Le caractère onéreux des marchés publics

The onerous nature of public procurement

by gmorales on 18 October 2016 | Category: Folders of the month
Le caractère onéreux des marchés publics Le caractère onéreux des marchés publics

Le caractère onéreux des marchés publics According to its classic definition, a public contract is a contract, that is, an agreement by which one or more persons bind themselves to one or more others to give, to do or not to do something, which must meet the needs of the administration for supplies, services and works.

Qualification under the prism of the onerous nature of the contract

A key element in the definition of the public contract

The qualification of a public contract, within the meaning of Article 1 of the Code des Marches Publics, entails the quality of an administrative contract in application of the provisions of Article 2 of Law No. 2001-1168 of 11 December 2001, known as the "MURCEF" law. ", According to which" contracts awarded under the Code des Marches Publics are in the nature of administrative contracts ". This legislative qualification strongly marks the legitimacy of the administrative nature of the public contract, putting an end to the doctrine and jurisprudence provided, particularly in the field of insurance contracts.

According to Article 1, 'public contracts are contracts concluded between the contracting authorities (...) and public or private economic operators for consideration for their needs in terms of works, supplies or services'.

In other words, a contract without financial compensation, carried out for free, is never a public contract, because the onerous nature of the contract induces the idea of a cost burden on the public purchaser. Any service involving one euro obliges the public purchaser to respect the main principles of the public order.

An evolutionary notion

The onerous nature involves financial compensation from the public purchaser. The onerous character therefore concerns what is actually a price, but also what could have been one if the service had been presented to the competition. The price materializes, classically, the amount of the contract. This is generally the payment of a cash sum in exchange for the performance of a service. Nevertheless, in the absence of a payment, other forms of remuneration exist, where the onerous nature may as well result from the abandonment by the public purchaser of a possibility of receipt related to the performance of the contract. The most cited example is that of street furniture markets (CE, ass., 04/11/2005 Jean Claude DECAUX, n ° 247298) where a company installs street furniture without the city paying it. In return, the municipality authorizes the company to exploit, on an exclusive basis, a part of the street furniture by exempting it from royalty for occupation of the public domain. The advantage granted to the company is the onerous counterpart of the service.
The onerous nature is also manifested through agreements relating to the prospection of advertising advertisers for the financing of a municipal bulletin (EC, 06/11/2009, Société Prest'action, application number 297877), a contract relating to the organization and management of a music festival for a price in the abandonment of festival revenue and the payment of an annual sum (EC, 23/05/2011, Municipality of Six- Fours-les-Plages, application No 342520), or of the authorization given to the contracting party to sell the sand or gravel taken from a river which he has cleaned up (EC, 22/02/1980 , SA Modern Sablières d'Aressy, No. 11939).
More recently, public contracts have been launched, called "cost killing", aimed at the search for a reduction in the costs of a public person by auditing and consulting firms (for example in the field of taxation) which are remunerated on a percentage basis. obtained on the actual amount of savings, thus representing the onerous nature of the service. For the Court of budgetary and financial discipline (CDBF), the convention "(...) was concluded for a fee by the public institution to meet its own needs; that its price defined by the mission order signed concomitantly with the convention was fixed in proportion of the savings likely to be realized and, thus, was determinable; that, in view of its amount and purpose, that convention constituted a public contract falling within the scope of the Code des Marches Publics'. In this case, the Court was seized of the case of a director of a retirement home who was accused of having entered into a contract, without publicity or competitive bidding, aimed at reducing the employers' and tax burdens borne by the employer. Establishment (CDBF, 11/10/2013, Champcevrais Inter-communal Retirement Home, No. 191-701).
Community case-law also states that only a contract concluded for consideration may constitute a public contract covered by Directive 2004/18. The onerous nature of the contract is identified if it has a direct economic interest for the contracting authority (CJUE, 25/03/2010, case C-451/08 Helmut Müller v. Bundesanstalt für Immobilienaugaben).

