La portée du caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation

The scope of the binding nature of the consultation rules

by Sébastien Palmier on 9 June 2019 | Category: Public service delegations
La portée du caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation La portée du caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation

CE 22 May 2019, Corsica Ferries Company, n ° 426763

The Council of State recalls that the candidates for the award of a concession contract must comply with the requirements imposed by the regulation of the consultation and may be exempted from this obligation only in the event that one of these requirements is obviously devoid of any utility for the examination of candidatures or offers.

Teaching # 1: Reminder binding nature of the consultation rules

The texts and the case law recall the mandatory nature of the consultation rules

With regard to the texts, Article L 3123-21 of the Order Code recalls that it is not allowed to participate, following the procedure for awarding the concession contract, the candidates who produce an incomplete application in relation to the requirements of the rules of the consultation. Article L 3124-3 of the Public Order Code also states that an irregular bid that does not comply with the requirements set out in the documents of the consultation must be rejected.

The principle according to which the regulation of the consultation of a public service concession or a public contract is mandatory in all its mentions is constantly reiterated by the jurisprudence of the Council of State (EC 23 November 2005, Société Axialogic, req. No. 267 494). This is why, the Council of State considers as irregular an application or an offer which in general does not respect the requirements of the specifications (CE 25 March 2013, Department of Herault, nr. 364824).

Teaching # 2: Reminder mandatory nature of the method of transmission of applications and offers

In its judgment of May 22, 2019, Sté Corsica Ferries, the Council of State considers that an application must be regarded as incomplete even if it would contain the parts and information whose production is obligatory, since it does not respect the requirements set out in the consultation regulations concerning the method of transmission of documents, provided that these requirements are not obviously unnecessary.

In this case, the Conseil d'Etat considers that the obligation imposed on candidates by the consultation regulation to file a digital version of the application files is not a useless formality, in particular because of its was intended to allow the analysis of applications submitted within a time-limit. Consequently, the High Administrative Court considers that it is without committing an error of law that the judge hearing the application for interim relief considered that the absence of a dematerialized version of the company's application file had the effect of rendering this application incomplete. even though a paper version with the requested documents and information had also been submitted.

In what way the failure to produce a dematerialized application file would be more useful for its assessment than that presented in paper format? The Conseil d'Etat seems to consider that time constraints analysis Can justify this utility and therefore the rejection ... ..The solution does not fail to surprise by its severity as it is difficult to understand how a dematerialized application would allow a faster analysis than an application submitted in paper format. The argument does not hold. That the mode of transmission by dematerialized way represents a certain comfort for the buyer by ensuring it a fast transmission internally of the digital version of the file of candidature of a service to another is one thing, but from there to erect in solution in principle that the transmission by electronic way is more useful than the paper-based transmission for the intrinsic analysis of the application or the offer is somewhat surprising, especially when, as in this case, the paper version of the application was complete.

Teaching # 3: Exceptions to binding nature of the consultation rules

The binding nature of the consultation rules, however, yields in three cases.

  1. The first assumption is one in which some of the requirements set by the contracting authority are themselves either illegal or likely to undermine the principle of equal access to public procurement (EC 6 November 1998, Public Assistance - Hospitals from Marseilles, at the tables p.1019).
  2. The second hypothesis is that where the irregularity committed is both formal and devoid of any significance. Thus, an offer is not irregular because of the omission to sign only one of the parts of the contract, when this omission does not modify the meaning or the validity of the bidder's commitment (CE 8 March 1996, M. Pelte, Req. No. 133198, EC Nov. 9, 2007, Isosec Company, Req. No. 288289).
  3. The third hypothesis is now that the mode of transmission of applications and offers provided for by the consultation regulations is not respected (EC 22 May 2019, Sté Corsica Ferries, n ° 426763).

