Marchés publics de mobiliers urbains : le non-respect du règlement local de publicité entraîne l’annulation de la procédure !

Public procurement of street furniture: failure to comply with local advertising regulations leads to the cancellation of the procedure!

by Sébastien Palmier on September 30, 2017 | Category: Pre-contractual & Contractual referral
Marchés publics de mobiliers urbains : le non-respect du règlement local de publicité entraîne l’annulation de la procédure ! Marchés publics de mobiliers urbains : le non-respect du règlement local de publicité entraîne l’annulation de la procédure !

 

CE 18 September 2017, City of Paris, req.no. 410336

The City of Paris has launched a procedure for the award of a service concession relating to the operation of public information publicity furniture. After becoming a candidate, the applicant company declined to submit an offer and asked the city to declare the procedure unsuccessful. After the designation of the successful tenderer, the said company decided to refer to the judge of the pre-contractual summary of the Administrative Tribunal of Paris which annulled the procedure on the ground of the non-respect by the documents of the consultation of the local regulation of advertising prohibiting any advertising other than advertising by projection or transparency (TA Paris, Ord. April 21, 2017, Sté Extérion Média France, n ° 1704976).

In cassation, the Council of State decided to confirm this solution.

 

Rule n ° 1: The specifications of a street furniture market must respect the rules of the local advertising regulations

 

In that case, the Conseil d'Etat considers that a procedure for awarding an urban furniture contract that does not comply with the rules of the local advertising regulation adopted by the contracting authority must be considered irregular.

The Conseil d'Etat considers that this is the case in the present case insofar as the documents of the consultation authorized the candidates to propose urban furniture supporting digital advertising in violation of the local advertising regulations adopted by the City of Paris.

The consultation documents indicated that urban furniture " will be able to support the display and the advertising not illuminated or illuminated by projection or transparency, or even numeric as an accessory "While stating that" in a proportion that can not exceed 15% furniture set up under the concession, the furniture will support the display and digital advertising ".

 

Rule 2: Failure to comply with the regulations applicable to the contract constitutes a breach of the obligations of advertising and competition

 

This judgment gives the opportunity to recall that the lack of knowledge by the specifications of a regulation applicable to the contract constitutes a breach of the obligations of advertising and.

Such a breach is likely by nature to prejudice a potential candidate or ousted to the extent that it does not permit the filing of a regular offer

 

 

Board of state

No. 410336

Reading of Monday, September 18th, 2017

FRENCH REPUBLIC
IN THE NAME OF THE FRENCH PEOPLE

 

Considering the following procedures:

Previous procedure

The company Clear Channel France and the company Extérion Media France have asked the judge of the Court of Administrative Court of Paris, on the basis of Article L. 551-1 code administrative justice, to cancel the procedure of awarding the service concession relating to the operation of public or general information urban advertising furniture, engaged by the city of Paris.

By two orders n ° 1705054 and n ° 1704976 of April 21, 2017, the judge of the administrative court of Paris has annulled the procedure of awarding the disputed service concession.