Problem of the onerous nature of the administrative contract

Restrictive approach

According to the Dispute Tribunal, a contract by which a tourist office, with the status of public industrial and commercial establishment (EPIC), entrusts, on an exclusive basis, the edition of a tourist guide, written by him, to a private company, in return for the exploitation of advertising by the sale of space to advertisers, is not a public contract, having regard to its purpose and its financial balance, but a private law convention (TC , 07/04/2014, SEVP c / Tourist Office of Rambouillet and Sté Axiom-graphic, n ° 3949).
This judgment gives a strict interpretation of the notion of onerousness and reduces the interpretation of the concept of onerousness by the administrative court, for which the absence of payment of a sum of money by a waiver of revenue is considered by the administrative judge as being onerous (EC, Ass., 04/11/2005 Jean Claude DECAUX, application No. 247298). However, the Court of Cassation ruled in 2004 that municipal information constitutes a public service (Cass., 16/11/2004, City of Meaux c / CIEP, No. 0210628).
Would the judgment of the Dispute Tribunal have been made differently if the object of the contract had also involved the drafting of the guide? Does this decision have the implicit consequence of interpreting differently the decisions made by the public purchaser, depending on whether it is a local authority or an EPIC?
In spite of these questions, this judgment by the conflict court is part of the introduction into domestic law of the Community concept of service concessions.

A fragile criterion

The onerous nature of the public contract is a notion distorted by different national interpretative approaches to the law and by the broadening of the notion of service concessions driven by European directives. According to the administrative court, a street furniture contract is neither a public service delegation agreement (TA Paris, 24/04/2009, CBS Outdoor, no. 0516044 / 6-1), nor a public contract, but may constitute a simple contract of temporary occupation of the public domain (CE, 15/05/2013, City of Paris c / company JC Decaux, n ° 364593).
In the present case, the City of Paris had concluded an agreement concerning the installation and operation of so-called "Morris columns" columns and poster poles intended for the advertising of cultural, economic, social and cultural events and performances. sports.
The Council of State considers that the convention can not be regarded as including a price paid because the company pays a royalty to the city. Indeed, while the cultural allocation of street furniture does indeed correspond to a general municipal interest of promotion of cultural activities, "it does not concern activities carried out by the municipal services or carried out on their behalf". Since it is not concluded to meet the needs of the community, the convention is not a public contract.
However, in 2005 (EC, Ass., 04/11/2005 Jean Claude DECAUX, No. 247298), the Conseil d'Etat considered that the purpose of the contract was to meet the needs of the community in terms of information to the inhabitants and the protection of transport users, and that the advantage granted to the company constituted the onerous counterpart of the service. In the same way, the contract concluded by a hospital with a provider for the provision of telephone, television and internet access subscription payments does not constitute a public contract (EC, 07/03/2014, University Hospital of Rouen, n ° 372897).

This jurisprudential stance positions the public purchaser to face a double stumbling block: on the one hand, the notion of a public contract confronted with problems of legal qualification, which conditions the application of particular legal regimes (DSP, concession of works, public ownership). ...) with the penal consequences attached to it (crime of favoritism), on the other hand, to apprehend the definition of the public market to be able to identify and distinguish a public contract of services or works of a concession of services or works, subject to a specific regime provided for by the European Directive 2014/23 / EU of 26 February 2014. Article 5 states that a concession is "a contract concluded in writing and for a consideration by one or more contracting authorities or contracting entities entrust the execution of works or services to one or more economic operators, the the right to exploit the works or services which are the subject of the contract, or in this right accompanied by a price ".

Article written by Fabrice Strady, Head of Administrative Services, Public Procurement and Legal Affairs of the City of Royan - Public Procurement Consultant - stradyjuris@gmail.com

Vignette dossier marchés publics

Le caractère onéreux des marchés publics

par gmorales le 18 octobre 2016 | Catégorie : Dossiers du mois
image_pdfimage_print

Le caractère onéreux des marchés publicsSelon sa définition classique, un marché public est un contrat, c’est-à-dire une convention par laquelle une ou plusieurs personnes s’obligent envers une ou plusieurs autres à donner, à faire ou à ne pas faire quelque chose, qui doit répondre aux besoins de l’administration en matière de fournitures, services et travaux.

Qualification sous le prisme du caractère onéreux du contrat

Un élément primordial dans la définition du marché public

La qualification de marché public, au sens de l’article 1 du code des marchés publics, emporte la qualité de contrat administratif en application des dispositions de l’article 2 de la loi n° 2001-1168 du 11 décembre 2001 dite loi « MURCEF », selon lequel « les marchés passés en application du code des marchés publics ont le caractère de contrats administratifs ». Cette qualification législative marque  avec force la légitimité du caractère administratif du marché public, mettant fin à une doctrine et une jurisprudence fournies, notamment dans le domaine des contrats d’assurance.

