Possibilité de modifier les règles de détermination des prix par avenant

Possibility of modifying the pricing rules by endorsement

by Sébastien Palmier on 2 January 2018 | Category: Public markets
Possibilité de modifier les règles de détermination des prix par avenant Possibilité de modifier les règles de détermination des prix par avenant

CE 20 December 2017, Sté Area Impianti, req.no. 408562


This judgment provides an opportunity to recall the conditions under which an amendment may change the rules for determining the price of a convention and the precautions that should be taken in case of drafting several successive amendments or before signing an amendment.

As a reminder, as part of work to bring an incineration plant up to standard, an inter-municipal association for the recovery of household waste has entered into several successive amendments with the company holding the contract to modify the price revision formula as well as some works. The last rider removed the price revision clause and introduced a firm price. The holder of the contract then decided to engage the responsibility of the Union in an attempt to recover the amounts due for the price revision, arguing in particular a defect of consent of not having drawn his attention to the clause of the last addendum to the agreement. market which removed the price revision clause in favor of a firm price mechanism.

Rule # 1: A rider may change the pricing rules of a contract

The Conseil d'Etat points out firstly that the rules on public procurement do not prevent the parties to a contract concluded at a final price from agreeing in an amendment, particularly when the execution of the contract is nearing completion. , to modify the mechanism of evolution of the final price to move from a price to a firm price.

The Council of State then recalls the classic rule that an endorsement can not upset the economy of the market, nor change the object. In other words ; to make the terms of a public contract so extensive that it should be regarded as a new market. These new rules are now codified in Article 139 of Decree 2016-360 of 25 March 2016 for public procurement and in Article 36 of Decree 2016-86 of 2 February 2016 for concession contracts.

In that case, the High Court considers that the modification of the rules for determining the initial price per endorsement, which consisted in moving from a price which could be revised to a firm price, did not constitute a change in the market economy since that it intervened at the end of performance of the contract and in a disadvantageous sense to its holder so that its effects could not be regarded as having upset the general economy of the market.

Rule # 2: precautions to take before signing an endorsement

This judgment also gives the opportunity to recall the precautions that should be taken before signing an amendment including in case of succession of several amendments. In effect, the purpose of the amendments is to remove or neutralize all clauses of the initial contract which are contrary to the new provisions of each addendum, hence the need to remain vigilant before signing them and to anticipate their impact. ... In this case, the Council of State recalls that it is up to each party to take " the necessary precautions before signing the endorsement "... and failing that, the signatory of the amendment containing an unfavorable clause can no longer validly complain about it.


THIS

No. 408562

Reading of Wednesday, December 20, 2017

FRENCH REPUBLIC
IN THE NAME OF THE FRENCH PEOPLE

 

  1. Whereas it appears from the statements in the judgment under appeal that, by an undertaking of 17 October 2003, the inter-municipal association for the recovery of household waste in Hainaut-Valenciennes, called Ecovalor, entrusted the joint consortium of the company Area Impianti, agent of the group, and companies Hiolle Industries, Beugnet Hainault and MA .., work to bring the Saint-Saulve incineration plant up to standard; that this contract was concluded for an initial amount of 13 714 977 euros revisable according to the modalities envisaged with the article 3.6 of the book of the particular administrative clauses; a first amendment dated 25 November 2004 replaced the price adjustment formula and modified certain works for an additional amount of 292 112 euros; a second amendment concluded on 21 July 2005 also modified certain works for an additional amount of 737 653 euros and postponed the end of the contract until 28 December 2005; a third amendment, concluded on 22 November 2005, modified other works for an additional amount of 165 800 euros and stopped the amount of the contract at the sum of 14 913 542 euros; that the company Area Impianti applied to the Administrative Court of Lille for the condemnation of the union Ecovalor to pay him a sum of 919 961.09 euros for the balance of the market and the damages resulting from the delay in the the acceptance of the works and an amount of € 2,459,793.47 for the revision of the market price; that his application was rejected by a judgment of 2 December 2014 which the company has appealed only in so far as it rejected his request for conviction to pay a sum for the revision of the market price; that the company appeals in cassation against the judgment of December 22, 2016 by which the administrative court of appeal of Douai rejected its appeal;

On the scope of the endorsement:

  1. Considering that it appears from the documents in the file submitted to the trial court that the third amendment to the works contract in question contains an article 5 entitled "Financial conditions", which states that "Following this addendum, the contract therefore goes to an amount of firm and definitive total of € 14,913,542 excluding taxes ", and an article 8 which specifies that all clauses of the initial contract not contrary to the present clauses remain and remain fully effective; It follows from the statements in the judgment under appeal, which are not disputed on this point, that the wording of that financial clause differs substantially from that in the previous addenda, which stated that the new prices would be revised according to contractually agreed formulas. that even though Article 2 merely states that this third amendment has "for object modifying work in the framework of the bringing to the standards and modifies the market accordingly" and that this addendum does not mention any modification of the clause review of the market price provided for in the previous riders, the Douai Administrative Court of Appeal did not distort the clauses of this addendum by considering that they waived the previous stipulations relating to the revision of the price and a firm price mechanism;

On the legality of the endorsement:

Regarding the lack of knowledge of Articles 17 and 19 of the Code des Marches Publics

  1. Considering, in the first place, that under Article 17 of the Public Procurement Code in its then applicable version: "Subject to the provisions of Article 18, a contract shall be concluded at a definitive price. / A contract is concluded at a fixed price in the event that this form of price is not such as to expose the owner, the holder or the contracting public entity to major hazards because of the reasonably foreseeable economic conditions during the period. period of performance of benefits. The firm price is updatable under conditions fixed by decree. A market is said to be at an adjustable or revisable price when the price may be modified to take account of economic variations under conditions fixed by the decree mentioned in the preceding paragraph. Where a market includes a price variation clause, it lays down the periodicity for the implementation of this clause "; these provisions have neither the object nor the effect of preventing, as a matter of principle, the parties to a contract concluded at a definitive price from agreeing, in particular when the performance of the contract is nearing completion, to amend the mechanism of evolution of the final price to move from a price to a firm price; that, consequently, the Administrative Court of Appeal did not make mistake of law by dismissing for this reason the ground alleging the ignorance of Article 17 of the Code des Marches Publics;
  2. Considering, secondly, that under Article 19 of the same Code in its then applicable version: "Except for unforeseen technical difficulties not resulting from the fact of the parties, an addendum may not upset the market economy, nor in change the object "; whereas those provisions have the effect of preventing the parties from making any changes to the terms of a public contract during the period of validity of the contract so large that it should be regarded as a new contract; that the court was able, without error of law, to consider that the modification of the rules for determining the initial price did not in itself constitute an upheaval in the market economy; It follows from the statements of the judgment under appeal, which are not disputed on this point, that the third addendum modified the market price-fixing mechanism, at the end of its implementation, in a disadvantageous way to its owner. ; that the court, which has made a sovereign appreciation of the terms of the contract, free of denaturing, did not mischaracterize the facts by holding that the deletion of the clause relating to the price revision could, in view of its nature and effects, to be regarded as having upset the general economy of the market;

With regard to the alleged existence of a defect of consent:

  1. Considering, on the one hand, that having supremely appreciated the lack of fraudulent intention of the Ecovalor trade union, the court did not commit an error of legal qualification in not holding back that the facts alleged against this union by the Area Impianti company, consisting in failing to report the removal of the price revision clause in the object of the amendment and insert a clause that did not give rise to a specific negotiation, constituted a fraud ;
  2. Whereas, on the other hand, it is clear from the statements in the judgment under appeal that the Court rejected the plea alleging that Area Impianti, by signing the third addendum, made an error of such a nature as to vitiate its consent on the ground that the error invoked concerned only the price, and not the substantial qualities of the contract, and that, moreover, that error could have been avoided if the company, which contracts in the usual way in France, had taken , as any attentive professional must do, the necessary precautions before signing the endorsement; that in so ruling in view of the facts supremely appreciated, the Administrative Court of Appeal did not give the facts of the case an incorrect legal classification;

On the benefit of discounting the price:

  1. Whereas, under Article 17 of the Public Procurement Code in its then applicable wording, even in the absence of a review clause, a contract concluded at a fixed price "may be discounted under conditions laid down by decree" and if, pursuant to Article 1 of the Decree of 23 August 2001 implementing Article 17 of the Public Procurement Code and concerning the rules according to which public contracts may take account of variations in economic conditions applicable to the relevant market: "Where a contract is concluded at a fixed price for supplies or services other than current or for works, it must provide: - that the price will be updated if a period longer than three months elapses between the date of establishment of the price appearing in the contract and the date of effect of the act giving effect to the performance of the services (...) ", these provisions are applicable only to the conclusion of an initial contract; that, consequently, the court did not err in law by judging that they were not applicable to the third rider which was concluded at the end of execution of the market;
  2. Considering that it follows from all the foregoing that the Area Impianti company is unfounded to request the annulment of the judgment under appeal;

On the costs of the dispute:

  1. Considering that the provisions of Article L. 761-1 of the Administrative Justice Code prevent the Ecovalor union, which is not the losing party, from paying the sums requested by the title, the company Area Impianti; whereas, on the other hand, in the circumstances of this case, Area Impianti should be ordered to pay the sum of EUR 3 000 to the Ecovalor trade union under the same provisions;

 

DECIDE:

 

Article 1: The appeal of Area Impianti is rejected.