  1. Considering that the appeals referred to above present to judge the same questions; whereas it is necessary to join them in order to give a decision;
  2. Considering that according to the article L. 551-1 of the code of administrative justice: "The president of the administrative court, or the magistrate which he delegates, can be seized in case of failure to the obligations of publicity and implementation. the award by the contracting authorities of administrative contracts for the performance of works, the supply of supplies or the provision of services, with an economic counterpart consisting of a price or a right of exploitation, or the delegation of a public service (...) "; that under the terms of I of Article L. 551-2 of the Code: "I. The judge may order the author of the breach to comply with his obligations and suspend the execution of any decision relating to the awarding of the contract, except where it considers that, in the light of all the interests that may be adversely affected, and in particular the public interest, the negative consequences of such measures may outweigh their benefits./ It may in addition, annul the decisions relating to the awarding of the contract and delete clauses or requirements intended to be included in the contract which do not comply with those obligations ... ";
  3. Whereas it follows from the statements in the contested orders that, by a public invitation to tender, published in the Official Journal of the European Union of 24 May 2016 and in the Official Bulletin of the public procurement announcements of 22 May 2016, the Ville de Paris has initiated a procedure for the award of a service concession relating to the operation of public or general information urban furniture supporting advertising; that three nominations have been selected; that, invited by the city of Paris to submit an offer no later than October 3, 2016 by letters of July 22, 2016, the companies Clear Channel France and Extérion Media France have renounced to submit an offer; that on March 28, 2017, the company of street furniture for the publicity and information (Somupi) was designated like recipient of the concession of services; that, by two orders of April 21, 2017, the Judge pre-contractual summary of the Administrative Court of Paris, seized by the companies Clear Channel France and Extérion Media France, canceled the procedure of award of this concession; that the city of Paris and the society Somupi appeal in cassation against these orders;
  4. Considering, on the one hand, that according to the article L. 581-9 of the code of the environment: "In the agglomerations, (...) the advertising is admitted. However, it must comply with (...) requirements laid down by decree of the Conseil d'Etat according to the processes, the devices used, the characteristics of the supports and the size of the agglomerations concerned. This decree also specifies the conditions of use as advertising media for street furniture installed on the public domain (...) "; that under the terms of article L. 581-14 of the same code: "(...) the municipality can elaborate on the whole territory (...) of the commune a local regulation of publicity which adapts the provisions provided for in Article L. 581-9 (...) "; that under the terms of article R. 581-14 of the same code, in its wording in force when the local regulation of publicity was stopped by the mayor of Paris: "The luminous publicity is the publicity to the realization of which participates a light source specially designed for this purpose. / The provisions of this paragraph are not applicable to light advertising devices that only support projection or transparency-lit posters, which are subject to the provisions of Articles R. 581-8 to R. 581-25 "; that under the terms of article R. 581-26 of the same code, in its wording in force on the same date: "The street furniture installed on the public domain may, in an accessory way having regard to its function and in the conditions defined in this paragraph, to support non-illuminated advertising or advertising informed by projection or transparency "; that under the terms of article R. 581-42 of the same code, in its wording resulting from the decree of January 30, 2012: "the street furniture can not support digital advertising in the agglomerations of less than 10 000 inhabitants ( ...). / When supporting digital advertising, it can not be placed within 10 meters of a residential bay (...) ";
  5. Considering, on the other hand, that according to the article P3.1 of the local regulation of advertising, stopped by the mayor of Paris on July 7th, 2011: "street furniture installed on the public domain can support advertising, as an accessory in view of its function and under the conditions defined by Articles R. 581-14 of the Environmental Code and Articles P3 to P3.8.2 of this Regulation "; that according to the article P4.1.1 of the same regulation: "The luminous advertising, in particular the screens, is prohibited with the exception of the advertising devices installed on the roof-terraces. Advertising flashing, moving, animated or variable brightness is prohibited ";
  6. Considering that it follows from the combined provisions of Articles P3.1 and P4.1.1 of the Local Advertising Regulation referred to above that any luminous advertising other than advertising illuminated by projection or transparency, which is treated as non-luminous advertising , is banned on street furniture in Paris ; that the reference, by Article P3, to the provisions of Article R. 581-14 of the Environmental Code could not have the purpose or the effect of authorizing any other form of advertising light than that which is illuminated by projection or transparency, which does not include digital advertising, since the provisions of Article R. 581-26 of the Environmental Code cited in point 4, in force when the local advertising regulation has been arrested by the mayor of Paris, forbade street furniture to support light advertising, with the exception of advertising lit by projection or transparency; that if, at the date of grant of the concession in dispute, the provisions of Article R. 581-42 of the Environmental Code authorized digital advertising on street furniture in agglomerations of at least 10 000 inhabitants, the local advertising regulation of Paris has not been modified to remove the ban on digital advertising on street furniture, which results, as has been said, from the combination of its articles P3 and P4.1.1; that it follows that the judge of interim relief tainted his order or error of law or denaturation by holding that digital advertising on street furniture is prohibited by the local advertising regulation of the city of Paris ;
  7. Considering that it follows from the foregoing that the City of Paris and the Somupi Society are unfounded to seek the annulment of the orders at issue; that their conclusions presented under the provisions of Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice can, therefore, only be rejected; that, on the other hand, in the circumstances of this case, the sum of 5,000 euros each to be paid in equal shares by Clear Channel companies be charged to the City of Paris and Somupi; France and Extérion Media France, under the same provisions;

