Décision de non renouvellement d’un contrat administratif : le juge du contrat est compétent

Decision not to renew an administrative contract: the contract judge has jurisdiction

by gmorales on 12 April 2017 | Category: Public markets
Décision de non renouvellement d’un contrat administratif : le juge du contrat est compétent Décision de non renouvellement d’un contrat administratif : le juge du contrat est compétent

EC March 29, 2017, National Forest Office, No. 403257

The Prefect of Reunion and the National Forest Office (NFB) had concluded an agreement with Mrs B. allowing her to occupy a public domain outbuilding in a state forest in order to operate a restaurant establishment.
This convention expressly excluded any possibility of tacit renewal and included an explicit renewal clause. Mrs. B. requested the renewal of the agreement, in accordance with this clause. As the NFB refused to grant her leave, Ms. B applied to the Administrative Court to stay the decision not to renew the agreement and to order the resumption of the contractual relationship on a provisional basis.
The administrative court having granted this request, the NFB appealed to the Council of State. The opportunity for this one to make a reversal of jurisprudence.

Rule n ° 1: The judge of the contract is competent to judge the dispute of a decision of non renewal of a contract

In the present case, the applicant challenged the validity of a decision rejecting the request for the renewal of an administrative contract, pursuant to one of its clauses, and required the resumption of contractual relations. So it was the contract judge who was seized.
However, the Conseil d'Etat considered until now that a decision of non-renewal of an administrative contract constituted an administrative act, detachable from the contract, which could only be the object of an action in excess of power ( EC, 4 March 1981, Cne d'Azereix c / Pescadere, No. 13545: decision of a mayor refusing the renewal of a pigeon hunt concession).
In that judgment, the Conseil d'Etat made a reversal of case-law in holding that the challenge by the holder of an administrative contract of a decision rejecting the request for renewal of the contract presented in application of one of its clauses falls within the scope of judge of the contract.

Rule n ° 2: The action against the refusal of the renewal of the contract is inadmissible after the term of this one

Moreover, the applicant had lodged her application with the judge hearing the application on 1st July 2016. However, the contract expired on June 30, 2016. Consequently, the Council of State considers that this request was devoid of object from its introduction and was not admissible. He therefore quashed the order of the judge hearing the application for interim measures, which had not raised this ground of inadmissibility.

Advice to the holders of administrative contracts:

If your request to renew your contract is rejected, you can now enter the contract judge but do not wait for the end of the contract!


Board of state

N ° 403257   

8th - 3rd bedrooms together

Reading of the Wednesday, March 29, 2017

FRENCH REPUBLIC
IN THE NAME OF THE FRENCH PEOPLE

Considering the following procedure

Mrs A ... B ... asked the judge of the administrative court of Reunion, on the one hand, to suspend, on the basis of the article L. 521-1 of the code of administrative justice, the decision the Regional Director of the Office National des Forêts of May 24, 2016 refusing the renewal of the concession under which she was authorized to occupy land on the site of Anse des Cascades at Sainte-Rose and to operate a restaurant there and, secondly, to order the continuation of the contractual relations. By an order no. 1600771 of 24 August 2016, the judge hearing the application for interim relief granted his request by suspending the decision and ordering the resumption of the contractual relations on a provisional basis.

By a summary appeal, a supplementary brief and three new briefs, registered on 6 September, 20 September, 28 November and 21 December 2016 and 18 January 2017 to the litigation secretariat of the State Council, the National Forest Office requests the Board of state :

1 °) to cancel this order;

2 °) to charge Ms. B ... the sum of 2,000 euros under Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice.

