Quand un juge des référés précontractuels se prend pour un législateur et remet en cause le droit à un recours juridictionnel

When a judge of pre-contractual interim measures considers himself a legislator and questions the right to a judicial remedy

by gmorales on 19 October 2016 | Category: Pre-contractual & Contractual referral
Quand un juge des référés précontractuels se prend pour un législateur et remet en cause le droit à un recours juridictionnel Quand un juge des référés précontractuels se prend pour un législateur et remet en cause le droit à un recours juridictionnel

TA Meeting, 19 October 2016, Reunionese Office Automation Company (SBR), n ° 1601022

The University Hospital of La Réunion had launched a competitive dialogue procedure for a market to which the SBR company applied. She was dismissed at the candidacy stage and brought a pre-contract injunction five months later. The opportunity for the judge of the Administrative Tribunal of the Meeting to apply and adapt the recent principle reached by the Council of State of the reasonable period of recourse to pre-contractual summary proceedings in somewhat criticizable conditions ...

Rule n ° 1: The principle of a reasonable time limit for appeal is applicable to summary proceedings

In matters of pre-contractual summary proceedings, article L.551-1 of the CJA provides that "the judge is seized before the conclusion of the contract". In the present case, the ousted company formed a pre-contractual summary procedure after the final phase of selection of offers, when the contract was not yet signed, but on the point of being signed. The above-mentioned condition was therefore fulfilled. However, taking up the recital in principle set out by the Council of State in its important and recent judgment of July 13, 2016, MA v / Minister of the Economy and Finance, No. 387763, according to which the principle of legal certainty is an obstacle that a decision notified or of which it is established that the addressee has knowledge of it can be contested indefinitely, the judge in summary proceedings here retains that this principle "applicable to general litigation, cannot be regarded as incompatible with the procedures of summary procedure" . In doing so, the Administrative Court of Reunion extends the scope of the principle of reasonable time for appeal. It will be recalled that, in the abovementioned judgment of the Council of State, the contested individual decision had been the subject of a notification which did not include all the information relating to the means and time limit for appeal and that the addressee had introduced recourse against him 22 years later. The Council of State, noting that the two-month appeal period was not opposable to the applicant because the information relating to the channels and appeal deadlines was incomplete, considered however that the principle of legal certainty did not allow a such a decision could be challenged indefinitely and set out the principle of a reasonable time to appeal to dismiss the complaint as out of time. In the present case, it was not a question of knowing whether all the information relating to the means and time limits of appeal had been brought to the attention of the company SBR and the Administrative Court of Reunion applied the principle of the reasonable period of appeal for judge the late pre-contractual summary, even when the contract had not been concluded.

Rule n ° 2: For pre-contractual summary proceedings, the reasonable time limit for appeal is three months, except in special circumstances

The judge of the summary procedure also adapts the general principle released by the Council of State to the specificities of the procedures of pre-contractual summary procedure. Indeed, the Council of State had stated that "as a general rule and except in special circumstances which the applicant would claim, this period of [reasonable appeal] cannot, subject to the exercise of administrative appeals for which the texts provide particular deadlines, to exceed one year from the date on which an express decision was notified to him or the date on which it is established that he became aware of it ”. The President of the Court, for his part, held that, as regards the proceedings for interim measures, "the concept of reasonable time must, however, give rise to a specific definition, such as to meet the urgent considerations inherent in the office of the summary judge ". As regards the pre-contractual summary procedure, he therefore considers that "subject to special circumstances of which the ousted competitor would rely, the reasonable time for referral to the judge may not exceed three months from the date on which he became fully aware of the eviction decision. ".

Rule n ° 3: Failure to comply with the principle of reasonable time to appeal is a means of public policy

Finally, it will be noted that this plea relating to breach of the principle of a reasonable time for bringing an action was not invoked by the CHU, but was raised ex officio by the judge in summary proceedings. It is therefore a means of public order.

Such a solution is open to criticism in several respects. First of all, it is open to criticism with regard to the legislative provisions of article L.551-1 of the CJA which govern the pre-contractual summary procedure and which are supposed to “guarantee” the right to introduce a pre-contractual summary procedure as long as the market 'is not signed ... The judge in charge of this case thought for a moment that he could set himself up as a legislator and change the legislative provisions which appear in the Code of Administrative Justice in the name of a general principle, the magistrate in charge of the file has he seems misunderstood the meaning and scope.

Such a solution is serious for the rights of litigants: how can we allow arbitrary and completely subjective limits to be placed on the right for everyone to take legal action when this right results from the law? Since when can the administrative judge free himself from the clear provisions of a law which guarantees the right to an effective judicial remedy as long as the contract is not signed? One can only be particularly shocked by this movement in case law which no longer builds administrative justice guaranteeing rights but administrative justice "ultra protective" of the interests of the administration in conditions that begin to border on absurdity as it becomes excessive .

