Délégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières…

Public service delegation or occupancy agreement? The Council of State recalls the borders ...

by gmorales on 20 January 2017 | Category: Public service delegations
Délégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières… Délégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières…

CE 9 December 2016, Municipality of Fontvieille, n ° 396352

The commuDélégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières… ne de Fontvieille had concluded an agreement entrusting the tourist exploitation of two sites to Mrs. B ..., which was remunerated on the entry fees received from the public and the sale of souvenirs, postcards and books, in return for a monthly fee . Mrs. B ... having had to face financial difficulties, she could not meet certain deadlines.

The town of Fontvieille then sent several executory titles, whose cancellation was requested by Ms. B ... It claimed that the contract binding it to the town was a public service delegation and that the fee was illegal because the convention did not justify the amount and calculation, in breach of Article L.1411-2 of the General Code of Territorial Communities. The Administrative Court of Appeal of Marseilles has accepted its request, but the Council of State censures its judgment, while recalling the criteria of qualification of a delegation of public service.

Rule n ° 1: No public service constraints, no public service delegation

The contract entrusted Mrs. B ... with a mission to operate a site seven days a week and eleven months of the year, the other site to be open only during the school holidays. In addition, Article 1 of the agreement specified that it "is entered into as precarious and revocable" and Article 8 that it "does not constitute a right to commercial lease or a fund of commerce in that it is granted on a public property and in the field of communal cultural public service ".

The Marseilles Administrative Court of Appeal concluded that the essential purpose of the contract was to involve Ms B. ... in the execution of the cultural public service because of the historical and literary dimension of the premises and that he only took with him incidentally occupation of the public domain. For this first reason, the Court characterized the contract as a public service delegation.

The Council of State censures this reasoning. It points out that the municipality has limited itself to set the opening days and to require Ms. B ... to respect the historical and cultural sites, but has not exercised control over the amount of rights of entry, neither on the selling prices of the products sold on the sites, nor on the opening hours of the sites and did not prescribe to the buyer any obligation relating, in particular, to the organization of guided visits or activities cultural activities or the reception of particular audiences. Consequently, the Conseil d'Etat considers that the lack of involvement of the municipality in the organization of tourist exploitation of the premises does not allow to consider that the purpose of the agreement was to directly involve Ms. B ... execution of the cultural public service. It therefore censures, for this first reason, the qualification of public service delegation given by the Court to the Convention.

Rule n ° 2: The possibility for the contracting partner of the administration to revoke the agreement in a very short time is incompatible with a delegation of public service

In addition, the Council of State notes that the agreement at issue conferred on Ms. B ... the possibility of revoking it at any time, the notice period provided being very short. This other point, which had not been raised in the judgment of the Marseille Administrative Court of Appeal, led the Conseil d'Etat to consider that the agreement in question could not be described as a public service delegation. Consequently, it annuls the judgment of the Administrative Court of Marseilles because of an error of legal qualification.


Board of state 

N ° 396352    
ECLI: FR: CECHR: 2016: 396352.20161209
Unpublished at Lebon collection

7th - 2nd rooms together
François Lelièvre, rapporteur
Mr Gilles Pellissier, public rapporteur
SCP WAQUET, FARGE, HAZAN; SCP LYON-CAEN, THIRIEZ, lawyers

Reading of Friday, December 9, 2016

FRENCH REPUBLIC

IN THE NAME OF THE FRENCH PEOPLE

Considering the following procedure:

Mrs A ... B ... asked the Marseille Administrative Court to annul six enforceable titles issued against her by the municipality of Fontvieille pursuant to an agreement she had entered into with it on 1 February 2010 and to discharge it from the obligation to pay the corresponding sums. By a judgment n ° 1105215 of March 18, 2013, the administrative court of Marseille rejected this request.

By a judgment n ° 13MA02242 of February 13th, 2015, the administrative court of appeal of Marseilles has, on call of MmeB ..., canceled this judgment and the executory titles emitted by the commune of Fontvieille.

In a judgment n ° 15MA01558 of November 23, 2015, the Administrative Court of Appeal of Marseille rejected the opposition filed against the judgment of February 13, 2015 by the municipality of Fontvieille.

By a summary appeal, a supplementary memorial and a reply, registered on 25 January, 25 April and 3 November 2016 at the litigation secretariat of the Conseil d'Etat, the municipality of Fontvieille asks the Conseil d'Etat:

  1. to annul the judgment n ° 15MA01558 of 23 November 2015 of the Administrative Court of Appeal of Marseille;
  2. settling the case on the merits, upholding his opposition;
  3. to charge Ms. B ... the sum of 5,000 euros under Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice.