Selon l’article 1 précité, « les marchés publics sont les contrats conclus à titre onéreux entre les pouvoirs adjudicateurs (…)  et des opérateurs économiques publics ou privés, pour répondre à leurs besoins en matière de travaux, de fournitures ou de services ».

Autrement dit, un contrat sans contrepartie financière, réalisé à titre gratuit, n’est jamais un marché public, car le caractère onéreux du contrat induit l’idée d’un coût pesant sur l’acheteur public. Toute prestation engageant un euro oblige l’acheteur public à respecter les grands principes de la commande publique.

Une notion évolutive

Le caractère onéreux implique une contrepartie financière de la part de l’acheteur public. Le caractère onéreux concerne donc ce qui a effectivement un prix, mais aussi ce qui aurait pu en avoir un, si la prestation avait été présentée à la concurrence. Le prix matérialise, classiquement, le montant du marché. Il s’agit généralement du paiement d’une somme en argent en échange de la réalisation d’une prestation. Néanmoins, en l’absence d’un versement, d’autres formes de rémunération existent, où le caractère onéreux peut aussi bien résulter d’un abandon par l’acheteur public d’une possibilité de recette liée à l’exécution du marché. L’exemple le plus cité est celui des marchés de mobilier urbain (CE, ass., 04/11/2005 Jean Claude DECAUX, req. n° 247298) où une société installe le mobilier urbain sans que la ville ne le paie. En contrepartie, la commune autorise l’entreprise à exploiter, à titre exclusif, une partie du mobilier urbain en l’exonérant de redevance pour occupation du domaine public. L’avantage accordé à la société constitue la contrepartie onéreuse de la prestation.
Le caractère onéreux se manifeste également au travers de conventions portant sur la prospection d’annonceurs publicitaires en vue du financement d’un bulletin municipal (CE, 06/11/2009, Société Prest’action, req. n° 297877),  d’un contrat relatif à l’organisation et à la gestion d’un festival de musique moyennant un prix tenant en l’abandon des recettes du festival et au versement d’une somme annuelle (CE, 23/05/2011, Commune de Six- Fours-les-Plages, req. n° 342520), ou de l’autorisation donnée au cocontractant de vendre le sable ou les graviers tirés d’un cours d’eau dont il a réalisé le curage (CE, 22/02/1980, SA des Sablières modernes d’Aressy, req. n° 11939).
Plus récemment, fleurissent des marchés publics dénommés « cost killing», ayant pour objet la recherche de réduction des coûts d’une personne publique par des cabinets d’audits et de conseils (par exemple en matière de fiscalité) qui se rémunèrent sur un pourcentage obtenu sur le montant réel des économies, représentant ainsi le caractère onéreux de la prestation. Pour la Cour de discipline budgétaire et financière (CDBF), la convention « (…) a été conclue à titre onéreux par l’établissement public en vue de répondre à ses besoins propres ; que son prix défini par l’ordre de mission signé concomitamment à la convention a été fixé en proportion des économies susceptibles d’être réalisées et, ainsi, était déterminable ; que, compte-tenu de son montant et de son objet, cette convention constituait un marché public entrant dans le champ du code des marchés publics ». En l’espèce, la Cour était saisie du cas d’un directeur de maison de retraite auquel il était reproché d’avoir conclu, sans publicité ni mise en concurrence, un contrat ayant pour objet de diminuer les charges patronales et fiscales supportées par l’établissement (CDBF, 11/10/2013, Maison de retraite intercommunale de Champcevrais, n° 191-701).
La jurisprudence communautaire précise aussi que seul un contrat conclu à titre onéreux peut constituer un marché public relevant de la directive 2004/18. Le caractère onéreux du contrat est identifié s’il comporte un intérêt économique direct pour le pouvoir adjudicateur (CJUE, 25/03/2010, aff. C-451/08 Helmut Müller c/ Bundesanstalt für Immobilienaugaben).

