CE Avis du 11 mai 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, n°347002

CE Opinion of May 11, 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, No. 347002

by gmorales on 11 May 2011 | Category: Public markets
CE Avis du 11 mai 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, n°347002 CE Avis du 11 mai 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, n°347002

What deadlines do unsuccessful candidates have to respect in order to request the cancellation or termination of the contract signed with the competitor?

CE 16 July 2007, Tropic Works Works Signalisation, req.no. 291545

In a judgment dated 16 July 2007, Sté Tropic Travaux Signalisation, the Council of State laid down the rule that an unsuccessful candidate has two months after the publication of the award notice to lodge an appeal challenging the validity of the contract and request cancellation or termination of the contract. It is for the judge hearing such findings, when he finds that there are defects vitiating the validity of the contract, to assess the consequences. It is incumbent upon it, having taken into consideration the nature of any illegality committed, either to pronounce the termination of the contract or to modify some of its clauses, or to decide on the continuation of its execution, possibly subject to regularization measures. by the contracting authority, either to award compensation for compensation for the rights violated, or finally, after verifying whether the cancellation of the contract would not unreasonably prejudice the general interest or the rights of the contracting party, to cancel, totally or partially, if necessary with a delayed effect, the contract.

What timeframes do unsuccessful candidates have to respect in order to seek compensation for the harm suffered?

CE Opinion of May 11, 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, No. 347002

In order to obtain redress for his injured rights, the ousted competitor has two possibilities:

  • Either he decides to present to the judge of the contract indemnity claims, incidental or complementary to his conclusions, at the end of the termination or cancellation of the contract.
  • Either he may decide to initiate a separate and unlimited appeal, seeking exclusively compensation for the damage suffered by reason of the illegality of the conclusion of the contract from which he has been dismissed.

In both cases, the presentation of indemnity claims by the ousted competitor is not subject to the deadline of two months following the publication of the notice of award.

What are the formalities to be respected in case of presentation of compensation claims?

The admissibility of the claim for compensation, presented in an ancillary or supplementary form to the conclusions contesting the validity of the contract, or in the context of a purely compensatory remedy, is subject to the intervention of a preliminary indemnity decision.

This prior indemnity decision must be notified to the contracting authority either before submitting an application to the administrative judge or in the course of the proceedings, except in the case of a public works dispute, in which case the applicant is exempted from complying with this formality. .

What are the different litigation strategies offered to unsuccessful candidates?

Unsuccessful candidates have the choice of several contentious strategies:

Strategy n ° 1:

The unsuccessful candidate lodges an appeal against the validity of the contract within two months of the publication of the award notice to request cancellation or termination of the contract and compensation for the damage. that he believes he has suffered as a result of his eviction. In this case, the unsuccessful candidate must notify a prior indemnity request to the contracting authority before referral to the administrative judge or in the course of proceedings.

Strategy n ° 2:

The unsuccessful candidate lodges an appeal against the validity of the contract within two months of the publication of the notice of award to solicit only the cancellation or termination of the contract. In this case, the unsuccessful candidate has the possibility to submit indemnity claims at any time during the proceedings. But if in this case, he must also notify a prior indemnity request to the contracting authority so that these indemnification claims may be admissible.

Strategy n ° 3:

The unsuccessful candidate lodges an appeal against the validity of the contract within a period of two months from the date of publication of the notice of award to solicit only compensation for the damage he considers he has suffered. In this case, the unsuccessful candidate must bring the matter before the judge before the expiry of a four-year period (four-year limitation period) from the event giving rise to the claim (eviction decision). It must of course notify a prior indemnity request to the contracting authority before referral to the administrative judge or in the course of proceedings.

CE Avis du 11 mai 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, n°347002

CE Avis du 11 mai 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, n°347002

par gmorales le 11 mai 2011 | Catégorie : Marchés publics
CE Avis du 11 mai 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, n°347002  CE Avis du 11 mai 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, n°347002

Quels délais les candidats évincés doivent-ils respecter pour solliciter l’annulation ou la résiliation du contrat signé avec le concurrent ?