Considering the other parts of the file;

Viewed:

  • the general code of local authorities
  • the general code of ownership of public persons;
  • the code of administrative justice;

After hearing in open session:

- the report of Mr François Lelièvre, master of petitions,
- the conclusions of Mr Gilles Pellissier, public rapporteur.

The word having been given, before and after the conclusions, to the SCP Lyon-Caen, Thiriez, lawyer of the commune of Fontvieille, and to the SCP Waquet, Farge, Hazan, lawyer of MsB ....

1. Considering that under the first paragraph of Article L. 1411-1 of the General Code of Local Authorities, in its then applicable version:

"A public service delegation is a contract by which a legal person governed by public law entrusts the management of a public service for which it is responsible to a public or private delegate, the remuneration of which is substantially related to the results of the operation of the service. . The delegatee may be responsible for constructing works or acquiring goods necessary for the service ";

2. Considering that it appears from the documents in the file submitted to the judges of the substance that, by an agreement of 1 February 2010, concluded, by virtue of Article 1, "precarious and revocable", the town of Fontvieille entrusted to Mrs. B ... "tourist exploitation" sites "Moulin de Daudet" and "Château de Montauban" for the period from 1 February to 31 December 2010, the contract may be extended by express decision "for the year 2011" ; that under the terms of article 3, Mrs. B ... ensures the opening to the public of the "Mill of Daudet 7 days on 7 and the Castle of Montauban for at least duration of the school holidays"; that under Article 4, in return for the payment of a fee of 7,500 euros monthly, Ms. B ... is paid by the entrance fees received from the public and the sale of souvenirs, postcards, books , whose prices it freely fixes; that Article 5 stipulates that the products sold on the sites can not be food or of "degrading or anachronistic nature for the image and the quality of the places"; and that under Article 8: "the agreement is terminable at any time by the taker under 3 months notice";

3. Considering that in view of the lack of involvement in the organization of the tourist exploitation of the sites in question of the municipality, which, as it appears from the documents of the file submitted to the court, was limited to fix the opening days and to require the interested party to respect the historical and cultural character of the sites for which it was to operate but did not exercise control over the amount of the entrance fees, or the selling prices of the products sold on the sites, nor on the opening hours of the sites and did not prescribe to the buyer any obligation relating, in particular, to the organization of guided tours or cultural activities or to the reception of particular audiences, that, in addition to the faculty given to the applicant to revoke the agreement at any time and to the brevity of the applicable notice, the Marseilles Administrative Court of Appeal tainted its judgment of one error of legal qualification in judging that the purpose of this contract was to directly involve Mrs. B ... in the execution of the cultural public service because of the historical and literary dimension of the premises and constituted a public service delegation; that it follows from this that the municipality of Fontvieille is founded, without it being necessary to examine the other means of its appeal, to request the cancellation of the judgment it attacks;

4. Considering that the provisions of Article L. 761-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice preclude the fact that the municipality of Fontvieille, who is not the losing party, is charged with the payment of the sums As such, asks Ms B ...; that on the other hand, it is necessary, in the circumstances of the case, to put at the charge of Mrs. B ... the payment of a sum of 1 500 euros with the commune of Fontvieille under the same provisions;

DECIDE:
--------------
Article 1: The judgment of 23 November 2015 of the Administrative Court of Appeal of Marseille is annulled.
Article 2: The case is referred to the Administrative Court of Appeal of Marseille.
Article 3: Mrs. B ... will pay the sum of 1 500 euros to the town of Fontvieille under the provisions of Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice. The submissions made by Ms B ... are rejected.
Article 4: This decision will be notified to the municipality of Fontvieille and Mrs. A ... B ....

Délégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières…

Délégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières…

par gmorales le 20 janvier 2017 | Catégorie : Délégations de service public
Délégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières…  Délégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières…

CE 9 décembre 2016, Commune de Fontvieille, n°396352

La commuDélégation de service public ou convention d’occupation ? Le Conseil d’Etat rappelle les frontières…  ne de Fontvieille avait conclu une convention confiant l’exploitation touristique de deux sites à Mme B…, qui se rémunérait sur les droits d’entrée perçus du public et la vente de souvenirs, cartes postales et livres, en contrepartie d’une redevance mensuelle. Mme B…  ayant dû faire face à des difficultés financières, elle n’a pu honorer certaines échéances.