Article 2: The Area Impianti company will pay the sum of 3,000 euros to the Ecovalor syndicate in application of article L. 761-1 of the code of administrative justice.

Article 3: This decision will be notified to the company Area Impianti and to the intermunicipal association for waste recovery of Hainaut-Valenciennes.

Possibilité de modifier les règles de détermination des prix par avenant

Possibilité de modifier les règles de détermination des prix par avenant

par Sébastien Palmier le 2 janvier 2018 | Catégorie : Marchés publics
Possibilité de modifier les règles de détermination des prix par avenant  Possibilité de modifier les règles de détermination des prix par avenant

CE 20 décembre 2017, Sté Area Impianti, req.n°408562


Cet arrêt donne l’occasion de rappeler les conditions dans lesquelles un avenant peut modifier les règles de détermination des prix d’une convention et les précautions qu’il convient de prendre en cas de rédaction de plusieurs avenants successifs ou avant de signer un avenant.

Pour rappel, dans le cadre de travaux de mise aux normes d’une usine d’incinération, un syndicat intercommunal de valorisation de déchets ménagers a conclu plusieurs avenants successifs avec l’entreprise titulaire du contrat pour modifier la formule de révision des prix ainsi que certains travaux. Le dernier avenant a supprimé la clause de révision des prix et instauré un prix ferme. Le titulaire du marché a alors décidé d’engager la responsabilité du Syndicat pour tenter de récupérer les sommes dues au titre de la révision des prix en arguant notamment un vice de consentement consistant à ne pas avoir attiré son attention sur la clause du dernier avenant au marché qui supprimait la clause de révision des prix au bénéfice d’un mécanisme de prix ferme.

Règle n°1 : un avenant peut modifier les règles de détermination des prix d’un contrat

Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle tout d’abord que les règles relatives aux marchés publics ne font pas obstacle à ce que les parties à un marché conclu à prix définitif puissent convenir par avenant, en particulier lorsque l’exécution du marché approche de son terme, de modifier le mécanisme d’évolution du prix définitif pour passer d’un prix révisable à un prix ferme.

Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle ensuite la règle classique selon laquelle un avenant ne peut bouleverser l’économie du marché, ni en changer l’objet. Autrement dit ; apporter aux stipulations d’un marché public des modifications d’une ampleur telle qu’il devrait être regardé comme un nouveau marché. Ces nouvelles règles sont désormais codifiées dans l’article 139 du décret 2016-360 du 25 mars 2016 pour les marchés publics et dans l’article 36 du décret 2016-86 du 2 février 2016 pour les contrats de concession.

Dans cette affaire, la Haute juridiction considère que la modification des règles de détermination du prix initial par avenant, qui consistait à passer d’un prix révisable à un prix ferme, n’a pas constitué un bouleversement de l’économie du marché dès lors qu’elle est intervenue en fin d’exécution du contrat et dans un sens désavantageux à son titulaire de sorte que ses effets ne pouvaient pas être regardé comme ayant bouleversé l’économie générale du marché.

Règle n°2 : des précautions à prendre avant de signer un avenant

Cet arrêt donne également l’occasion de rappeler les précautions qu’il convient de prendre avant de signer un avenant notamment en cas de successions de plusieurs avenants. En effet, dans la pratique, les avenants ont pour objet de supprimer ou de neutraliser toutes les clauses du marché initial qui sont contraires aux nouvelles dispositions de chaque avenant d’où la nécessité de rester vigilant avant de les signer et d’anticiper leurs incidences….En l’espèce, le Conseil d’Etat rappelle qu’il appartient à chaque partie de prendre « les précautions nécessaires avant de signer l’avenant »….et qu’à défaut, le signataire de l’avenant contenant une clause défavorable ne peut plus s’en valablement s’en plaindre.