CE 16 juillet 2007, Sté Tropic Travaux Signalisation , req.n°291545

Dans un arrêt en date du 16 juillet 2007, Sté Tropic Travaux Signalisation, le Conseil d’Etat a posé la règle selon laquelle un candidat évincé dispose d’un délai de deux mois à compter de la publication de l’avis d’attribution pour introduire un recours en contestation de la validité du contrat et solliciter l’annulation ou la résiliation du contrat. Il appartient au juge saisi de telles conclusions, lorsqu’il constate l’existence de vices entachant la validité du contrat, d’en apprécier les conséquences. Il lui revient, après avoir pris en considération la nature de l’illégalité éventuellement commise, soit de prononcer la résiliation du contrat ou de modifier certaines de ses clauses, soit de décider de la poursuite de son exécution, éventuellement sous réserve de mesures de régularisation par la collectivité contractante, soit d’accorder des indemnisations en réparation des droits lésés, soit enfin, après avoir vérifié si l’annulation du contrat ne porterait pas une atteinte excessive à l’intérêt général ou aux droits du cocontractant, d’annuler, totalement ou partiellement, le cas échéant avec un effet différé, le contrat.

Quels délais les candidats évincés doivent-ils respecter pour solliciter l’indemnisation du préjudice subi ?

CE Avis du 11 mai 2011, Sté REBILLON SCHMIT PREVOT, n°347002

En vue d’obtenir réparation de ses droits lésés, le concurrent évincé a deux possibilités :

  • Soit il décide de présenter devant le juge du contrat des conclusions indemnitaires, à titre accessoire ou complémentaire à ses conclusions à fin de résiliation ou d’annulation du contrat.
  • Soit il peut décider d’engager un recours de pleine juridiction distinct, tendant exclusivement à une indemnisation du préjudice subi à raison de l’illégalité de la conclusion du contrat dont il a été évincé.

Dans les deux cas, la présentation de conclusions indemnitaires par le concurrent évincé n’est pas soumise au délai de deux mois suivant la publication de l’avis d’attribution.

Quelles sont les formalités à respecter en cas de présentation de conclusions indemnitaires ?

La recevabilité des conclusions indemnitaires, présentées à titre accessoire ou complémentaire aux conclusions contestant la validité du contrat, ou dans le cadre d’un recours purement indemnitaire, est soumise à l’intervention d’une décision préalable indemnitaire.

Cette décision préalable indemnitaire doit être notifiée au pouvoir adjudicateur soit avant de saisir le juge administratif soit en cours d’instance sauf si il s’agit d’un contentieux en matière de travaux publics auquel cas, le requérant est dispensé du respect de cette formalité.

Qu’elles sont les différentes stratégies contentieuses offertes aux candidats évincés ?

Les candidats évincés ont le choix entre plusieurs stratégies contentieuses :

Stratégie n°1 :

Le candidat évincé introduit un recours en contestation de la validité du contrat dans le délai de deux mois à compter de la parution de l’avis d’attribution pour solliciter à la fois l’annulation ou la résiliation du contrat et l’indemnisation du préjudice qu’il estime avoir subi du fait de son éviction. Dans cette hypothèse, le candidat évincé doit notifier une demande préalable indemnitaire au pouvoir adjudicateur avant la saisine du juge administratif ou en cours d’instance.

Stratégie n°2 :

Le candidat évincé introduit un recours en contestation de la validité du contrat dans le délai de deux mois à compter de la parution de l’avis d’attribution pour solliciter uniquement l’annulation ou la résiliation du contrat. Dans cette hypothèse, le candidat évincé a la possibilité de présenter des conclusions indemnitaires à n’importe quel moment en cours d’instance. Mais si dans ce cas, il doit également notifier une demande préalable indemnitaire au pouvoir adjudicateur pour que ces conclusions indemnitaires puissent être recevables.

Stratégie n°3 :

Le candidat évincé introduit un recours en contestation de la validité du contrat dans le délai de deux mois à compter de la parution de l’avis d’attribution pour solliciter uniquement la réparation du préjudice qu’il estime avoir subi. Dans cette hypothèse, le candidat évincé doit saisir le juge avant l’expiration d’un délai de quatre ans (délai de prescription quadriennale) à compter du fait générateur de la créance (décision d’éviction). Il doit bien évidemment notifier une demande préalable indemnitaire au pouvoir adjudicateur avant la saisine du juge administratif ou en cours d’instance.