Considering the other parts of the file;

Viewed:

- the general code of ownership of public persons,

- the forest code;

- the code of administrative justice;

After hearing in open session:

- the report of Mr. Laurent Domingo, master of petitions,

- the conclusions of Mr Benoît Bohnert, public rapporteur;

The word having been given, before and after the conclusions, to the SCP of Nervo, Poupet, lawyer of the Office National Des Forets and the SCP Richard, lawyer of Mrs. B ...;

Considering the following:

  1. It appears from the documents before the judge of the Administrative Tribunal of Réunion that the Prefect of La Réunion and the Office National des Forêts, on the one hand, and MmeB ..., on the other, concluded a agreement authorizing the latter to occupy, for the period from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2016, a land of 675 square meters located at a place called "l'Anse des Cascades" in the forest of Sainte-Rose for the purpose of exploitation a restaurant establishment. Article 4 of that convention expressly excluded any possibility of tacit renewal, while Article 5 stipulated that "any renewal must be requested by the licensee at least six months before the expiry date of the agreement. this request within the time limit is deemed to be waiver of renewal ". By a letter of 12 December 2015, Mrs. B ... requested the renewal of the agreement in execution of its article 5. On 24 May 2016, the National Forestry Office refused to grant it. Ms. B ... appealed to the Administrative Tribunal of the Meeting for annulment of this decision. It has also submitted, on the basis of Article L. 521-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, an application seeking, on the one hand, for the suspension of that decision and, on the other hand, for the continuation of contractual relations. The National Forest Office appeals in cassation against the order of 24 August 2016 by which the judge of the administrative tribunal of Reunion, after having considered that the convention was an administrative contract considering the clauses it contained, pronounced the suspension of this decision and enjoined him to resume the contractual relations with Mrs. B ... provisionally.
  2. Ms. B's contract term was June 30, 2016. If the judge of the contract was competent to know the challenge by Mrs. B ... the validity of the refusal of the National Forestry Office to renew the conventionthe applicant's request for the suspension of the decision refusing renewal was lodged with the judge on 1 July. That request was therefore in any event devoid of purpose from the time of its submission and was therefore not admissible. In accepting the application for suspension which he had received without objecting to this inadmissibility, which was apparent from the documents submitted to him, the judge hearing the application for interim relief tainted his order of irregularity. This must be annulled without the need to examine the pleas raised by the National Forest Office in support of its appeal.
  3. According to Article L. 821-2 of the Code of Administrative Justice, the Council of State, if it pronounces the annulment of a decision of an administrative court ruling at last instance, may "settle the case basically if the interest of a good administration of justice justifies it ". In the circumstances of the case, the case must be settled under the interlocutory proceedings.
  4. It follows from what has been said above that the claims brought by Mrs B ... on the basis of Article L. 521-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice are, in any event, inadmissible and must be rejected.
  5. It is not necessary, in the circumstances of this case, to charge Mrs. B ... the sum that the National Forestry Office requests under Article L. 761 1 of the Code of administrative justice. The provisions of the same article also preclude that the sum requested in the same way by Mrs. B ... be charged to the National Forest Office, which is not, in the present case, the party loser.

DECIDE:

--------------

Article 1: Order No. 1600771 of 24 August 2016 of the judge of the Administrative Court of Reunion for summary proceedings is set aside.

Article 2: The request made by Mrs B ... before the judge of the Administrative Court of La Réunion is dismissed.

Article 3: The conclusions presented by the National Forest Office and Mrs. B ... under Article L. 761-1 code administrative justice are rejected.

Article 4: This decision will be notified to the National Forest Office and Mrs. A ... B ....

Accueil > Actualités juridiques > marchés publics > Décision de non renouvellement d’un contrat administratif : le juge du contrat est compétent

Décision de non renouvellement d’un contrat administratif : le juge du contrat est compétent

par Maître Palmier le 12 avril 2017 | Catégorie : marchés publics

CE 29 mars 2017, Office national des forêts, n°403257

Le Préfet de la Réunion et l’Office national des forêts (ONF) avaient conclu avec Mme B. une convention autorisant cette dernière à occuper une dépendance du domaine public dans une forêt domaniale en vue de l’exploitation d’un établissement de restauration.
Cette convention excluait expressément toute possibilité de tacite reconduction et comportait une clause de reconduction explicite. Mme B. a sollicité le renouvellement de la convention, conformément à cette clause. L’ONF ayant refusé d’y faire droit, Mme B a saisi le tribunal administratif pour lui demander de suspendre la décision de non renouvellement de la convention et d’ordonner la reprise des relations contractuelles à titre provisoire.
Le tribunal administratif ayant fait droit à cette demande, l’ONF a formé un pourvoi devant le Conseil d’Etat. L’occasion pour celui-ci d’opérer un revirement de jurisprudence.