CE 22 May 2019, Corsica Ferries Company, n ° 426763

 

  1. It is clear from the documents submitted to the judge hearing the application for interim relief from the Bastia Administrative Court that, by a public notice of competition published on 8 August 2018, the community of Corsica initiated a procedure for the signing of new delegation agreements. public service for the maritime transport of goods and passengers between Corsica and the continent for a period of fifteen months from 1 October 2019 to 31 December 2020. This procedure was the subject of an allotment in five lots corresponding to each of maritime connections between the port of Marseille and the ports of Ajaccio, Bastia, Porto-Vecchio, Propriano and L'Ile-Rousse. By a letter of November 13, 2018, the president of the executive council of the community of Corsica informed the company Corsica Ferries of the rejection of his candidacy, on the ground that it had been presented in paper format without being accompanied by dematerialized copies delivered by keys USB, in breach of Article 6-1 of the consultation rules. The company applied to the judge of the administrative court of Bastia, on the basis of the provisions of Article L. 551-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, for an application for the annulment of the decision rejecting his complaint. candidacy and that it be enjoined on the community of Corsica to admit it to submit an offer and to enter into a negotiation with it. The company Corsica Ferries appeals in cassation against the order of December 18, 2018 by which the judge of the summary of the administrative court of Bastia rejected his requests.
  2. On the one hand, under Article 23 of the Decree of February 1, 2016 relating to concession contracts: "I. - Before proceeding to the examination of the candidatures, the granting authority which finds that parts or information of which production was compulsory in accordance with Articles 19, 20 and 21 may require the applicants concerned to complete their application file within an appropriate period. It then informs the other candidates of the implementation of this provision. II. - Candidates who produce an incomplete application, if necessary after implementation of the provisions of I, or containing false information or documents are not eligible to participate following the procedure of signing the concession contract. / Inadmissible applications are also eliminated. An application submitted by a candidate who can not participate in the award procedure pursuant to articles 39, 40, 42 and 44 of the above-mentioned order of 29 January 2016 or who does not possess the skills or abilities required in application is inadmissible. of Article 45 of the same Ordinance ".
  3. On the other hand, the regulation of the consultation provided by a licensing authority for the award of a concession contract is mandatory in all its mentions. The licensing authority can not, therefore, award this contract to a candidate who does not meet one of the requirements imposed by this Regulation, unless this requirement is manifestly devoid of any utility for the examination of applications or offers. An application must be regarded as incomplete, within the meaning of Article 23 of the Decree of 1 February 2016, even if it contains the documents and information the production of which is mandatory pursuant to Articles 19, 20 and 21 of this Decree, as soon as possible. when it does not comply with the requirements laid down in the consultation rules concerning the method of transmission of these documents, provided that these requirements are not obviously unnecessary.

  4. First, it is clear from the wording of the order under appeal that, in order to reject Corsica Ferries' application, the judge hearing the applications for interim relief from the Bastia Administrative Court found, by a sovereign assessment devoid of denaturing, that the obligation imposed the applicants by Article 6-1 of the consultation regulation to file a digital version of the application files was not a useless formality, in particular because of its purpose to allow the analysis of applications submitted within a time limit. As was stated in the preceding paragraph, the candidates for the award of a concession contract must comply with the requirements imposed by the consultation rules and can not be exempted from this obligation unless the applicant one of these requirements would clearly be of no use in the examination of applications or offers. Consequently, it is without erring in law that the judge hearing the application for interim relief considered that the absence of a digitized version of Corsica Ferries' application file had the effect of making that application incomplete within the meaning of the Article 23 of the aforementioned Decree of February 1, 2016, even though a paper version with the requested documents and information had also been filed.

  5. Secondly, under Article L. 1411-5 I of the General Code of Territorial Collectivities: "A commission opens the envelopes containing the candidatures or the offers and draws up the list of the candidates admitted to present an offer after examination of their professional and financial guarantees, their respect for the obligation of employment of disabled workers provided for in Articles L. 5212-1 to L. 5212-4 of the Labor Code and their ability to ensure the continuity of the public service and the equality of users in front of the public service (...). "
  6. It follows from the statements in the order under appeal that the public service delegation commission wrongly believed, when Corsica Ferries' application was opened, that it contained an external hard disk, and that it secondly, the project management assistance service realized that it was only an empty CD-ROM drive. Having found that the file was indeed incomplete as soon as the application files were opened, the judge hearing the application for interim relief from the Bastia administrative court did not err in law by pointing out that, in those circumstances, he was the commission of delegation of public service, taking into account the competences it holds of the article L. 1411-5 of the general code of the territorial authorities, to reject as incomplete the candidacy of the company Corsica Ferries.
  7. Lastly, the fact that the public service delegation commission was composed at its meeting of only members or alternates from the majority does not in itself imply that that composition was irregular. In rejecting the plea alleging irregularity in the composition of the Commission, which was based solely on that circumstance alone, the judge hearing the application for interim relief from the Tribunal administratif de Bastia, who moreover noted that the two substitute members who had sat on the the public service delegation commission had indeed replaced the two absent regular members of which they were the alternates, did not taint its order of mistake of law.
  8. It follows from the foregoing that Corsica Ferries is not justified in seeking the annulment of the order under appeal, which is sufficiently reasoned. The provisions of Article L. 761-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, therefore, preclude the award of its claims for costs incurred by it and not included in the costs. On the other hand, under the same provisions, it is necessary to pay the sum of 4,000 euros to the community of Corsica.

