L’exercice d’un recours administratif contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux

The exercise of an administrative appeal against a decision to terminate a contract does not have the effect of interrupting the period of litigation

by gmorales on 15 December 2016 | Category: Public markets
L’exercice d’un recours administratif contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux L’exercice d’un recours administratif contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux

CE 15 December 2016, Municipality of Saint-Denis d'Oléron, Req.N ° 389141

An individual had entered into a contract with a municipality authorizing him to park his boat in her port. The contract was terminated by a decision based on a provision of the port regulations. The individual filed an appeal, which was dismissed, and then applied to the Administrative Tribunal for an annulment of the termination decision. This request was rejected. On appeal, the judgment was quashed by the Administrative Court of Appeal. On an appeal, the Conseil d'Etat recalls that the exercise of an administrative appeal against a decision to terminate a contract does not have the effect of interrupting the period of litigation.

Rule n ° 1: The judge of the contract can pronounce on the decision of termination of a convention of occupation of the public domain

The Conseil d'Etat is making a new application of the so-called "Commune de Béziers II" (EC, 21 March 2011, Municipality of Béziers, n ° 304806), within the framework of a convention of occupation of the public domain. The High Administrative Court recalls indeed the recital in principle according to which "the judge of the contract, seized by a party of a dispute relating to a measure of execution of a contract, can only, in principle, seek if this measure is intervened under conditions of a nature to give right to compensation. However, a party to an administrative contract may, having regard to the scope of such an execution measure, bring before the court of the contract a full appeal contesting the validity of the termination of the contract and contractual relations ". In this case, the mayor had, by a letter, notified the contracting partner of the municipality the termination of a contract of "annual guarantee of use of berth". In application of this case law, the co-contractor of the municipality asked the judge of the contract to cancel the decision to terminate the said contract, which constitutes an agreement of occupation of the public domain.

Rule 2: The appeal must be lodged within two months of the date on which the other party was informed of the termination of the contract

The Conseil d'Etat also recalls that the co-contractor who intends to ask the contract judge to annul the decision to terminate a contract must do so within two months of the date on which he was informed of the termination decision. In this case, the mail of the mayor dated October 15, 2010 and the recipient has filed a gracious appeal by a letter of October 22, 2010. It is the latter date that the Council of State takes into account to calculate the delay of recourse.

Rule 3: The exercise of an administrative appeal does not have the effect of interrupting the period for appealing against a decision to terminate a contract

However, the Council of State also recalls that this period of appeal can not be interrupted by the exercise of an administrative appeal, whatever the reason for the termination: "having regard to the particularities of this litigation, to the the scope of the unlimited jurisdiction available to the contract judge and which may lead him, if the conditions are met, to order the resumption of contractual relations and to the intervention of the judge hearing the application for interim measures to take provisional measures in In this sense, the exercise of an administrative appeal to challenge this measure, if it is still open to the contracting party to use it, can not have the effect of interrupting the period for litigation. This is the case regardless of the reason for termination of the contract and in particular when such termination has occurred because of the mistakes made by the other party "(CE, May 30, 2012, SARL Promotion of tourist catering, No. 357151). In this case, an appeal was filed on October 22, 2010 and rejected by a letter from the mayor of October 30, 2010. The applicant had seized the Administrative Tribunal on December 27, 2010, two months and five days after the date of the appeal gracious. The application was therefore late and therefore inadmissible. The Conseil d'Etat therefore considers that the Administrative Court of Appeal should have automatically raised this inadmissibility and, consequently, annuls its judgment.

Board of state
N ° 389141  
ECLI: FR: CECHR: 2016: 389141.20161215
Mentioned in the tables of Lebon collection
8th - 3rd rooms combined
Mrs Karin Ciavaldini, rapporteur
Mr Benoît Bohnert, public rapporteur
SCP BOULLOCHE; SCP ODENT, CHICKEN, lawyers

Reading of the Thursday, December 15, 2016

FRENCH REPUBLIC
IN THE NAME OF THE FRENCH PEOPLE

Considering the following procedure:

MA..B ... asked the administrative court of Poitiers to annul the decision of October 15, 2010 by which the mayor of the municipality of Saint-Denis d'Oléron (Charente-Maritime) pronounced the termination of the contract of " annual guarantee of use of berth "which he enjoyed in the port of the municipality. By a judgment n ° 1003374 of December 12, 2012, the administrative court rejected this request.