Problématique  du caractère onéreux du contrat administratif

Approche restrictive

Selon le tribunal des conflits, un contrat par lequel un office de tourisme, doté du statut d’établissement public industriel et commercial (EPIC) , confie, à titre exclusif,  l’édition d’un guide touristique, rédigé par ses soins, à une société privée, en contrepartie de l’exploitation de la publicité par la vente d’espaces aux annonceurs publicitaires, n’est pas un marché public, eu égard à son objet et à son équilibre financier, mais une convention de droit privé (TC, 07/04/2014, SEVP c/ Office du tourisme de Rambouillet et Sté Axiom-graphic, n° 3949).
Cet arrêt donne une interprétation stricte de la notion de caractère onéreux et réduit l’interprétation de la notion de caractère onéreux par la juridiction administrative, pour laquelle l’absence de versement d’une somme d’argent par un abandon de recettes est considéré par le juge administratif comme présentant un caractère onéreux (CE, ass., 04/11/2005 Jean Claude DECAUX, req. n° 247298). Pourtant, la Cour de cassation a jugé, en 2004, que l’information municipale constitue un service public (Cass., 16/11/2004, Ville de Meaux c/ CIEP, n° 0210628).
Le jugement du tribunal des conflits aurait-il été rendu différemment si l’objet du contrat avait comporté également la rédaction du guide ? Cette décision a-t-elle pour conséquence implicite d’interpréter différemment les décisions prises par l’acheteur public, selon qu’il se trouve être une collectivité territoriale ou un EPIC ?
Malgré ces interrogations, cet arrêt rendu par la juridiction des conflits s’inscrit dans la mise en place en droit interne de la notion communautaire des concessions de services.

Un critère fragile

Le caractère onéreux du marché public est une notion écartelée par des approches d’interprétation jurisprudentielles nationales différentes et par l’élargissement de la notion de concessions de services  impulsées par les directives européennes. Selon le juge administratif, un contrat de mobilier urbain n’est ni une convention de délégation de service public (TA Paris, 24/04/2009, Sté CBS Outdoor,  n° 0516044/6-1), ni un marché public, mais peut constituer un simple contrat d’occupation temporaire du domaine public  (CE, 15/05/2013, Ville de Paris c/société JC Decaux, req. n° 364593).
En l’espèce, la ville de Paris avait passé une convention portant sur l’installation et l’exploitation de colonnes dites « colonnes Morris » et des mâts porte – affiches destinés à la publicité de spectacles et de manifestations culturelles, économiques, sociales et sportives.
Le Conseil d’Etat  estime que la convention ne peut être regardée comme comportant un prix payé car la société verse une redevance à la ville. En effet, si l’affectation culturelle du mobilier urbain répond effectivement à un intérêt général communal de promotion des activités culturelles, “elle ne concerne pas des activités menées par les services municipaux ni exercées pour leur compte”. N’étant pas conclue pour répondre aux besoins de la collectivité, la convention n’est pas un marché public.
Pourtant, en 2005 (CE, ass., 04/11/2005 Jean Claude DECAUX, req. n° 247298), le Conseil d’Etat avait considéré que l’objet du contrat était de répondre aux besoins de la collectivité en matière d’information des habitants et de protection des usagers des transports, et que l’avantage accordé à la société constituait la contrepartie onéreuse de la prestation. De la même façon, le contrat conclu par un hôpital avec un prestataire pour la mise à disposition des paiements d’abonnements de téléphone, de télévision et d’accès à internet ne constitue pas un marché public (CE, 07/03/2014, CHU de Rouen, req. n° 372897).

Cet éclairage jurisprudentiel positionne l’acheteur public face à  un double écueil : d’une part, la notion de marché public confrontée à des problèmes de qualification juridique, laquelle conditionne l’application de régimes juridiques particuliers (DSP, concession de travaux, domanialité publique…) avec les conséquences pénales qui s’y attachent (délit de favoritisme), d’autre part, à appréhender la définition du marché public pour être en mesure d’identifier et de distinguer un marché public de services ou de travaux d’une concession de services ou de travaux, soumises à un régime propre prévu par la directive européenne 2014/23/UE du 26 février 2014. En effet, son article 5 dispose qu’une concession est « un contrat conclu par écrit et à titre onéreux par lequel un ou plusieurs pouvoirs adjudicateurs ou entités adjudicatrices confient l’exécution de travaux ou de services à un ou plusieurs opérateurs économiques, la contrepartie consistant soit uniquement dans le droit d’exploiter les ouvrages ou les services qui font l’objet du contrat, soit dans ce droit accompagné d’un prix ».

Article rédigé par Fabrice Strady, responsable des services administratifs, commande publique et affaires juridiques de la ville de Royan – Consultant marchés publics – stradyjuris@gmail.com