Règle n°1 : Le juge du contrat est compétent pour juger la contestation d’une décision de non renouvellement d’un contrat

En l’espèce, la requérante contestait la validité d’une décision rejetant la demande de renouvellement d’un contrat administratif, en application de l’une de ses clauses et demandait la reprise des relations contractuelles. C’était donc bien le juge du contrat qui était saisi.
Or, le Conseil d’Etat considérait jusqu’à maintenant qu’une décision de non renouvellement d’un contrat administratif constituait un acte administratif, détachable du contrat, qui ne pouvait fait l’objet que d’un recours en excès de pouvoir (CE, 4 mars 1981, Cne d’Azereix c/ Pescadère, n° 13545 : décision d’un maire refusant le renouvellement d’une concession de chasse à la palombe).
Dans cet arrêt, le Conseil d’Etat opère un revirement de jurisprudence en retenant que la contestation par le titulaire d’un contrat administratif d’une décision rejetant la demande de renouvellement du contrat présentée en application de l’une de ses clauses relève du juge du contrat.

Règle n°2 : L’action contre le refus du renouvellement du contrat est irrecevable après le terme de celui-ci

Par ailleurs, la requérante avait introduit sa demande auprès du juge des référés le 1er juillet 2016. Or, le contrat expirait le 30 juin 2016. En conséquence, le Conseil d’Etat estime que cette demande était dépourvue d’objet dès son introduction et n’était pas recevable. Il annule donc l’ordonnance du juge des référés, qui n’avait pas soulevé ce motif d’irrecevabilité.

Conseil aux titulaires de contrats administratifs :

Si votre demande de renouvellement du contrat dont vous êtes titulaire est rejetée, vous pouvez désormais saisir le juge du contrat mais n’attendez pas la fin du contrat !


Conseil d’État

N° 403257   

8ème – 3ème chambres réunie

Lecture du mercredi 29 mars 2017

REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
AU NOM DU PEUPLE FRANCAIS

Vu la procédure suivante

Mme A…B…a demandé au juge des référés du tribunal administratif de la Réunion, d’une part, de suspendre, sur le fondement de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative, la décision du directeur régional de l’Office national des forêts du 24 mai 2016 refusant le renouvellement de la concession au titre de laquelle elle était autorisée à occuper un terrain sur le site de l’Anse des cascades à Sainte-Rose et à y exploiter un restaurant et, d’autre part, d’ordonner la poursuite des relations contractuelles. Par une ordonnance n° 1600771 du 24 août 2016, le juge des référés a fait droit à sa demande en suspendant la décision et en ordonnant la reprise des relations contractuelles à titre provisoire.

Par un pourvoi sommaire, un mémoire complémentaire et trois nouveaux mémoires, enregistrés les 6 septembre, 20 septembre, 28 novembre et 21 décembre 2016 et le 18 janvier 2017 au secrétariat du contentieux du Conseil d’Etat, l’Office national des forêts demande au Conseil d’Etat :

1°) d’annuler cette ordonnance ;

2°) de mettre à la charge de Mme B… la somme de 2 000 euros au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.