By a judgment n ° 13BX00454 of February 5th, 2015, the administrative court of appeal of Bordeaux has, on call of MB .., annulled the decision of October 15th, 2010 and reformed the judgment of the administrative court of Poitiers as it was contrary to his judgment.

By a summary appeal and a complementary memorandum, registered on April 1 and June 23, 2015 to the litigation secretariat of the Conseil d'Etat, the municipality of Saint-Denis d'Oléron asks the Conseil d'Etat:

1 °) to annul this judgment;

2 °) settling the case on the merits, dismiss the appeal of MB ...

Considering the other parts of the file;

Considering the code of administrative justice;

After hearing in open session:

- report by Mrs Karin Ciavaldini, Master of Petitions,

- the conclusions of Mr Benoît Bohnert, public rapporteur.

The word having been given, before and after the conclusions, to the SCP Odent, Poulet, lawyer of the commune of Saint-Denis d'Oléron and to SCP Boulloche, lawyer of MB ...

1. It is clear from the documents in the file submitted to the Court that MB .. concluded in 1993 with the municipality of Saint-Denis d'Oléron (Charente-Maritime) a contract of "annual guarantee of use of berth "under which he was authorized to park the pleasure boat he owned in the port of that commune at the place n ° 16 of the pontoon I. By a letter of October 15, 2010, the mayor of the municipality served MB..the termination of this contract on the basis of article 49 of the regulations of the port, because of his behavior toward a professional working in the port, this termination taking effect upon receipt of the mail. By letter of October 22, 2010, MB .. has appealed against this measure, which was rejected by a letter from the mayor of October 30, 2010. On December 27, 2010, Mr. B ... seized the Administrative Court of Poitiers. an application for annulment of the decision of 15 October 2010. In a judgment of 12 December 2012, the Administrative Court rejected this request. The town of Saint-Denis d'Oléron appeals in cassation against the judgment of February 5, 2015 by which the Administrative Court of Appeal of Bordeaux, granting the call formed by MB .., canceled the decision of 15 October 2010.

2. The judge of the contract, seized by a party to a dispute relating to a measure of execution of a contract, may only, in principle, inquire whether the measure has taken place under conditions of a nature to give entitlement to compensation. However, a party to an administrative contract may, having regard to the scope of such an execution measure, bring before the court of the contract a full appeal contesting the validity of the termination of the contract and contractual relations. It must exercise this remedy, even if the contract in question relates to public works, within two months from the date on which it was informed of the termination measure. Such conclusions may be accompanied by a request that, on the basis of the provisions of Article L. 521-1 of the Administrative Justice Code, the suspension of the execution of the termination be suspended, so that the contractual relations are provisionally times.

3. Having regard to the peculiarities of this contentious appeal, to the extent of the unlimited jurisdiction available to the contract judge and which may lead him, if the conditions are satisfied, to order the resumption of contractual relations and to the intervention of the judge hearing the application for interim measures to take provisional measures to that end, the exercise of an administrative appeal challenging that measure, if it is still open to the contracting party to resort to it, can not have the effect of interrupting the period of contentious appeal. This is the case regardless of the reason for termination of the contract and in particular when this termination occurred because of the mistakes made by the other party.

4. MB ..'s request for annulment of the letter of 15 October 2010 by which the municipality of Saint-Denis d'Oléron informed him of the termination of the contract from which he benefited should be regarded as an appeal in full contentious contesting the validity of this termination and tending to the resumption of contractual relations. It was apparent from the file before the court that Mr B. had appealed to the Administrative Court on 27 December 2010, that is after the expiry of the period of two months from the date on which he was informed of the measure, which was later on October 22, 2010, the date on which he filed a grievous appeal. It follows from paragraphs 2 and 3 that the application to the Administrative Court was out of time and therefore inadmissible. By not automatically filing this inadmissibility, which was apparent from the documents in the file submitted to it, and granting the request of Mr. B .., the court tainted its judgment of irregularity. Without it being necessary to examine the grounds of the appeal, the municipality of Saint-Denis d'Oléron is justified in requesting the cancellation of the judgment it is attacking.

5. It is appropriate, in the circumstances of the case, to settle the case on the merits pursuant to Article L. 821-2 of the Code of Administrative Justice.

6. In order to reject Mr B.'s claim, the administrative court ruled that the mayor was in a position of joint jurisdiction to notify him of the termination of the contract in question, which had been pronounced by the municipal council of the municipality as part of its skills. He inferred from this that the grounds relied on by Mr B. against the decision notifying him of that termination were ineffective. It did not appear either from the terms of that decision or from any other part of the record that the mayor had relied on what he considered to be a related jurisdiction to notify MB ... of the termination of the contract. Therefore, in relying on this ground itself without first having informed the parties of its intention to take it up ex officio, the court tainted its judgment of irregularity. It is necessary, consequently, to annul this judgment and to rule by way of the evocation on the request of MB ...