CE

N° 408562

Lecture du mercredi 20 décembre 2017

REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
AU NOM DU PEUPLE FRANCAIS

 

  1. Considérant qu’il ressort des énonciations de l’arrêt attaqué que, par un acte d’engagement du 17 octobre 2003, le syndicat intercommunal de valorisation des déchets ménagers du Hainaut-Valenciennois, dénommé Ecovalor, a confié au groupement conjoint constitué de la société Area Impianti, mandataire du groupement, et des sociétés Hiolle Industries, Beugnet Hainault et M.A…, les travaux de mise aux normes de l’usine d’incinération de Saint-Saulve ; que ce marché était conclu pour un montant initial de 13 714 977 euros révisable selon les modalités prévues à l’article 3.6 du cahier des clauses administratives particulières ; qu’un premier avenant conclu le 25 novembre 2004 a remplacé la formule de révision des prix et modifié certains travaux pour un montant supplémentaire de 292 112 euros ; qu’un deuxième avenant conclu le 21 juillet 2005 a également modifié certains travaux pour un montant supplémentaire de 737 653 euros et repoussé le terme du marché au 28 décembre 2005 ; qu’un troisième avenant, conclu le 22 novembre 2005, a modifié d’autres travaux pour un montant supplémentaire de 165 800 euros et arrêté le montant du marché à la somme de 14 913 542 euros ; que la société Area Impianti a saisi le tribunal administratif de Lille d’une demande tendant notamment à la condamnation du syndicat Ecovalor à lui verser une somme de 919 961,09 euros au titre du solde du marché et des préjudices nés du retard pris dans le prononcé de la réception des travaux et une somme de 2 459 793,47 euros au titre de la révision du prix du marché ; que sa demande a été rejetée par un jugement du 2 décembre 2014 dont la société n’a fait appel qu’en tant qu’il a rejeté sa demande de condamnation au versement d’une somme au titre de la révision du prix du marché ; que la société se pourvoit en cassation contre l’arrêt du 22 décembre 2016 par lequel la cour administrative d’appel de Douai a rejeté son appel ;

Sur la portée de l’avenant :

  1. Considérant qu’il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis aux juges du fond que le troisième avenant au marché de travaux en cause comporte un article 5 intitulé “ Conditions financières “, qui stipule que “ Suite à cet avenant, le marché passe donc à un montant global ferme et définitif de 14 913 542 euros HT “, et un article 8 qui précise que toutes les clauses du marché initial non contraires aux présentes clauses restent et demeurent de plein effet ; qu’il ressort des énonciations de l’arrêt attaqué, non contestées sur ce point, que la rédaction de cette clause financière diffère sensiblement de celles figurant aux précédents avenants qui précisaient que les nouveaux prix seraient révisés selon des formules contractuellement convenues ; qu’alors même que l’article 2 se borne à indiquer que ce troisième avenant a “ pour objet des travaux modificatifs dans le cadre de la mise aux normes et modifie en conséquence le marché “ et que cet avenant ne mentionne aucune modification de la clause de révision du prix du marché prévue dans les avenants antérieurs, la cour administrative d’appel de Douai n’a pas dénaturé les clauses de cet avenant en estimant qu’elles valaient renonciation aux stipulations antérieures relatives à la révision du prix et passage à un mécanisme de prix ferme ;

Sur la légalité de l’avenant :

En ce qui concerne la méconnaissance des articles 17 et 19 du code des marchés publics

  1. Considérant, en premier lieu, qu’aux termes de l’article 17 du code des marchés publics dans sa version alors applicable : “ Sous réserve des dispositions de l’article 18, un marché est conclu à prix définitif. / Un marché est conclu à prix ferme dans le cas où cette forme de prix n’est pas de nature à exposer à des aléas majeurs le titulaire le titulaire ou la personne publique contractante du fait de l’évolution raisonnablement prévisible des conditions économiques pendant la période d’exécution des prestations. Le prix ferme est actualisable dans des conditions fixées par décret. / Un marché est dit à prix ajustable ou révisable lorsque le prix peut être modifié pour tenir compte des variations économiques dans des conditions fixées par le décret mentionné à l’alinéa précédent. Lorsqu’un marché comporte une clause de variation de prix, il fixe la périodicité de mise en oeuvre de cette clause “ ; que ces dispositions n’ont ni pour objet ni pour effet de faire par principe obstacle à ce que les parties à un marché conclu à prix définitif puissent convenir par avenant, en particulier lorsque l’exécution du marché approche de son terme, de modifier le mécanisme d’évolution du prix définitif pour passer d’un prix révisable à un prix ferme ; que, par suite, la cour administrative d’appel n’a pas commis d’erreur de droit en écartant pour ce motif le moyen tiré de la méconnaissance de l’article 17 du code des marchés publics ;
  2. Considérant, en deuxième lieu, qu’aux termes de l’article 19 du même code dans sa version alors applicable : “ Sauf sujétions techniques imprévues ne résultant pas du fait des parties, un avenant ne peut bouleverser l’économie du marché, ni en changer l’objet “ ; que ces dispositions ont pour effet de faire obstacle à ce que les parties puissent apporter aux stipulations d’un marché public pendant la durée de sa validité des modifications d’une ampleur telle qu’il devrait être regardé comme un nouveau marché ; que la cour a pu, sans erreur de droit, considérer que la modification des règles de détermination du prix initial ne constituait pas, par elle-même, un bouleversement de l’économie du marché ; qu’il ressort des énonciations de l’arrêt attaqué, non contestées sur ce point, que le troisième avenant a modifié le mécanisme de fixation des prix du marché, en fin d’exécution de celui-ci, dans un sens désavantageux à son titulaire ; que la cour, qui s’est livrée à une appréciation souveraine des clauses du contrat, exempte de dénaturation, n’a pas inexactement qualifié les faits en jugeant que la suppression de la clause relative à la révision des prix ne pouvait, eu égard à sa nature et à ses effets, être regardée comme ayant bouleversé l’économie générale du marché ;