 

DECIDE:
Article 1: The appeal of Corsica Ferries is rejected.
Article 2: The company Corsica Ferries will pay to the community of Corsica a sum of 4,000 euros under article L. 761-1 code administrative justice.
Article 3: This decision will be notified to the company Corsica Ferries and the community of Corsica.

La portée du caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation

La portée du caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation

par Sébastien Palmier le 9 juin 2019 | Catégorie : Délégations de service public
La portée du caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation  La portée du caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation

CE 22 mai 2019, Sté Corsica Ferries, req.n°426763

Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle que les candidats à l’attribution d’un contrat de concession doivent respecter les exigences imposées par le règlement de la consultation et ne peuvent être exonérés de cette obligation que dans l’hypothèse où l’une de ces exigences est manifestement dépourvue de toute utilité pour l’examen des candidatures ou des offres.

Enseignement n°1 : Rappel du caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation

Les textes et la jurisprudence rappellent le caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation

S’agissant des textes, l’article L 3123-21 du Code de la commande rappelle que ne sont pas admis à participer à la suite de la procédure de passation du contrat de concession les candidats qui produisent une candidature incomplète par rapport aux exigences du règlement de la consultation. L’article L 3124-3 du Code de la commande publique indique également qu’une offre irrégulière qui ne respecte pas les exigences formulées dans les documents de la consultation doit être écartée.

Le principe selon lequel le règlement de la consultation d’une concession de service public ou d’un marché public est obligatoire dans toutes ses mentions est constamment réitéré par la jurisprudence du Conseil d’Etat (CE 23 novembre 2005, Société Axialogic, req.n°267494). C’est la raison pour laquelle, le Conseil d’Etat considère comme irrégulière une candidature ou une offre qui de manière générale ne respecte pas les exigences des cahiers des charges (CE 25 mars 2013, Département de l’Hérault, req.n°364824).

Enseignement n°2 : Rappel du caractère obligatoire du mode de transmission des candidatures et des offres

Dans son arrêt du 22 mai 2019, Sté Corsica Ferries, le Conseil d’Etat considère qu’une candidature doit être regardée comme incomplète quand bien même elle contiendrait les pièces et informations dont la production est obligatoire, dès lors qu’elle ne respecte pas les exigences fixées par le règlement de la consultation relatives au mode de transmission des documents, sous réserve que ces exigences ne soient pas manifestement inutiles.

Dans cette affaire, le Conseil d’Etat estime que l’obligation imposée aux candidats par le règlement de la consultation de déposer une version sur support numérique des dossiers de candidature n’est pas une formalité inutile, en raison notamment de ce qu’elle avait pour objet de permettre l’analyse des candidatures déposées dans des délais contraints. Par suite, la Haute Juridiction administrative considère que c’est sans commettre d’erreur de droit que le juge des référés a estimé que l’absence de version sous format dématérialisé du dossier de candidature de la société avait pour effet de rendre cette candidature incomplète alors même qu’une version sous format papier comportant les pièces et informations demandées avait été également déposée.

En quoi le défaut de production d’un dossier de candidature sous format dématérialisé serait plus utile pour son appréciation que celui présenté sous format papier ? Le Conseil d’Etat semble considérer que « des délais contraints d’analyse » peuvent justifier cette utilité et partant le rejet…..La solution ne manque pas de surprendre par sa sévérité tant on a du mal à comprendre en quoi une candidature sous format dématérialisée permettrait une analyse plus rapide qu’une candidature présentée sous format papier. L’argument ne tient pas. Que le mode de transmission par voie dématérialisé représente un certain confort pour l’acheteur en lui assurant une transmission rapide en interne de la version numérique du dossier de candidature d’un service à un autre est une chose, mais en de là à ériger en solution de principe que la transmission par voie dématérialisée est plus utile que la transmission par voie papier pour l’analyse intrinsèque de la candidature ou de l’offre surprend quelque peu, notamment lorsque, comme en l’espèce, la version papier du dossier de candidature était complète.

