et seize autres conseillers communautaires de la communauté de communes de la Dombes ont saisi le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Lyon, le 24 février 2017, d’une demande de suspension de l’exécution de ce marché public ; que, par une ordonnance du 27 février 2017, contre laquelle M. AG…R…et les autres demandeurs de première instance se pourvoient en cassation, le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Lyon, statuant en application de l’article L. 522-3 du code de justice administrative, a rejeté cette demande ;

Sur les conclusions de MM.Z…, AC…, M…, Q…, G…, L…, K…et AH…B…U…tendant à ce qu’il soit donné acte de leur désistement d’instance :

  1. Considérant que le désistement d’instance de MM.Z…, AC…, M…, Q…, G…, L…, K…et AH…B…U…est pur et simple ; que rien ne s’oppose à ce qu’il en soit donné acte ;

Sur le pourvoi présenté par MM.R…, F…, H…, Y…, T…, C…, O…, AE…et B…AA…:

  1. Considérant qu’aux termes de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative : “ Quand une décision administrative, même de rejet, fait l’objet d’une requête en annulation ou en réformation, le juge des référés, saisi d’une demande en ce sens, peut ordonner la suspension de l’exécution de cette décision, ou de certains de ses effets, lorsque l’urgence le justifie et qu’il est fait état d’un moyen propre à créer, en l’état de l’instruction, un doute sérieux quant à la légalité de la décision (…) “ ;
  2. Considérant que l’urgence justifie que soit prononcée la suspension de l’exécution d’un contrat administratif lorsque celle-ci porte atteinte, de manière suffisamment grave et immédiate, à un intérêt public, à la situation du requérant ou aux intérêts qu’il entend défendre ; qu’il appartient au juge des référés d’apprécier concrètement, compte tenu des justifications fournies par le requérant, si les effets de l’acte contesté sont de nature à caractériser une urgence justifiant que, sans attendre le jugement de la requête au fond, l’exécution de la décision soit suspendue ; que l’urgence doit être appréciée objectivement et compte tenu de l’ensemble des circonstances de l’affaire ;
  3. Considérant qu’il résulte des énonciations de l’ordonnance attaquée que, pour juger qu’était impropre à caractériser une situation d’urgence le caractère imminent et difficilement réversible des travaux de réalisation de l’ouvrage faisant l’objet du marché, dont se prévalait les demandeurs, le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Lyon s’est fondé sur la seule circonstance que ceux-ci contestaient les conditions dans lesquelles le marché avait été passé et non le principe même de la construction ; que, toutefois, ainsi qu’il a été dit au point 4, il appartient au juge des référés, lorsqu’il statue, dans le cadre fixé par l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative, sur la condition tenant à l’urgence, d’apprécier si les effets de l’acte contesté sont de nature à caractériser une telle situation, indépendamment de l’examen des moyens soulevés devant lui pour établir l’existence d’un doute sérieux quant à la légalité de cet acte ; que le juge des référés a ainsi entaché son ordonnance d’erreur de droit ; que, par suite, les requérants sont fondés, sans qu’il soit besoin d’examiner les autres moyens du pourvoi, à en demander l’annulation ;
  4. Considérant que, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, il y a lieu, en application de l’article L. 821-2 du code de justice administrative, de régler l’affaire au titre de la procédure de référé engagée
  5. Considérant que les membres de l’organe délibérant de la collectivité territoriale ou du groupement de collectivités territoriales qui a conclu un contrat administratif, ou qui se trouve substitué à l’une des parties à un tel contrat, sont recevables à former devant le juge du contrat un recours de pleine juridiction contestant la validité de celui-ci, dès lors que ce recours est exercé dans un délai de deux mois à compter de l’accomplissement des mesures de publicité appropriées relatives à sa conclusion, et peuvent l’assortir d’une demande tendant, sur le fondement de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative, à la suspension de son exécution ; que, pour apprécier si la condition d’urgence est remplie, le juge des référés peut prendre en compte tous éléments, dont se prévalent ces requérants, de nature à caractériser une atteinte suffisamment grave et immédiate à leurs prérogatives ou aux conditions d’exercice de leur mandat, aux intérêts de la collectivité ou du groupement de collectivités publiques dont ils sont les élus ou, le cas échéant, à tout autre intérêt public ;