En ce qui concerne l’existence alléguée d’un vice du consentement :

  1. Considérant, d’une part, qu’après avoir souverainement apprécié l’absence d’intention dolosive du syndicat Ecovalor, la cour n’a pas commis d’erreur de qualification juridique en ne retenant pas que les faits reprochés à ce syndicat par la société Area Impianti, consistant à avoir omis de signaler la suppression de la clause de révision des prix dans l’objet de l’avenant et à avoir inséré une clause n’ayant pas donné lieu à une négociation spécifique, étaient constitutifs d’un dol ;
  2. Considérant, d’autre part, qu’il ressort des énonciations de l’arrêt attaqué que la cour a écarté le moyen tiré de ce que la société Area Impianti avait, en signant le troisième avenant, commis une erreur de nature à vicier son consentement, au motif que l’erreur invoquée ne portait que sur le prix, et non sur les qualités substantielles du contrat, et qu’au surplus, cette erreur aurait pu être évitée si la société, qui contracte de manière habituelle en France, avait pris, comme tout professionnel attentif se doit de le faire, les précautions nécessaires avant de signer l’avenant ; qu’en statuant ainsi au vu des faits souverainement appréciés, la cour administrative d’appel n’a pas donné aux faits de l’espèce une qualification juridique inexacte ;

Sur le bénéfice de l’actualisation du prix :

  1. Considérant que si, en vertu de l’article 17 du code des marchés publics dans sa rédaction alors applicable, même en l’absence de clause de révision un marché conclu à prix ferme “ est actualisable dans des conditions fixées par décret “ et si, aux termes de l’article 1er du décret du 23 août 2001 pris en application de l’article 17 du code des marchés publics et relatif aux règles selon lesquelles les marchés publics peuvent tenir compte des variations des conditions économiques, applicable au marché en cause : “ Lorsqu’un marché est conclu à prix ferme pour des fournitures ou services autres que courants ou pour des travaux, il doit prévoir : – que ce prix sera actualisé si un délai supérieur à trois mois s’écoule entre la date d’établissement du prix figurant dans le marché et la date d’effet de l’acte portant commencement d’exécution des prestations (…) “, ces dispositions ne sont applicables qu’à la conclusion d’un marché initial ; que, par suite, la cour n’a pas commis d’erreur de droit en jugeant qu’elles n’étaient pas applicables au troisième avenant qui a été conclu en fin d’exécution du marché ;
  2. Considérant qu’il résulte de tout ce qui précède que la société Area Impianti n’est pas fondée à demander l’annulation de l’arrêt attaqué ;

Sur les frais du litige :

  1. Considérant que les dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative font obstacle à ce que soit mis à la charge du syndicat Ecovalor, qui n’est pas la partie perdante, le versement des sommes que demande, à ce titre, la société Area Impianti ; qu’en revanche, il y a lieu, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, de mettre à la charge de la société Area Impianti le versement d’une somme de 3 000 euros au syndicat Ecovalor au titre des mêmes dispositions ;

 

D E C I D E :

 

Article 1er : Le pourvoi de la société Area Impianti est rejeté.

Article 2 : La société Area Impianti versera la somme de 3 000 euros au syndicat Ecovalor en application de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.

Article 3 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la société Area Impianti et au syndicat intercommunal de valorisation des déchets du Hainaut-Valenciennois.