 

DECIDE:
Article 1: The appeals of the city of Paris and the company of street furniture for advertising and information are rejected.
Article 2: The city of Paris and the public furniture company for advertising and information will each pay a total sum of 5,000 euros, in equal parts, to Clear Channel France and Extérion Media France.
Article 3: This decision will be notified to the City of Paris, the public furniture company for advertising and information, to the company Clear Channel France and the company Extérion Media France.

Marchés publics de mobiliers urbains : le non-respect du règlement local de publicité entraîne l’annulation de la procédure !

Marchés publics de mobiliers urbains : le non-respect du règlement local de publicité entraîne l’annulation de la procédure !

par Sébastien Palmier le 30 septembre 2017 | Catégorie : Référé pré-contractuel & Contractuel
Marchés publics de mobiliers urbains : le non-respect du règlement local de publicité entraîne l’annulation de la procédure !  Marchés publics de mobiliers urbains : le non-respect du règlement local de publicité entraîne l’annulation de la procédure !

 

CE 18 septembre 2017, Ville de Paris, req.n°410336

La ville de Paris a lancé une procédure de passation d’une concession de services relative à l’exploitation de mobiliers urbains d’information supportant de la publicité. Après s’être portée candidate, la société requérante a renoncé à présenter une offre et a demandé à la ville de déclarer la procédure sans suite. Après la désignation de l’attributaire, ladite société  a décidé de saisir le juge du référé précontractuel du Tribunal administratif de Paris qui a annulé la procédure au motif pris du non-respect par les documents de la consultation du règlement local de publicité interdisant toute publicité lumineuse autre que la publicité par projection ou transparence (TA Paris, Ord. 21 avril 2017, Sté Extérion Média France, n°1704976).

En cassation, le Conseil d’Etat a décidé de confirmer cette solution.

 

Règle n°1 : Les cahiers des charges d’un marché de mobilier urbain doivent respecter les règles du règlement local de publicité

 

Dans cette affaire, le Conseil d’Etat considère qu’une procédure de passation d’un marché de mobiliers urbains qui ne respecte pas les règles du règlement local de publicité qui a été adopté par le pouvoir adjudicateur doit être considérée comme irrégulière.

Le Conseil d’Etat considère que tel est le cas en l’espèce dans la mesure où les documents de la consultation autorisaient les candidats à proposer des mobiliers urbains supportant de la publicité numérique en violation avec le règlement local de publicité adopté par la Ville de Paris.

Les documents de la consultation indiquaient en effet que les mobiliers urbains « pourront supporter de l’affichage et de la publicité non lumineuse ou éclairée par projection ou transparence, voire numérique à titre accessoire » tout en précisant que « dans une proportion qui ne saurait excéder 15% des mobiliers mis en place au titre de la concession, les mobiliers pourront supporter de l’affichage et de la publicité numérique ».

 

Règle n°2 : La méconnaissance de la règlementation applicable au contrat constitue un manquement aux obligations de publicité et de mise en concurrence

 

Cet arrêt donne l’occasion de rappeler que la méconnaissance par les cahiers des charges d’une règlementation applicable au contrat constitue un manquement aux obligations de publicité et de mise en concurrence.

Un tel manquement est susceptible par nature de léser un candidat potentiel ou évincé dans la mesure où elle ne permet pas de déposer une offre régulière

 

 

Conseil d’État

N° 410336

Lecture du lundi 18 septembre 2017

REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
AU NOM DU PEUPLE FRANCAIS

 

Vu les procédures suivantes :

Procédure antérieure

La société Clear Channel France et la société Extérion Media France ont demandé au juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Paris, sur le fondement de l’article L. 551-1 du code de justice administrative, d’annuler la procédure de passation de la concession de service relative à l’exploitation de mobiliers urbains d’information à caractère général ou local, supportant de la publicité, engagée par la ville de Paris.