La commune de Fontvieille lui a alors adressé plusieurs titres exécutoires, dont l’annulation a été demandée par Mme B… Celle-ci prétendait que le contrat la liant à la commune était une délégation de service public et que la redevance était illégale car la convention n’en justifiait pas le montant et le calcul, en méconnaissance de l’article L.1411-2 du Code général des collectivités territoriales. La Cour administrative d’appel de Marseille a accueilli sa demande, mais le Conseil d’Etat censure son arrêt, en venant rappeler les critères de qualification d’une délégation de service public.

Règle n°1 : Pas de contraintes de service public, pas de délégation de service public

Le contrat confiait à Mme B… pour mission d’exploiter un site à raison de sept jours sur sept et onze mois de l’année, l’autre site devant être ouvert seulement pendant les vacances scolaires. Par ailleurs, l’article 1er de la convention précisait que celle-ci ” est conclue à titre précaire et révocable ” et l’article 8 qu’elle ” n’est constitutive ni d’un droit au bail commercial ni d’un fonds de commerce en ce qu’elle est consentie sur un patrimoine public et dans le champ du service public culturel communal “.

La Cour administrative d’appel de Marseille en a conclu que le contrat avait pour objet essentiel de faire participer Mme B… à l’exécution du service public culturel en raison de la dimension historique et littéraire des lieux et qu’il emportait seulement de manière accessoire occupation du domaine public. Pour cette première raison, la Cour a qualifié le contrat de délégation de service public.

Le Conseil d’Etat censure ce raisonnement. Il relève en effet que la commune s’est juste bornée à fixer les jours d’ouverture et à imposer à Mme B… de respecter le caractère historique et culturel des sites, mais n’a exercé de contrôle ni sur le montant des droits d’entrée, ni sur les prix de vente des produits vendus sur les sites, ni sur les horaires d’ouverture des sites et n’a prescrit à la preneuse aucune obligation relative, notamment, à l’organisation de visites guidées ou d’activités culturelles ou à l’accueil de publics particuliers. En conséquence, le Conseil d’Etat considère que l’absence d’implication de la commune dans l’organisation de l’exploitation touristique des lieux ne permet pas de considérer que la convention avait pour objet de faire participer directement Mme B… à l’exécution du service public culturel. Il censure donc, pour cette première raison, la qualification de délégation de service public donnée par la Cour à la convention.

Règle n°2 : La possibilité pour le cocontractant de l’administration de révoquer la convention dans des délais très courts est incompatible avec une délégation de service public

Par ailleurs, le Conseil d’Etat relève que la convention litigieuse conférait à Mme B… la possibilité de la révoquer à tout moment, le délai de préavis prévu étant très court. Cet autre point, qui n’avait pas été soulevé dans l’arrêt de la Cour administrative d’appel de Marseille, conduit le Conseil d’Etat à considérer que la convention en cause ne pouvait être qualifiée de délégation de service public. En conséquence, il annule l’arrêt de la Cour administrative de Marseille en raison d’une erreur de qualification juridique.


Conseil d’État 

N° 396352    
ECLI:FR:CECHR:2016:396352.20161209
Inédit au recueil Lebon

7ème – 2ème chambres réunies
François Lelièvre, rapporteur
M. Gilles Pellissier, rapporteur public
SCP WAQUET, FARGE, HAZAN ; SCP LYON-CAEN, THIRIEZ, avocats

lecture du vendredi 9 décembre 2016

REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE

AU NOM DU PEUPLE FRANCAIS

Vu la procédure suivante :

Mme A…B…a demandé au tribunal administratif de Marseille d’annuler six titres exécutoires émis à son encontre par la commune de Fontvieille en application d’une convention qu’elle avait conclue avec celle-ci le 1er février 2010 et de la décharger de l’obligation de payer les sommes correspondantes. Par un jugement n° 1105215 du 18 mars 2013, le tribunal administratif de Marseille a rejeté cette demande.

Par un arrêt n° 13MA02242 du 13 février 2015, la cour administrative d’appel de Marseille a, sur appel de MmeB…, annulé ce jugement et les titres exécutoires émis par la commune de Fontvieille.

Par un arrêt n° 15MA01558 du 23 novembre 2015, la cour administrative d’appel de Marseille a rejeté l’opposition formée à l’encontre de l’arrêt du 13 février 2015 par la commune de Fontvieille.

Par un pourvoi sommaire, un mémoire complémentaire et un mémoire en réplique, enregistrés les 25 janvier, 25 avril et 3 novembre 2016 au secrétariat du contentieux du Conseil d’Etat, la commune de Fontvieille demande au Conseil d’Etat :

  1. d’annuler l’arrêt n° 15MA01558 du 23 novembre 2015 de la cour administrative d’appel de Marseille ;
  2. réglant l’affaire au fond, de faire droit à son opposition ;
  3. de mettre à la charge de Mme B…la somme de 5 000 euros au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.