Quand un juge des référés précontractuels se prend pour un législateur et remet en cause le droit à un recours juridictionnel

Quand un juge des référés précontractuels se prend pour un législateur et remet en cause le droit à un recours juridictionnel

par gmorales le 19 octobre 2016 | Catégorie : Référé pré-contractuel & Contractuel
Quand un juge des référés précontractuels se prend pour un législateur et remet en cause le droit à un recours juridictionnel  Quand un juge des référés précontractuels se prend pour un législateur et remet en cause le droit à un recours juridictionnel

TA Réunion, 19 octobre 2016, Société réunionnaise de bureautique (SBR), n°1601022

Le CHU de la Réunion avait lancé une procédure de dialogue compétitif pour un marché auquel la société SBR candidaté. Celle-ci a été évincée au stade de la candidature et a introduit un référé précontractuel cinq mois après. L’occasion pour le juge des référés du Tribunal administratif de la Réunion d’appliquer et d’adapter le récent principe dégagé par le Conseil d’Etat du délai de recours raisonnable aux procédures de référé précontractuel dans des conditions quelques peu criticables…

Règle n°1 : Le principe de délai de recours raisonnable est applicable aux procédures de référé

En matière de référé précontractuel, l’article L.551-1 du CJA prévoit que « le juge est saisi avant la conclusion du contrat ». En l’espèce, la société évincée a formé un référé précontractuel après la phase finale de sélection des offres, alors que le marché n’était pas encore signé, mais sur le point de l’être. La condition susrappelée était donc remplie. Toutefois, reprenant le considérant de principe énoncé par le Conseil d’Etat dans son important et récent arrêt du 13 juillet 2016, M. A. c/ Ministre de l’Economie et des Finances, n°387763, selon lequel le principe de sécurité juridique fait obstacle à ce que puisse être contestée indéfiniment une décision notifiée ou dont il est établi que le destinataire en a eu connaissance, le juge des référés retient ici que ce principe « applicable au contentieux général, ne saurait être regardé comme incompatible avec les procédures de référé ». Ce faisant, le Tribunal administratif de la Réunion étend le champ d’application du principe de délai de recours raisonnable. On rappellera en effet que, dans l’arrêt précité du Conseil d’Etat, la décision individuelle contestée avait fait l’objet d’une notification qui ne comportait pas toutes les mentions relatives aux voies et délai de recours et que le destinataire avait introduit un recours à son encontre 22 ans après. Le Conseil d’Etat, relevant que le délai de recours de deux mois n’était pas opposable au requérant car les informations relatives aux voies et délais de recours étaient incomplètes, a estimé cependant que le principe de sécurité juridique ne permettait pas qu’une telle décision puisse être contestée indéfiniment et a dégagé le principe de délai de recours raisonnable pour rejeter la requête comme tardive. En l’espèce, il n’était pas question de savoir si toutes les informations relatives aux voies et délais de recours avaient été portées à la connaissance de la société SBR et le Tribunal administratif de la Réunion applique le principe du délai de recours raisonnable pour juger le référé précontractuel tardif, alors même que le marché n’avait pas été conclu.

Règle n°2 : Pour les procédures de référé précontractuel, le délai de recours raisonnable est de trois mois, sauf circonstances particulières

Le juge du référé adapte également le principe général dégagé par le Conseil d’Etat aux spécificités des procédures de référé précontractuel. En effet, le Conseil d’Etat avait énoncé « qu’en règle générale et sauf circonstances particulières dont se prévaudrait le requérant, ce délai [de recours raisonnable] ne saurait, sous réserve de l’exercice de recours administratifs pour lesquels les textes prévoient des délais particuliers, excéder un an à compter de la date à laquelle une décision expresse lui a été notifiée ou de la date à laquelle il est établi qu’il en a eu connaissance ». Le juge du référé retient, quant à lui, qu’en ce qui concerne les procédures de référé, « la notion de délai raisonnable doit cependant donner lieu à une définition particulière, de nature à répondre aux considérations d’urgence inhérentes à l’office du juge des référés ». En ce qui concerne le référé précontractuel, il estime donc que « sous réserve de circonstances particulières dont se prévaudrait le concurrent évincé, le délai raisonnable de saisine du juge ne saurait excéder trois mois à compter de la date à laquelle il a eu pleinement connaissance de la décision d’éviction. ».

Règle n°3 : La méconnaissance du principe de délai de recours raisonnable est un moyen d’ordre public

Enfin, on relèvera que ce moyen relatif à la méconnaissance du principe de délai de recours raisonnable n’a pas été invoqué par le CHU, mais a été soulevé d’office par le juge des référés. Il s’agit donc d’un moyen d’ordre public.

Une telle solution est critiquable à plusieurs égards. Elle est tout d’abord critiquable au regard des dispositions d’ordres législatives de l’article L.551-1 du CJA qui régissent le référé précontractuel et qui sont censées « garantir » le droit à introduire un référé précontractuel tant que le marché n’est pas signé… Le juge du référé chargé de cette affaire a cru un instant qu’il pouvait s’ériger en législateur et changer les dispositions de nature législatives qui figurent dans le code de justice administrative au nom d’un principe général dont le magistrat chargé du dossier a semble t-il mal compris le sens et la portée..

Une telle solution est grave pour les droits des justiciables : comment admettre de poser des limites arbitraires et totalement subjectives sur le droit pour tout individu de saisir la justice lorsque ce droit résulte de la loi ? Depuis quand le juge administratif peut-il s’affranchir des dispositions claires d’une loi qui garantit le droit à un recours juridictionnel efficace tant que le contrat n’est pas signé ? On ne peut qu’être particulièrement choqué par ce mouvement jurisprudentiel qui construit non plus une justice administrative garante des droits mais une justice administrative « ultra protectrice » des intérêts de l’administration dans des conditions qui commencent à friser l’absurdité tant elle devient excessive.