Enseignement n°3 :  Les exceptions au caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation

Le caractère obligatoire du règlement de la consultation cède toutefois dans trois hypothèses.

  1. La première hypothèse est celle dans laquelle certaines des exigences fixées par le pouvoir adjudicateur sont elles-mêmes soit illégales, soit de nature à faire échec au principe d’égalité d’accès à la commande publique (CE 6 novembre 1998, Assistance Publique – Hôpitaux de Marseille, aux tables p. 1019).
  2. La seconde hypothèse est celle où l’irrégularité commise est à la fois formelle et dénuée de toute portée. Ainsi, une offre n’est pas irrégulière en raison de l’omission de signer une seule des pièces du marché, lorsque cette omission ne modifie ni le sens, ni la validité de l’engagement du soumissionnaire (CE 8 mars 1996, M. Pelte, req.n°133198, CE 9 novembre 2007, Société Isosec, req.n°288289).
  3. La troisième hypothèse est désormais celle où le mode de transmission des candidatures et des offres prévu par le règlement de la consultation n’est pas respecté (CE 22 mai 2019, Sté Corsica Ferries, req.n°426763).

CE 22 mai 2019, Sté Corsica Ferries, req.n°426763

 

  1. Il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis au juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Bastia que, par un avis d’appel public à la concurrence publié le 8 août 2018, la collectivité de Corse a lancé une procédure pour la passation de nouvelles conventions de délégation de service public de transport maritime de marchandises et de passagers entre la Corse et le continent pour une durée de quinze mois du 1er octobre 2019 au 31 décembre 2020. Cette procédure a fait l’objet d’un allotissement en cinq lots correspondant à chacune des liaisons maritimes entre le port de Marseille et les ports d’Ajaccio, de Bastia, de Porto-Vecchio, de Propriano et de L’Ile-Rousse. Par un courrier du 13 novembre 2018, le président du conseil exécutif de la collectivité de Corse a informé la société Corsica Ferries du rejet de sa candidature, au motif qu’elle avait été présentée au format papier sans être accompagnée de copies dématérialisées remises par clés USB, en méconnaissance de l’article 6-1 du règlement de la consultation. Cette société a saisi le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Bastia, sur le fondement des dispositions de l’article L. 551-1 du code de justice administrative, d’une demande tendant à l’annulation de la décision de rejet de sa candidature et à ce qu’il soit enjoint à la collectivité de Corse de l’admettre à déposer une offre et d’engager une négociation avec elle. La société Corsica Ferries se pourvoit en cassation contre l’ordonnance du 18 décembre 2018 par laquelle le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Bastia a rejeté ses demandes.
  2. D’une part, aux termes de l’article 23 du décret du 1er février 2016 relatif aux contrats de concession : “ I. – Avant de procéder à l’examen des candidatures, l’autorité concédante qui constate que des pièces ou informations dont la production était obligatoire conformément aux articles 19, 20 et 21 peuvent demander aux candidats concernés de compléter leur dossier de candidature dans un délai approprié. Elle informe alors les autres candidats de la mise en oeuvre de la présente disposition. II. – Les candidats qui produisent une candidature incomplète, le cas échéant après mise en oeuvre des dispositions du I, ou contenant de faux renseignements ou documents ne sont pas admis à participer à la suite de la procédure de passation du contrat de concession. / Les candidatures irrecevables sont également éliminées. Est irrecevable la candidature présentée par un candidat qui ne peut participer à la procédure de passation en application des articles 39, 40, 42 et 44 de l’ordonnance du 29 janvier 2016 susvisée ou qui ne possède pas les capacités ou les aptitudes exigées en application de l’article 45 de la même ordonnance “.
  3. D’autre part, le règlement de la consultation prévu par une autorité concédante pour la passation d’un contrat de concession est obligatoire dans toutes ses mentions. L’autorité concédante ne peut, dès lors, attribuer ce contrat à un candidat qui ne respecte pas une des exigences imposées par ce règlement, sauf si cette exigence se révèle manifestement dépourvue de toute utilité pour l’examen des candidatures ou des offres. Une candidature doit être regardée comme incomplète, au sens de l’article 23 du décret du 1er février 2016, quand bien même elle contiendrait les pièces et informations dont la production est obligatoire en application des articles 19, 20 et 21 de ce décret, dès lors qu’elle ne respecte pas les exigences fixées par le règlement de la consultation relatives au mode de transmission de ces documents, sous réserve que ces exigences ne soient pas manifestement inutiles.