7. As stated in paragraph 4, Mr B.'s claim before the court was inadmissible and can not therefore be dismissed.

8. The provisions of Article L. 761-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice preclude the payment of a sum in this respect to the commune of Saint-Denis d'Oléron, which does not is not, in this proceeding, the losing party. It is appropriate, in the circumstances of this case, to charge MB ... the payment to the town of Saint-Denis d'Oléron of the sum of 2,000 euros for costs incurred by the latter before the Administrative Court of Appeal and the Administrative Court.

DECIDE:
--------------
Article 1: The judgment of 5 February 2015 of the Administrative Court of Appeal of Bordeaux and the judgment of 12 December 2012 of the Administrative Court of Poitiers are annulled.

Article 2: The application of MB ... before the Administrative Court of Poitiers is rejected.

Article 3: The conclusions presented by MB ... before the Council of State and the Administrative Court of Appeal of Bordeaux under Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice are rejected.

Article 4: MB..refer to the town of Saint-Denis d'Oléron the sum of 2,000 euros under Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice.

Article 5: This decision will be notified to the municipality of Saint-Denis d'Oléron and MA .. B ....

L’exercice d’un recours administratif contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux

L’exercice d’un recours administratif contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux

par gmorales le 15 décembre 2016 | Catégorie : Marchés publics
L’exercice d’un recours administratif contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux  L’exercice d’un recours administratif contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux

CE 15 décembre 2016, Commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron, req.n°389141

Un particulier avait conclu avec une commune un contrat l’autorisant à stationner son bateau dans le port de celle-ci. Le contrat a été résilié, par une décision fondée sur une disposition du règlement du port. Le particulier a formé un recours gracieux, qui a été rejeté, puis a saisi le Tribunal administratif d’une demande tendant à l’annulation de la décision de résiliation. Cette requête a été rejetée. Frappé d’appel, le jugement a lui-même été annulé par la Cour administrative d’appel. Saisi d’un pourvoi, le Conseil d’Etat rappelle que l’exercice d’un recours administratif contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux.

Règle n°1 : Le juge du contrat peut se prononcer sur la décision de résiliation d’une convention d’occupation du domaine public

Le Conseil d’Etat fait ici une nouvelle application de la jurisprudence dite « Commune de Béziers II » (CE, 21 mars 2011, Commune de Béziers, n°304806), dans le cadre d’une convention d’occupation du domaine public. La Haute juridiction administrative rappelle en effet le considérant de principe selon lequel « le juge du contrat, saisi par une partie d’un litige relatif à une mesure d’exécution d’un contrat, peut seulement, en principe, rechercher si cette mesure est intervenue dans des conditions de nature à ouvrir droit à indemnité. Toutefois, une partie à un contrat administratif peut, eu égard à la portée d’une telle mesure d’exécution, former devant le juge du contrat un recours de plein contentieux contestant la validité de la résiliation de ce contrat et tendant à la reprise des relations contractuelles ». En l’espèce, le maire avait, par un courrier, notifié au cocontractant de la commune la résiliation de d’un contrat de « garantie annuelle d’usage de poste d’amarrage ». En application de cette jurisprudence, le cocontractant de la commune a demandé au juge du contrat d’annuler la décision de résiliation dudit contrat, qui constitue une convention d’occupation du domaine public.

Règle n°2 : Le recours doit être formé dans le délai de deux mois à compter de la date à laquelle le cocontractant a été informé de la résiliation du contrat

Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle également que le cocontractant qui entend demander au juge du contrat d’annuler la décision de résiliation d’un contrat doit le faire dans le délai de deux mois à compter de la date à laquelle il a été informé de la décision de résiliation. En l’espèce, le courrier du maire datait du 15 octobre 2010 et son destinataire a formé un recours gracieux par une lettre du 22 octobre 2010. C’est cette dernière date que le Conseil d’Etat prend en compte pour calculer le délai de recours.

