Les conventions de subvention ne riment pas avec contrats administratifs !

Grant agreements do not rhyme with administrative contracts!

by Sébastien Palmier on June 21, 2019 | Category: Public Law
Les conventions de subvention ne riment pas avec contrats administratifs ! Les conventions de subvention ne riment pas avec contrats administratifs !

CE, notice, May 29, 2019, Royal Cinema Company, req. No. 428040

The Council of State recalls that the grant agreement is not an administrative contract, but a unilateral administrative act, so that its award can not be the subject of a pre-contractual summary procedure, or an appeal. challenge to its validity

For the implementation of public policies on their territory, local authorities have, for a long time, found strong allies in the person of associations and societies. Working in synergy, the administrations pay, quite classically, grants to their private partners to help them accomplish their missions. By way of illustration, it is quite typical for a municipal council to pay an annual subsidy to sports clubs and cultural associations, to name a few.

In this case, the deliberative assembly of the municipality of Mont-de-Marsan decided, in a deliberation of December 19, 2014, to allocate to the company The Club a subsidy of a sum of 1 500 000 €. The Royal Cinéma company, accompanied in that sense by a citizen, has submitted to the judge of the legality of the Administrative Court of Pau an action in excess of power to annul the deliberation attributing the subsidy and authorizing the mayor to sign it. Unsuccessful at first instance in a judgment of 29 December 2015, the applicants appealed to the judge of the Bordeaux Administrative Court of Appeal. The latter, on the basis of Article L. 113-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, decided, before deciding on the case, to submit a request for an opinion to the Conseil d'État. Specifically, the appeal judge asked the Palais-Royal whether it was necessary to apply the case law Department of Tarn-et-Garonne (EC, Ass., April 4, 2014, No. 358994) and therefore consider that the convention of grant is an administrative contract, or, on the contrary, rule in the form of excess of power and consider that it is the deliberation which must be annulled.

 

Teaching 1: pedagogical reminder of the identification of a grant

In order to determine what a subsidy is, the opinion of the Council of State starts with the explanation of the provisions of article 9-1 of the law of 12 April 2000 on the rights of citizens in their relations with the administrations. According to this legislative provision, grants are "optional contributions of any kind, valued in the award act, decided by the administrative authorities [...], justified by a general interest and intended to carry out an action or from an investment project, to the contribution to the development of activities or the overall financing of the activity [...] ". What needs our attention is the optional dimension of granting a grant.

 

Teaching # 2: the grant agreement or confusion with the administrative contract

Article 10 of the aforementioned Act of 12 April 2000 stipulates that, depending on the amount, a grant agreement must be signed between the public body and the recipient. Thus, as soon as the amount exceeds the sum of € 23,000, which was the case in the present case, an act which may at first sight look like a contract must be signed between the parties concerned. It is on this point that the difficulties crystallize and gave rise to the request for an opinion of the Bordeaux Administrative Court of Appeal.

For the Council of State, the grant agreement is not an administrative contract, but a unilateral administrative act. To justify this, the highest administrative court specifies that it is the administration that imposes alone the rules contained in the convention, these being, logically, not negotiated between the interested parties. In other words, it is the decision to allocate the grant that will create the rights for the beneficiary, and not the agreement itself, which contains the recommendations that must be respected by the entity that will have access to the grant. amount of the grant. Consequently, if the agreement in question is not a contract, the legal remedies challenging the validity of the administrative contracts, brought by a party or a third party are necessarily closed. It is thus the judge of the legality, through the appeal for excess of power contesting the legality of the decision of the municipal council which is competent. The Council of State also recalls that the litigation indemnity can be brought.