Par deux ordonnances n° 1705054 et n° 1704976 du 21 avril 2017, le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Paris a annulé la procédure de passation de la concession de service en litige.

  1. Considérant que les pourvois visés ci-dessus présentent à juger les mêmes questions ; qu’il y a lieu de les joindre pour statuer par une seule décision ;
  2. Considérant qu’aux termes de l’article L. 551-1 du code de justice administrative : “ Le président du tribunal administratif, ou le magistrat qu’il délègue, peut être saisi en cas de manquement aux obligations de publicité et de mise en concurrence auxquelles est soumise la passation par les pouvoirs adjudicateurs de contrats administratifs ayant pour objet l’exécution de travaux, la livraison de fournitures ou la prestation de services, avec une contrepartie économique constituée par un prix ou un droit d’exploitation, ou la délégation d’un service public (…) “ ; qu’aux termes du I de l’article L. 551-2 de ce code : “ I. Le juge peut ordonner à l’auteur du manquement de se conformer à ses obligations et suspendre l’exécution de toute décision qui se rapporte à la passation du contrat, sauf s’il estime, en considération de l’ensemble des intérêts susceptibles d’être lésés et notamment de l’intérêt public, que les conséquences négatives de ces mesures pourraient l’emporter sur leurs avantages./ Il peut, en outre, annuler les décisions qui se rapportent à la passation du contrat et supprimer les clauses ou prescriptions destinées à figurer dans le contrat et qui méconnaissent lesdites obligations (…) “ ;
  3. Considérant qu’il ressort des énonciations des ordonnances attaquées que, par un avis d’appel public à concurrence, paru au Journal officiel de l’Union européenne du 24 mai 2016 et au Bulletin officiel des annonces de marchés publics du 22 mai 2016, la ville de Paris a engagé une procédure en vue de la passation d’une concession de services relative à l’exploitation de mobiliers urbains d’information à caractère général ou local supportant de la publicité ; que trois candidatures ont été retenues ; que, invitées par la ville de Paris à remettre une offre au plus tard le 3 octobre 2016 par lettres du 22 juillet 2016, les sociétés Clear Channel France et Extérion Media France ont renoncé à déposer une offre ; que le 28 mars 2017, la société des mobiliers urbains pour la publicité et l’information (Somupi) a été désignée comme attributaire de la concession de services ; que, par deux ordonnances du 21 avril 2017, le juge du référé précontractuel du tribunal administratif de Paris, saisi par les sociétés Clear Channel France et Extérion Media France, a annulé la procédure de passation de cette concession ; que la ville de Paris et la société Somupi se pourvoient en cassation contre ces ordonnances ;
  4. Considérant, d’une part, qu’aux termes de l’article L. 581-9 du code de l’environnement : “ Dans les agglomérations, (…) la publicité est admise. Elle doit toutefois satisfaire (…) à des prescriptions fixées par décret en Conseil d’Etat en fonction des procédés, des dispositifs utilisés, des caractéristiques des supports et de l’importance des agglomérations concernées. Ce décret précise également les conditions d’utilisation comme supports publicitaires du mobilier urbain installé sur le domaine public (…) “ ; qu’aux termes de l’article L. 581-14 du même code : “ (…) la commune peut élaborer sur l’ensemble du territoire (…) de la commune un règlement local de publicité qui adapte les dispositions prévues à l’article L. 581-9 (…) “ ; qu’aux termes de l’article R. 581-14 du même code, dans sa rédaction en vigueur lorsque le règlement local de publicité a été arrêté par le maire de Paris : “ La publicité lumineuse est la publicité à la réalisation de laquelle participe une source lumineuse spécialement prévue à cet effet. / Les dispositions du présent paragraphe ne sont pas applicables aux dispositifs de publicité lumineuse ne supportant que des affiches éclairées par projection ou par transparence, lesquels sont soumis aux dispositions des articles R. 581-8 à R. 581-25 “ ; qu’aux termes de l’article R. 581-26 du même code, dans sa rédaction en vigueur à la même date : “ Le mobilier urbain installé sur le domaine public peut, à titre accessoire eu égard à sa fonction et dans les conditions définies au présent paragraphe, supporter de la publicité non lumineuse ou de la publicité éclairée par projection ou par transparence “ ; qu’aux termes de l’article R. 581-42 du même code, dans sa rédaction issue du décret du 30 janvier 2012 : “ le mobilier urbain ne peut pas supporter de la publicité numérique dans les agglomérations de moins de 10 000 habitants (…). / Lorsqu’il supporte de la publicité numérique, il ne peut être placé à moins de 10 mètres d’une baie d’habitation (…) “ ;