Règle n°3 : L’exercice d’un recours administratif n’a pas pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contre une décision de résiliation d’un contrat

Toutefois, le Conseil d’Etat rappelle également que ce délai de recours ne peut être interrompu par l’exercice d’un recours administratif, quel que soit le motif de la résiliation : « eu égard aux particularités de ce recours contentieux, à l’étendue des pouvoirs de pleine juridiction dont le juge du contrat dispose et qui peut le conduire, si les conditions en sont satisfaites, à ordonner la reprise des relations contractuelles ainsi qu’à l’intervention du juge des référés pour prendre des mesures provisoires en ce sens, l’exercice d’un recours administratif pour contester cette mesure, s’il est toujours loisible au cocontractant d’y recourir, ne peut avoir pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux. Il en va ainsi quel que soit le motif de résiliation du contrat et notamment lorsque cette résiliation est intervenue en raison des fautes commises par le cocontractant » (CE, 30 mai 2012, SARL Promotion de la restauration touristique, n°357151). En l’espèce, un recours gracieux avait été formé le 22 octobre 2010 et rejeté par un courrier du maire du 30 octobre 2010. Le requérant avait saisi le Tribunal administratif le 27 décembre 2010, soit deux mois et cinq jours après la date du recours gracieux. La requête était donc tardive et, par suite, irrecevable. Le Conseil d’Etat estime donc que la Cour administrative d’appel aurait dû relever d’office cette irrecevabilité et, par conséquent, annule son arrêt.

Conseil d’État
N° 389141  
ECLI:FR:CECHR:2016:389141.20161215
Mentionné dans les tables du recueil Lebon
8ème – 3ème chambres réunies
Mme Karin Ciavaldini, rapporteur
M. Benoît Bohnert, rapporteur public
SCP BOULLOCHE ; SCP ODENT, POULET, avocats

lecture du jeudi 15 décembre 2016

REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
AU NOM DU PEUPLE FRANCAIS

Vu la procédure suivante :

M. A…B…a demandé au tribunal administratif de Poitiers d’annuler la décision du 15 octobre 2010 par laquelle le maire de la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron (Charente-Maritime) a prononcé la résiliation du contrat de ” garantie annuelle d’usage de poste d’amarrage ” dont il bénéficiait dans le port de la commune. Par un jugement n° 1003374 du 12 décembre 2012, le tribunal administratif a rejeté cette demande.

Par un arrêt n° 13BX00454 du 5 février 2015, la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux a, sur appel de M.B…, annulé la décision du 15 octobre 2010 et réformé le jugement du tribunal administratif de Poitiers en tant qu’il était contraire à son arrêt.

Par un pourvoi sommaire et un mémoire complémentaire, enregistrés les 1er avril et 23 juin 2015 au secrétariat du contentieux du Conseil d’Etat, la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron demande au Conseil d’Etat :

1°) d’annuler cet arrêt ;

2°) réglant l’affaire au fond, de rejeter l’appel de M.B….

Vu les autres pièces du dossier ;

Vu le code de justice administrative ;

Après avoir entendu en séance publique :

– le rapport de Mme Karin Ciavaldini, maître des requêtes,

– les conclusions de M. Benoît Bohnert, rapporteur public.

La parole ayant été donnée, avant et après les conclusions, à la SCP Odent, Poulet, avocat de la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron et à la SCP Boulloche, avocat de M. B….

1. Il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis aux juges du fond que M. B…a conclu en 1993 avec la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron (Charente-Maritime) un contrat de ” garantie annuelle d’usage de poste d’amarrage ” aux termes duquel il était autorisé à faire stationner le bateau de plaisance dont il était propriétaire dans le port de cette commune à la place n° 16 du ponton I. Par un courrier du 15 octobre 2010, le maire de la commune a signifié à M. B…la résiliation de ce contrat sur le fondement de l’article 49 du règlement du port, en raison de son comportement envers un professionnel travaillant dans le port, cette résiliation prenant effet à la réception du courrier. Par courrier du 22 octobre 2010, M. B… a formé un recours gracieux contre cette mesure, qui a été rejeté par un courrier du maire du 30 octobre 2010. Le 27 décembre 2010, M. B…a saisi le tribunal administratif de Poitiers d’une demande tendant à l’annulation de la décision du 15 octobre 2010. Par un jugement du 12 décembre 2012, le tribunal administratif a rejeté cette demande. La commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron se pourvoit en cassation contre l’arrêt du 5 février 2015 par lequel la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux, faisant droit à l’appel formé par M.B…, a annulé la décision du 15 octobre 2010.

2. Le juge du contrat, saisi par une partie d’un litige relatif à une mesure d’exécution d’un contrat, peut seulement, en principe, rechercher si cette mesure est intervenue dans des conditions de nature à ouvrir droit à indemnité. Toutefois, une partie à un contrat administratif peut, eu égard à la portée d’une telle mesure d’exécution, former devant le juge du contrat un recours de plein contentieux contestant la validité de la résiliation de ce contrat et tendant à la reprise des relations contractuelles. Elle doit exercer ce recours, y compris si le contrat en cause est relatif à des travaux publics, dans un délai de deux mois à compter de la date à laquelle elle a été informée de la mesure de résiliation. De telles conclusions peuvent être assorties d’une demande tendant, sur le fondement des dispositions de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative, à la suspension de l’exécution de la résiliation, afin que les relations contractuelles soient provisoirement reprises.

3. Eu égard aux particularités de ce recours contentieux, à l’étendue des pouvoirs de pleine juridiction dont le juge du contrat dispose et qui peut le conduire, si les conditions en sont satisfaites, à ordonner la reprise des relations contractuelles ainsi qu’à l’intervention du juge des référés pour prendre des mesures provisoires en ce sens, l’exercice d’un recours administratif pour contester cette mesure, s’il est toujours loisible au cocontractant d’y recourir, ne peut avoir pour effet d’interrompre le délai de recours contentieux. Il en va ainsi quel que soit le motif de résiliation du contrat et notamment lorsque cette résiliation est intervenue en raison des fautes commises par le cocontractant.

4. La demande de M. B…tendant à l’annulation du courrier du 15 octobre 2010 par lequel la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron l’informait de la résiliation du contrat dont il bénéficiait devait être regardée comme un recours de plein contentieux contestant la validité de cette résiliation et tendant à la reprise des relations contractuelles. Il ressortait du dossier soumis à la cour que M. B…avait saisi le tribunal administratif le 27 décembre 2010, soit après l’expiration du délai de deux mois à compter de la date à laquelle il avait été informé de la mesure, qui était au plus tard le 22 octobre 2010, date à laquelle il avait formé un recours gracieux. Il résulte de ce qui est dit aux points 2 et 3 que la demande adressée au tribunal administratif était tardive et, par suite, irrecevable. En ne relevant pas d’office cette irrecevabilité, qui ressortait des pièces du dossier qui lui était soumis, et en faisant droit à la demande de M.B…, la cour a entaché son arrêt d’irrégularité. Sans qu’il soit besoin d’examiner les moyens du pourvoi, la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron est fondée à demander l’annulation de l’arrêt qu’elle attaque.

5. Il y a lieu, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, de régler l’affaire au fond en application de l’article L. 821-2 du code de justice administrative.

6. Pour rejeter la demande de M.B…, le tribunal administratif a jugé que le maire était en situation de compétence liée pour lui notifier la résiliation du contrat en cause qui avait été prononcée par le conseil municipal de la commune dans le cadre de ses compétences. Il en a déduit que les moyens invoqués par M. B…contre la décision lui notifiant cette résiliation étaient inopérants. Il ne ressortait ni des termes de cette décision, ni d’aucune autre pièce du dossier que le maire s’était fondé sur ce qu’il s’estimait en situation de compétence liée pour notifier à M. B…la résiliation du contrat. Dès lors, en se fondant lui-même sur ce motif sans avoir préalablement informé les parties de son intention de le relever d’office, le tribunal a entaché son jugement d’irrégularité. Il y a lieu, par suite, d’annuler ce jugement et de statuer par la voie de l’évocation sur la demande de M. B….

7. Ainsi qu’il a été dit au point 4, la demande de M. B…devant le tribunal était irrecevable et ne peut, par suite, qu’être rejetée.

8. Les dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative font obstacle à ce qu’une somme soit mise, à ce titre, à la charge de la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron, qui n’est pas, dans la présente instance, la partie perdante. Il y a lieu, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, de mettre à la charge de M. B…le versement à la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron de la somme de 2 000 euros au titre des frais exposés par cette dernière devant la cour administrative d’appel et le tribunal administratif.

D E C I D E :
 — —  —  — –
Article 1er : L’arrêt du 5 février 2015 de la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux et le jugement du 12 décembre 2012 du tribunal administratif de Poitiers sont annulés.

Article 2 : La demande de M. B…devant le tribunal administratif de Poitiers est rejetée.

Article 3 : Les conclusions présentées par M. B…devant le Conseil d’Etat et la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative sont rejetées.

Article 4 : M. B…versera à la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron la somme de 2 000 euros au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.

Article 5 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la commune de Saint-Denis d’Oléron et à M. A… B….