  4. En premier lieu, il ressort des énonciations de l’ordonnance attaquée que, pour rejeter la demande de la société Corsica Ferries, le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Bastia a estimé, par une appréciation souveraine exempte de dénaturation, que l’obligation imposée aux candidats par l’article 6-1 du règlement de la consultation de déposer une version sur support numérique des dossiers de candidature n’était pas une formalité inutile, en raison notamment de ce qu’elle avait pour objet de permettre l’analyse des candidatures déposées dans des délais contraints. Ainsi qu’il a été dit au point précédent, les candidats à l’attribution d’un contrat de concession doivent respecter les exigences imposées par le règlement de la consultation et ne peuvent être exonérés de cette obligation que dans l’hypothèse où l’une de ces exigences serait manifestement dépourvue de toute utilité pour l’examen des candidatures ou des offres. Par suite, c’est sans commettre d’erreur de droit que le juge des référés a estimé que l’absence de version sous format dématérialisé du dossier de candidature de la société Corsica Ferries avait pour effet de rendre cette candidature incomplète au sens de l’article 23 du décret du 1er février 2016 précité, alors même qu’une version sous format papier comportant les pièces et informations demandées avait été également déposée.

  5. En deuxième lieu, aux termes du I de l’article L. 1411-5 du code général des collectivités territoriales : “ Une commission ouvre les plis contenant les candidatures ou les offres et dresse la liste des candidats admis à présenter une offre après examen de leurs garanties professionnelles et financières, de leur respect de l’obligation d’emploi des travailleurs handicapés prévue aux articles L. 5212-1 à L. 5212-4 du code du travail et de leur aptitude à assurer la continuité du service public et l’égalité des usagers devant le service public (…). “
  6. Il résulte des énonciations de l’ordonnance attaquée que la commission de délégation de service public a cru à tort, lors de l’ouverture du dossier de candidature de la société Corsica Ferries, que celui-ci contenait un disque dur externe, et que ce n’est que dans un second temps que le service d’assistance à maîtrise d’ouvrage s’est aperçu qu’il ne s’agissait que d’un lecteur de CD-Rom vide. Après avoir souverainement estimé que le dossier était effectivement incomplet dès l’ouverture des dossiers de candidature, le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Bastia n’a pas commis d’erreur de droit en relevant qu’il appartenait, dans ces conditions, à la commission de délégation de service public, compte tenu des compétences qu’elle tient de l’article L. 1411-5 du code général des collectivités territoriales, de rejeter comme incomplète la candidature de la société Corsica Ferries.
  7. En dernier lieu, la circonstance que la commission de délégation de service public n’ait été composée, lors de sa réunion, que de membres titulaires ou suppléants issus de la majorité n’implique pas, par elle-même, que cette composition ait été irrégulière. En écartant le moyen tiré de l’irrégularité de la composition de la commission, qui ne reposait que sur cette seule circonstance, le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de Bastia, qui a au demeurant relevé que les deux membres suppléants ayant siégé au sein de la commission de délégation de service public avaient bien remplacé les deux membres titulaires absents dont ils étaient les suppléants, n’a pas entaché son ordonnance d’erreur de droit.
  8. Il résulte de ce qui précède que la société Corsica Ferries n’est pas fondée à demander l’annulation de l’ordonnance attaquée, qui est suffisamment motivée. Les dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative font, par suite, obstacle à ce qu’il soit fait droit à ses conclusions présentées au titre des frais exposés par elle et non compris dans les dépens. Il y a lieu, en revanche, au titre des mêmes dispositions, de mettre à sa charge le versement d’une somme de 4 000 euros à la collectivité de Corse.

 

D E C I D E :
Article 1er : Le pourvoi de la société Corsica Ferries est rejeté.
Article 2 : La société Corsica Ferries versera à la collectivité de Corse une somme de 4 000 euros au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.
Article 3 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la société Corsica Ferries et à la collectivité de Corse.