  5. Considérant, d’autre part, qu’aux termes de l’article P3.1 du règlement local de publicité, arrêté par le maire de Paris le 7 juillet 2011 : “ le mobilier urbain installé sur le domaine public peut supporter de la publicité, à titre accessoire eu égard à sa fonction et dans les conditions définies par les articles R. 581-14 du code de l’environnement et les articles P3 à P3.8.2 du présent règlement “ ; qu’aux termes de l’article P4.1.1 du même règlement : “ La publicité lumineuse, notamment les écrans, est interdite à l’exception des dispositifs publicitaires installés sur les toitures-terrasses. La publicité clignotante, défilante, animée ou à luminosité variable est interdite “ ;
  6. Considérant qu’il résulte des dispositions combinées des articles P3.1 et P4.1.1 du règlement local de publicité citées ci-dessus que toute publicité lumineuse autre que la publicité éclairée par projection ou par transparence, qui est assimilée à de la publicité non lumineuse, est interdite sur le mobilier urbain à Paris ; que le renvoi, par l’article P3, aux dispositions de l’article R. 581-14 du code de l’environnement ne pouvait avoir pour objet ou pour effet d’autoriser d’autre forme de publicité lumineuse que celle qui est éclairée par projection ou par transparence, qui n’inclut pas la publicité numérique, dès lors que les dispositions de l’article R. 581-26 du code de l’environnement citées au point 4, en vigueur lorsque le règlement local de publicité a été arrêté par le maire de Paris, interdisaient que le mobilier urbain supporte de la publicité lumineuse, à l’exception de la publicité éclairée par projection ou par transparence ; que si, à la date de passation de la concession en litige, les dispositions de l’article R. 581-42 du code de l’environnement autorisaient la publicité numérique sur le mobilier urbain dans les agglomérations d’au moins 10 000 habitants, le règlement local de publicité de Paris n’a pas été modifié pour supprimer l’interdiction de la publicité numérique sur le mobilier urbain, qui résulte, ainsi qu’il a été dit, de la combinaison de ses articles P3 et P4.1.1 ; qu’il suit de là que le juge des référés n’a entaché son ordonnance ni d’erreur de droit ni de dénaturation en jugeant que la publicité numérique sur le mobilier urbain est interdite par le règlement local de publicité de la ville de Paris ;
  7. Considérant qu’il résulte de ce qui précède que la ville de Paris et la société Somupi ne sont pas fondées à demander l’annulation des ordonnances attaquées ; que leurs conclusions présentées au titre des dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative ne peuvent, par suite, qu’être rejetées ; qu’il y a lieu, en revanche, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, de mettre à la charge de la ville de Paris et de la société Somupi la somme globale de 5 000 euros chacune à verser à parts égales aux sociétés Clear Channel France et Extérion Media France, au titre des mêmes dispositions ;

 

D E C I D E :
Article 1er : Les pourvois de la ville de Paris et de la société des mobiliers urbains pour la publicité et l’information sont rejetés.
Article 2 : La ville de Paris et la société des mobiliers urbains pour la publicité et l’information verseront, chacune, la somme globale de 5 000 euros, à parts égales, aux sociétés Clear Channel France et Extérion Media France.
Article 3 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la ville de Paris, à la société des mobiliers urbains pour la publicité et l’information, à la société Clear Channel France et à la société Extérion Media France.