Vu les autres pièces du dossier ;

Vu :

– le code général de la propriété des personnes publiques,

– le code forestier ;

– le code de justice administrative ;

Après avoir entendu en séance publique :

– le rapport de M. Laurent Domingo, maître des requêtes,

– les conclusions de M. Benoît Bohnert, rapporteur public ;

La parole ayant été donnée, avant et après les conclusions, à la SCP de Nervo, Poupet, avocat de l’Office National Des Forets et à la SCP Richard, avocat de Mme B…;

Considérant ce qui suit :

  1. Il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis au juge des référés du tribunal administratif de la Réunion que le préfet de la Réunion et l’Office national des forêts, d’une part, et MmeB…, d’autre part, ont conclu une convention autorisant cette dernière à occuper, pour la période du 1er juillet 2007 au 30 juin 2016, un terrain de 675 mètres carrés situé au lieu-dit ” l’Anse des cascades ” dans la forêt de Sainte-Rose en vue de l’exploitation d’un établissement de restauration. L’article 4 de cette convention excluait expressément toute possibilité de tacite reconduction, tandis que son article 5 stipulait que ” le renouvellement éventuel devra être sollicité par la titulaire au moins six mois avant la date d’expiration de la convention. Le défaut de présentation de cette demande dans le délai imparti vaut renonciation au renouvellement “. Par un courrier du 12 décembre 2015, Mme B…a sollicité le renouvellement de la convention en exécution de son article 5. Le 24 mai 2016, l’Office national des forêts a refusé d’y faire droit. Mme B…a saisi le tribunal administratif de la Réunion d’une demande d’annulation de cette décision. Elle a, en outre, présenté, sur le fondement de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative, une demande tendant, d’une part, à la suspension de cette décision et, d’autre part, à la poursuite des relations contractuelles. L’Office national des forêts se pourvoit en cassation contre l’ordonnance du 24 août 2016 par laquelle le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de la Réunion, après avoir estimé que la convention était un contrat administratif compte tenu des clauses qu’il contenait, a prononcé la suspension de cette décision et lui a enjoint de reprendre les relations contractuelles avec Mme B…à titre provisoire.
  2. Le terme du contrat de Mme B…était fixé au 30 juin 2016. Si le juge du contrat était compétent pour connaître de la contestation par Mme B…de la validité du refus de l’Office national des Forêts de renouveler la convention, la demande de l’intéressée tendant à la suspension de la décision de refus de renouvellement a été présentée au juge des référés le 1er juillet. Cette demande était dès lors, en tout état de cause, dépourvue d’objet dès son introduction et n’était par suite pas recevable. En accueillant la demande de suspension dont il était saisi sans opposer cette irrecevabilité, qui ressortait des pièces du dossier qui lui était soumis, le juge des référés a entaché son ordonnance d’irrégularité. Celle-ci doit être annulée, sans qu’il soit besoin d’examiner les moyens soulevés par l’Office national des forêts à l’appui de son pourvoi.
  3. Aux termes de l’article L. 821-2 du code de justice administrative, le Conseil d’Etat, s’il prononce l’annulation d’une décision d’une juridiction administrative statuant en dernier ressort, peut ” régler l’affaire au fond si l’intérêt d’une bonne administration de la justice le justifie “. Dans les circonstances de l’espèce, il y a lieu de régler l’affaire au titre de la procédure de référé engagée.
  4. Il résulte de ce qui a été dit ci-dessus que les demandes présentées par Mme B…sur le fondement de l’article L. 521-1 du code de justice administrative sont, en tout état de cause, irrecevables et doivent être rejetées.
  5. Il n’y a pas lieu, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, de mettre à la charge de Mme B…la somme que l’Office national des forêts demande au titre de l’article L. 761 1 du code de justice administrative. Les dispositions du même article font par ailleurs obstacle à ce que la somme demandée au même titre par Mme B…soit mise à la charge de l’Office national des forêts, qui n’est pas, dans la présente instance, la partie perdante.

D E C I D E :

————–

Article 1er : L’ordonnance n° 1600771 du 24 août 2016 du juge des référés du tribunal administratif de la Réunion est annulée.

Article 2 : La demande présentée par Mme B…devant le juge des référés du tribunal administratif de la Réunion est rejetée.

Article 3 : Les conclusions présentées par l’Office national des forêts et Mme B…au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative sont rejetées.

Article 4 : La présente décision sera notifiée à l’Office national des forêts et à Mme A…B….