 

Teaching n ° 3: the possibility of introducing a suspension

In its opinion, the highest administrative court pedagogically recalls that if the appeal for abuse of power is open, there is nothing to prevent the applicant from bringing a parallel suspension of proceedings, the provisions of which are contained in Article L. 521 -1 of the Administrative Justice Code. According to this article, the judge can order the suspension of the administrative act in question "when the urgency justifies it and that there is mention of a means of creating, in the state of the investigation, a doubt seriously as to the legality of the decision ". It seems to us particularly useful for the applicant who wishes to challenge the legality of a decision allocating a grant to mobilize the appeal in urgency.


CE, notice, May 29, 2019, Royal Cinema Company, req. No. 428040

Considering the following procedure:

By a judgment n ° 16BX00581 of February 8, 2019, recorded on February 15, 2019 at the litigation secretariat of the Council of State, the Administrative Court of Appeal of Bordeaux, before ruling on the request of the joint stock company simplified Royal Cinema and of MC..D ... tending to the annulment of the judgment n ° 1500281, 1500363, 1500364, 1501380, 1501446 of the 29th of December 2015 of the administrative court of Pau as it rejected their requests tending to the cancellation for excess of power of the deliberation of December 19th, 2014 of the municipal council of Mont-de-Marsan attributing to the society the Club a subsidy of 1 500 000 euros and authorizing the mayor to sign the convention defining the modalities of attribution of this subsidy as well that the cancellation of this agreement signed on January 6, 2015, decided, pursuant to the provisions of Article L. 113-1 code administrative justice, to transmit the file of this application to the Council of State, in so questioning the following question:

The litigation procedure opened by the decision of 4 April 2014 of the Conseil d'Etat, ruling in litigation, department of Tarn-et-Garonne, No. 358994, to any third party to an administrative contract liable to be harmed in its interests sufficiently direct and certain by its execution or its clauses, which makes it admissible to form before the judge of the contract an appeal of unlimited jurisdiction challenging the validity of the contract or of some of its non-regulatory clauses which are divisible, it applies when the dispute relates to an agreement for the purpose of granting a subsidy at the request of the beneficiary and for which the conditions of attribution and the terms of payment are unilaterally determined by the decision or the preliminary deliberation of a collectivity public '

MAKES THE FOLLOWING NOTICE

1. According to article 9-1 of the law of 12 April 2000 on the rights of citizens in their relations with the administration: "For the purposes of this law, subsidies are voluntary contributions of any kind, valued in the act of allocation, decided by the administrative authorities and the bodies responsible for the management of a public industrial and commercial service, justified by a general interest and intended for carrying out an action or a project of investment, the contribution to the development of activities or the overall financing of the activity of the beneficiary private-law body These actions, projects or activities are initiated, defined and implemented by the beneficiary private-law bodies. These contributions can not constitute compensation for individualized services that meet the needs of the authorities or bodies that grant them ".

2. According to Article 10 of the same law: "(...) ./ The administrative authority or the body responsible for the management of a public industrial and commercial service referred to in the first paragraph of Article 9-1, which allocates a subsidy, must, where the subsidy exceeds a threshold defined by decree, enter into an agreement with the beneficiary private-law body defining the purpose, amount, payment terms and conditions of the grant. use of the subsidy granted This provision does not apply to organizations receiving subsidies for the improvement, construction, acquisition and improvement of social rental housing provided for in Book III of the Construction and Building Code. 'dwelling'. Under Article 1 of the Decree of 6 June 2001 adopted for the application of Article 10 of the Law of 12 April 2000 on the financial transparency of aid granted by public entities, the obligation to conclude a convention applies to grants whose annual amount exceeds the sum of 23,000 euros.

3. A decision to award a grant is a unilateral act that creates rights for the benefit of the recipient; such rights are thus created only to the extent that the beneficiary of the subsidy complies with the conditions laid down for its granting, that those conditions derive from the norms governing it, that they were laid down by the public person in his decision to whether they have been the subject of an agreement signed with the beneficiary, or that they implicitly but necessarily derive from the very purpose of the grant.

