Concession de mobilier urbain: attention au respect du règlement local de publicité !

Concession of street furniture: pay attention to the respect of the local regulation of advertising!

by gmorales on 5 June 2017 | Category: Public service delegations
Concession de mobilier urbain: attention au respect du règlement local de publicité ! Concession de mobilier urbain: attention au respect du règlement local de publicité !

TA Paris, April 21, 2017, Company Extérion Media France SA, n ° 1704976

The City of Paris has launched a procedure for the award of a service concession relating to the operation of public information publicity furniture. After becoming a candidate, the applicant company declined to submit an offer and asked the city to declare the procedure unsuccessful. After the designation of the successful tenderer, that company applied to the administrative court for a pre-contractual injunction for the annulment of the award procedure. In that judgment, the judge hearing the application for interim measures rules on the impact of the breach of the local advertising rules on the regularity of the award procedure.

Rule No. 1: It does not matter how long the pre-contractual summary is introduced as long as it is before the signing of the contract

The city of Paris claimed that the application was inadmissible on the ground that the applicant did not justify any particular circumstance explaining that it had waited until the end of the consultation procedure and the appointment of the successful tenderer to act, whereas the delay the referral of the judge could not exceed three months from the date on which it had renounced to submit an offer. The successful tenderer also objected to the fact that the application was manifestly dilatory.

The administrative court rejects these arguments by recalling the terms of Article L.551-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice, from which it follows that the pre-contractual summary may be formed until the signing of the contract. However, the request was made after the designation of the successful tenderer but before the signing of the concession.

Rule n ° 2: The consultation can not foresee conditions of execution contrary to the local regulation of advertising

The applicant claimed that the award procedure did not comply with the superior rules applicable to the concession, namely the local advertising regulations which the city has adopted. This regulation states that " light advertising, especially screens, is prohibited, except for advertising devices installed on flat roofs ".

The judge hearing the application for interim relief concludes that light advertising is prohibited in Paris, including street furniture, and considers that digital advertising is a bright advertisement.

However, the notice of advertising stated that street furniture " will be able to support the display and the advertising not illuminated or illuminated by projection or transparency, or even numeric as an accessory And the consultation document provided that " in a proportion that can not exceed 15% furniture set up under the concession, the furniture will support the display and digital advertising ".

The judge hearing the application for interim relief concludes that the documents for the consultation provided for the conditions of performance of the contract, which were in part contrary to the advertising regulations applicable in Paris.

Rule 3: Failure to comply with the regulations applicable to the contract constitutes a breach of the publicity and competitive bidding requirements

The applicant further claimed that the lack of knowledge of the local advertising regulation by the documents of the consultation constituted a breach of the obligations of advertising and call for competition. It argued that this contradiction had led it not to submit an offer insofar as it could not do so without risk to legal certainty and the durability of the concession, on the one hand, but could not offer an offer without digital given the expectations of the city in this area, on the other hand.

That argument is regarded as operative by the President of the Court of First Instance who holds that that failure is likely to have prejudiced the applicant company and, consequently, that non-compliance with the regulations applicable to the service concession in question constitutes a failure to comply with the publicity and competition requirements ".

As a result, he cancels the award procedure.

Concession de mobilier urbain: attention au respect du règlement local de publicité !

Concession de mobilier urbain : attention au respect du règlement local de publicité !

par gmorales le 5 juin 2017 | Catégorie : Délégations de service public
Concession de mobilier urbain: attention au respect du règlement local de publicité !  Concession de mobilier urbain: attention au respect du règlement local de publicité !

TA Paris, 21 avril 2017, Société Extérion Media France SA, n°1704976

La ville de Paris a lancé une procédure de passation d’une concession de services relative à l’exploitation de mobiliers urbains d’information supportant de la publicité. Après s’être portée candidate, la société requérante a renoncé à présenter une offre et a demandé à la ville de déclarer la procédure sans suite. Après la désignation de l’attributaire, ladite société  a saisi le tribunal administratif d’un référé précontractuel tendant à l’annulation de la procédure de passation. Dans ce jugement, le juge des référés se prononce sur l’impact de la méconnaissance du règlement local de publicité sur la régularité de la procédure de passation.

Règle n°1 : Peu importe le délai dans lequel le référé précontractuel est introduit pourvu qu’il le soit avant la signature du contrat

La ville de Paris prétendait que la requête était irrecevable au motif que la requérante ne justifiait d’aucune circonstance particulière expliquant qu’elle ait attendu la fin de la procédure de consultation et la désignation de l’attributaire pressenti pour agir, alors que le délai de saisine du juge ne pouvait excéder trois mois à compter de la date à laquelle elle avait renoncé à présenter une offre. La société attributaire opposait également une fin de non recevoir tirée du caractère manifestement dilatoire de la requête.

Le tribunal administratif rejette ces arguments en rappelant les termes de l’article L.551-1 du Code de justice administrative, dont il résulte que le référé précontractuel peut être formé jusqu’à la signature du contrat. Or, la requête avait été introduite après la désignation de l’attributaire mais avant la signature de la concession.

Règle n°2 : La consultation ne peut prévoir des conditions d’exécution contraire au règlement local de publicité

La requérante prétendait que la procédure de passation ne respectait pas les règles supérieures applicables à la concession, à savoir le règlement local de publicité dont s’est doté la ville. Ce règlement dispose en effet que « la publicité lumineuse, notamment les écrans, est interdite, à l’exception des dispositifs publicitaires installés sur les toitures-terrasses ».

Le juge des référés en déduit que la publicité lumineuse est interdite à Paris y compris sur le mobilier urbain et estime que la publicité numérique constitue une publicité lumineuse.

Or, l’avis de publicité précisait que les mobiliers urbains « pourront supporter de l’affichage et de la publicité non lumineuse ou éclairée par projection ou transparence, voire numérique à titre accessoire » et le document de la consultation prévoyait que « dans une proportion qui ne saurait excéder 15% des mobiliers mis en place au titre de la concession, les mobiliers pourront supporter de l’affichage et de la publicité numérique ».

Le juge des référés en conclut que les documents de la consultation prévoyaient des conditions d’exécution du contrat pour partie contraires à la règlementation de la publicité applicable à Paris.

Règle n°3 : La méconnaissance de la règlementation applicable au contrat constitue un manquement aux obligations de publicité et de mise en concurrence

La requérante prétendait encore que la méconnaissance du règlement de publicité local par les documents de la consultation constituait un manquement aux obligations de publicité et de mise en concurrence. Elle faisait en effet valoir que cette contradiction l’avait conduite à ne pas présenter d’offre dans la mesure où elle ne pouvait le faire sans risque pour la sécurité juridique et la pérennité de la concession, d’une part, mais qu’elle ne pouvait non plus proposer une offre sans numérique compte tenu des attentes de la ville en la matière, d’autre part.

Cet argumentation est considérée comme opérante par le juge des référés qui retient que ce manquement est susceptible d’avoir lésé la société requérante et, par conséquent, que « le non respect de la règlementation applicable à la concession de services en cause constitue un manquement aux obligations de publicité et de mise en concurrence ».

En conséquence, il annule la procédure de passation.