Vu les autres pièces du dossier ;

Vu :

  • le code général des collectivités territoriales
  • le code général de la propriété des personnes publiques ;
  • le code de justice administrative ;

Après avoir entendu en séance publique :

– le rapport de M. François Lelièvre, maître des requêtes,
– les conclusions de M. Gilles Pellissier, rapporteur public.

La parole ayant été donnée, avant et après les conclusions, à la SCP Lyon-Caen, Thiriez, avocat de la commune de Fontvieille, et à la SCP Waquet, Farge, Hazan, avocat de MmeB….

1. Considérant qu’aux termes du premier alinéa de l’article L. 1411-1 du code général des collectivités territoriales, dans sa version alors applicable :

Une délégation de service public est un contrat par lequel une personne morale de droit public confie la gestion d’un service public dont elle a la responsabilité à un délégataire public ou privé, dont la rémunération est substantiellement liée aux résultats de l’exploitation du service. Le délégataire peut être chargé de construire des ouvrages ou d’acquérir des biens nécessaires au service” ;

2. Considérant qu’il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis aux juges du fond que, par une convention du 1er février 2010, conclue, en vertu de son article 1er, ” à titre précaire et révocable “, la commune de Fontvieille a confié à Mme B…” l’exploitation touristique ” des sites ” Moulin de Daudet ” et ” Château de Montauban ” pour la période du 1er février au 31 décembre 2010, le contrat pouvant être prolongé par décision expresse ” pour l’année 2011 ” ; qu’aux termes de l’article 3, Mme B…assure l’ouverture au public du ” Moulin de Daudet 7 jours sur 7 et du Château de Montauban à concurrence au moins de la durée des vacances scolaires ” ; qu’en vertu de l’article 4, en contrepartie du versement d’une redevance de 7 500 euros mensuels, Mme B…est rémunérée par les droits d’entrée perçus du public et la vente de souvenirs, cartes postales, livres, dont elle fixe les prix librement ; que l’article 5 stipule que les produits vendus sur les sites ne peuvent être alimentaires ou de ” nature dévalorisante ou anachronique pour l’image et la qualité des lieux ” ; et qu’aux termes de l’article 8 : ” la convention est résiliable à tout moment par la preneuse sous préavis de 3 mois ” ;

3. Considérant qu’eu égard à l’absence d’implication dans l’organisation de l’exploitation touristique des sites en cause de la commune, qui, ainsi qu’il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis à la cour, s’est bornée à fixer les jours d’ouverture et à imposer à l’intéressée de respecter le caractère historique et culturel des sites dont elle devait assurer l’exploitation mais n’a exercé de contrôle ni sur le montant des droits d’entrée, ni sur les prix de vente des produits vendus sur les sites, ni sur les horaires d’ouverture des sites et n’a prescrit à la preneuse aucune obligation relative, notamment, à l’organisation de visites guidées ou d’activités culturelles ou à l’accueil de publics particuliers, qu’eu égard, au surplus, à la faculté donnée à la preneuse de révoquer la convention à tout moment et à la brièveté du préavis applicable, la cour administrative d’appel de Marseille a entaché son arrêt d’une erreur de qualification juridique en jugeant que ce contrat avait pour objet de faire participer directement Mme B…à l’exécution du service public culturel en raison de la dimension historique et littéraire des lieux et constituait une délégation de service public ; qu’il suit de là que la commune de Fontvieille est fondée, sans qu’il soit besoin d’examiner les autres moyens de son pourvoi, à demander l’annulation de l’arrêt qu’elle attaque ;

4. Considérant que les dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative font obstacle à ce que soit mis à la charge de la commune de Fontvieille, qui n’est pas la partie perdante, le versement des sommes que demande, à ce titre, Mme B…; qu’en revanche, il y a lieu, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, de mettre à la charge de Mme B…le versement d’une somme de 1 500 euros à la commune de Fontvieille au titre des mêmes dispositions ;

D E C I D E :
 — —  —  — –
Article 1er : L’arrêt du 23 novembre 2015 de la cour administrative d’appel de Marseille est annulé.
Article 2 : L’affaire est renvoyée à la cour administrative d’appel de Marseille.
Article 3 : Mme B…versera la somme de 1 500 euros à la commune de Fontvieille au titre des dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative. Les conclusions présentées au même titre par Mme B…sont rejetées.
Article 4 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la commune de Fontvieille et à Mme A…B….