4. Independently of the indemnity actions that may be brought against the public body, the remedies relating to a subsidy, whether they relate in particular to the decision to grant it, in whatever form, to the conditions laid down its granting by this decision or by the agreement concluded pursuant to the abovementioned provisions of the law of 12 April 2000, or the decisions of the public body to which it may give rise, in particular the decisions by which the public person modifies the amount the conditions for granting the grant, ceasing to pay or requesting repayment of sums already paid, may be brought only before the judge of the excess of power, by the beneficiary of the grant or by third parties who have of an interest that gives them standing. Such an action for excess of power may be accompanied by an application for suspension of the contested decision, submitted on the basis of Article L. 521-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice.

5. This notice will be notified to the Bordeaux Administrative Court of Appeal, the Minister of the Interior, the municipality of Mont-de-Marsan, the company Le Club, the joint stock company Royal Cinema, to MC..D ..., to Mrs. B ... A ..., to the association "Un Marsan otherwise" and to the president of the National Center for Cinema and Animated Image.

Les conventions de subvention ne riment pas avec contrats administratifs !

Les conventions de subvention ne riment pas avec contrats administratifs !

par Sébastien Palmier le 21 juin 2019 | Catégorie : Droit public
Les conventions de subvention ne riment pas avec contrats administratifs !  Les conventions de subvention ne riment pas avec contrats administratifs !

CE, avis, 29 mai 2019, Société Royal Cinéma, req. n°428040

Le Conseil d’État rappelle que la convention de subvention n’est pas un contrat administratif, mais un acte administratif unilatéral de sorte que sa passation ne peut pas faire l’objet d’une procédure de référé précontractuel, ou d’un recours en contestation de sa validité

Pour la mise en œuvre des politiques publiques sur leur territoire, les collectivités territoriales ont trouvé, de longue date, des alliés de poids en la personne des associations et des sociétés. Œuvrant en synergie, les administrations versent, tout à fait classiquement, des subventions à leurs partenaires privés pour les aider à accomplir leurs missions. À titre d’illustration, il est tout à fait classique qu’un conseil municipal verse une subvention annuelle aux clubs sportifs ainsi qu’aux associations culturelles, pour ne citer qu’elles.

En l’espèce, l’assemblée délibérante de la commune de Mont-de-Marsan a décidé, dans une délibération du 19 décembre 2014, d’allouer à la société Le Club une subvention d’une somme de 1 500 000 €. S’estimant lésée, la société Royal Cinéma, accompagnée en ce sens par un administré, ont saisi le juge de la légalité du tribunal administratif de Pau d’un recours en excès de pouvoir tendant à l’annulation de la délibération attribuant la subvention et autorisant le maire à la signer. Déboutés en première instance dans un jugement du 29 décembre 2015, les requérants ont saisi le juge de la Cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux. Celle-ci, sur le fondement de l’article L. 113-1 du Code de justice administrative, a décidé, avant de statuer sur l’affaire, de soumettre au Conseil d’État une demande d’avis. Précisément, le juge d’appel a demandé au Palais-Royal s’il fallait appliquer la jurisprudence Département de Tarn-et-Garonne (CE, Ass., 4 avril 2014, req. n°358994) et donc considérer que la convention de subvention est un contrat administratif, ou, au contraire, statuer sous la forme de l’excès de pouvoir et considérer que c’est la délibération qui doit être annulée.

 

Enseignement n°1 : rappel pédagogique de l’identification d’une subvention

Pour déterminer ce qu’est une subvention, l’avis du Conseil d’État débute par l’explication des dispositions de l’article 9-1 de la loi du 12 avril 2000 relative aux droits des citoyens dans leur relations avec les administrations. Conformément à cette disposition législative, les subventions sont « les contributions facultatives de toute nature, valorisées dans l’acte d’attribution, décidées par les autorités administratives […], justifiées par un intérêt général et destinées à la réalisation d’une action ou d’un projet d’investissement, à la contribution au développement d’activités ou au financement global de l’activité […] ». Ce qui doit retenir notre attention est la dimension facultative de l’octroi d’une subvention.