     

  6. Considérant que si une atteinte suffisamment grave et immédiate aux intérêts défendus par les membres de l’organe délibérant d’une collectivité territoriale ou d’un groupement de collectivités territoriales est susceptible d’être caractérisée lorsque le coût des travaux qui font l’objet d’un marché public risque d’affecter de façon substantielle les finances de la collectivité ou du groupement concerné et que l’engagement des travaux est imminent et difficilement réversible, les requérants, qui se bornent à observer que le contrat a été conclu pour un montant supérieur d’environ 17 % à l’estimation initiale, n’apportent aucun élément de nature à établir l’existence d’un tel risque ; que, par ailleurs, la circonstance que le contrat ait été conclu par la communauté de communes Centre Dombes avant que celle-ci ne fusionne, avec deux autres communautés de communes, au sein de la communauté de communes de la Dombes, et que, par suite, cette dernière soit tenue d’exécuter un contrat sur lequel elle ne s’est pas prononcée, découle de l’application des règles relatives aux fusions d’établissements publics de coopération intercommunale et ne saurait, dès lors, être regardée comme portant une atteinte grave et immédiate aux intérêts défendus par les membres du conseil communautaire de la communauté de communes de la Dombes ; qu’enfin, à supposer que le choix de recourir à un marché de conception-réalisation ait été en l’espèce illégal, une telle illégalité ne saurait être regardée, par elle-même, comme constitutive d’une situation d’urgence au sens de l’article L. 521 1 du code de justice administrative ;

  7. Considérant qu’il résulte de ce qui précède, sans qu’il soit besoin de se prononcer sur l’existence de moyens propres à susciter un doute sérieux quant à la légalité de l’acte attaqué, que la demande de M. R…et autres doit être rejetée ;
  8. Considérant que les dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative font obstacle à ce qu’une somme soit mise, à ce titre, à la charge de la communauté de communes de la Dombes, qui n’est pas, dans la présente instance, la partie perdante ; qu’il y a lieu, en revanche, de mettre à la charge de MM.R…, F…, H…, Y…, T…, C…, O…, AE…et AH…B…AA…la somme globale de 3 000 euros à verser à la communauté de communes de la Dombes au titre des mêmes dispositions ;

 

D E C I D E :

— —  —  — –

Article1er : Il est donné acte du désistement d’instance de MM.Z…, AC…, M…, Q…, G…, L…, K…et AH…B…U….
Article 2 : L’ordonnance du 27 février 2017 du tribunal administratif de Lyon est annulée.
Article 3 : La demande de M. R…et autres ainsi que leurs conclusions présentées au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative sont rejetées.
Article 4 : M. AG…R…, M. D…F…, M. I…H…, M. AF…Y…, M. J…T…, M. D…C…, M. E…O…, M. A…AE…et B…AD…AA…verseront à la communauté de communes de la Dombes une somme globale de 3 000 euros au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.
Article 5 : La présente décision sera notifiée à M. AG…R…, représentant unique, pour l’ensemble des requérants, ainsi qu’à la communauté de communes de la Dombes.

 

Référé tendant à la suspension de l’exécution d’un contrat introduit par les membres de l’organe délibérant de la collectivité territoriale ou du groupement de collectivités territoriales…. ,,Pour apprécier si la condition d’urgence est remplie, le juge des référés peut prendre en compte tous éléments dont se prévalent ces requérants de nature à caractériser une atteinte suffisamment grave et immédiate à leurs prérogatives ou aux conditions d’exercice de leur mandat, aux intérêts de la collectivité ou du groupement de collectivités publiques dont ils sont les élus ou, le cas échéant, à tout autre intérêt public.