 

Enseignement n°2 : la convention de subvention ou la confusion avec le contrat administratif

L’article 10 de la loi du 12 avril 2000 précitée dispose qu’en fonction du montant, une convention de subvention doit être signée entre la personne publique et le destinataire. Ainsi, dès que le montant dépasse la somme de 23 000 €, ce qui était le cas en l’espèce, un acte qui peut ressembler à première vue à un contrat doit être signé entre les intéressés. C’est sur ce point que se cristallisent les difficultés et qui ont donné lieu à la demande d’avis de la Cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux.

Pour le Conseil d’État, la convention de subvention n’est pas un contrat administratif, mais un acte administratif unilatéral. Pour le justifier, la plus haute juridiction administrative précise que c’est l’administration qui impose seule les règles contenues dans la convention, celles-ci n’étant, en toute logique, pas négociées entre les intéressés. En d’autres termes, c’est la décision d’allouer la subvention qui va créer les droits pour le bénéficiaire, et non la convention en elle-même, qui contient les préconisations que devront être respectées par l’entité qui va disposer du montant de la subvention. Par voie de conséquence, si la convention en question n’est pas un contrat, les voies de droit contestant la validité des contrats administratifs, intenté par une partie ou par un tiers sont nécessairement fermées. C’est donc le juge de la légalité, par le truchement du recours pour excès de pouvoir contestant la légalité de la décision du conseil municipal qui est compétent. Le Conseil d’État rappelle aussi que le contentieux indemnitaire peut être intenté.

 

Enseignement n°3 : la possibilité d’introduire un référé suspension

Dans son avis, la plus haute juridiction administrative rappelle de manière pédagogique que si le recours pour excès de pouvoir est ouvert, rien n’interdit au requérant d’intenter en parallèle un référé suspension dont les dispositions sont contenues à l’article L. 521-1 du Code de justice administrative. Conformément à cet article, le juge peut ordonner la suspension de l’acte administratif litigieux « lorsque l’urgence le justifie et qu’il est fait état d’un moyen propre à créer, en l’état de l’instruction, un doute sérieux quant à la légalité de la décision ». Il nous semble particulièrement utile pour le requérant qui souhaiterait contester la légalité d’une décision allouant une subvention de mobiliser le recours en urgence.


CE, avis, 29 mai 2019, Société Royal Cinéma, req. n°428040

Vu la procédure suivante :

Par un arrêt n° 16BX00581 du 8 février 2019, enregistré le 15 février 2019 au secrétariat du contentieux du Conseil d’Etat, la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux, avant de statuer sur la requête de la société par actions simplifiée Royal Cinéma et de M. C…D…tendant à l’annulation du jugement n° 1500281, 1500363, 1500364, 1501380, 1501446 du 29 décembre 2015 du tribunal administratif de Pau en tant qu’il a rejeté leurs demandes tendant à l’annulation pour excès de pouvoir de la délibération du 19 décembre 2014 du conseil municipal de Mont-de-Marsan attribuant à la société Le Club une subvention de 1 500 000 euros et autorisant le maire à signer la convention définissant les modalités d’attribution de cette subvention ainsi qu’à l’annulation de cette convention signée le 6 janvier 2015, a décidé, par application des dispositions de l’article L. 113-1 du code de justice administrative, de transmettre le dossier de cette requête au Conseil d’Etat, en soumettant à son examen la question suivante :

Le régime de recours contentieux ouvert par la décision du 4 avril 2014 du Conseil d’Etat, statuant au contentieux, département de Tarn-et-Garonne, n° 358994, à tout tiers à un contrat administratif susceptible d’être lésé dans ses intérêts de façon suffisamment directe et certaine par sa passation ou ses clauses, qui le rend recevable à former devant le juge du contrat un recours de pleine juridiction contestant la validité du contrat ou de certaines de ses clauses non-réglementaires qui en sont divisibles, est-il applicable lorsque le litige porte sur une convention ayant pour objet l’octroi d’une subvention à la demande du bénéficiaire et dont les conditions d’attribution et les modalités de versement sont unilatéralement déterminées par la décision ou la délibération préalable d’une collectivité publique ‘

REND L’AVIS SUIVANT

1. Aux termes de l’article 9-1 de la loi du 12 avril 2000 relative aux droits des citoyens dans leur relations avec les administrations : ” Constituent des subventions, au sens de la présente loi, les contributions facultatives de toute nature, valorisées dans l’acte d’attribution, décidées par les autorités administratives et les organismes chargés de la gestion d’un service public industriel et commercial, justifiées par un intérêt général et destinées à la réalisation d’une action ou d’un projet d’investissement, à la contribution au développement d’activités ou au financement global de l’activité de l’organisme de droit privé bénéficiaire. Ces actions, projets ou activités sont initiés, définis et mis en oeuvre par les organismes de droit privé bénéficiaires. / Ces contributions ne peuvent constituer la rémunération de prestations individualisées répondant aux besoins des autorités ou organismes qui les accordent “.

2. Aux termes de l’article 10 de cette même loi : ” (…). / L’autorité administrative ou l’organisme chargé de la gestion d’un service public industriel et commercial mentionné au premier alinéa de l’article 9-1 qui attribue une subvention doit, lorsque cette subvention dépasse un seuil défini par décret, conclure une convention avec l’organisme de droit privé qui en bénéficie, définissant l’objet, le montant, les modalités de versement et les conditions d’utilisation de la subvention attribuée. Cette disposition ne s’applique pas aux organismes qui bénéficient de subventions pour l’amélioration, la construction, l’acquisition et l’amélioration des logements locatifs sociaux prévues au livre III du code de la construction et de l’habitation “. En vertu de l’article 1er du décret du 6 juin 2001 pris pour l’application de l’article 10 de la loi du 12 avril 2000 et relatif à la transparence financière des aides octroyées par les personnes publiques, l’obligation de conclure une convention s’applique aux subventions dont le montant annuel dépasse la somme de 23 000 euros.

3. Une décision qui a pour objet l’attribution d’une subvention constitue un acte unilatéral qui crée des droits au profit de son bénéficiaire ; de tels droits ne sont ainsi créés que dans la mesure où le bénéficiaire de la subvention respecte les conditions mises à son octroi, que ces conditions découlent des normes qui la régissent, qu’elles aient été fixées par la personne publique dans sa décision d’octroi, qu’elles aient fait l’objet d’une convention signée avec le bénéficiaire, ou encore qu’elles découlent implicitement mais nécessairement de l’objet même de la subvention.

4. Indépendamment des actions indemnitaires qui peuvent être engagées contre la personne publique, les recours relatifs à une subvention, qu’ils aient en particulier pour objet la décision même de l’octroyer, quelle qu’en soit la forme, les conditions mises à son octroi par cette décision ou par la convention conclue en application des dispositions précitées de la loi du 12 avril 2000, ou encore les décisions de la personne publique auxquelles elle est susceptible de donner lieu, notamment les décisions par lesquelles la personne publique modifie le montant ou les conditions d’octroi de la subvention, cesse de la verser ou demande le remboursement des sommes déjà versées, ne peuvent être portés que devant le juge de l’excès de pouvoir, par le bénéficiaire de la subvention ou par des tiers qui disposent d’un intérêt leur donnant qualité à agir. Un tel recours pour excès de pouvoir peut être assorti d’une demande de suspension de la décision litigieuse, présentée sur le fondement de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative.

5. Le présent avis sera notifié à la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux, au ministre de l’intérieur, à la commune de Mont-de-Marsan, à la société Le Club, à la société par actions simplifiée Royal Cinéma, à M. C…D…, à Mme B…A…, à l’association ” Un Marsan autrement ” et à la présidente du Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée.