Candidats évincés : quel droit à indemnisation en cas de recours à une procédure irrégulière ?

Evicted candidates: what right to compensation in the event of recourse to an irregular procedure?

by Sébastien Palmier on April 30, 2020 | Category: Public markets
Candidats évincés : quel droit à indemnisation en cas de recours à une procédure irrégulière ? Candidats évincés : quel droit à indemnisation en cas de recours à une procédure irrégulière ?

CE February 28, 2020, Sté Régal des Iles, n ° 426162

In this case, the Council of State provides useful details on the extent of the right to compensation of an ousted candidate when the irregularity affects the very choice of the procedure for awarding a contract launched by the public purchaser , as for example, in the event of irregular use of the competitive dialogue procedure for the award of a public contract or, as in the present case, in the award of a contract according to the procedure of delegation of public service to place of a public procurement procedure.

What you must remember :

 

Point n ° 1: Reminder of the legal framework of the rights to compensation of candidates irregularly ousted from the award of a public contract

In its judgment of February 28, 2020, Sté Régal des Iles, the Council of State specifies the legal framework for the rights to compensation of candidates irregularly ousted from the award of a public contract.

Continuing from its previous case law (CE October 14, 2019, Sté les Téléskis de la Croix Fry, n ° 418317), the Council of State firstly recalls that the loss of opportunity to obtain the contract is not compensable that as it is the direct consequence of the irregularity committed: the judge must thus verify on the one hand, that the irregularity invoked is the direct cause of the ouster of the ousted candidate; on the other hand, that there is a direct causal link between the resulting fault and the damage for which the candidate seeks compensation.

If these conditions are met, then the judge can sovereignly assess the graduation of the right to compensation according to the following grid: if the irregularity committed (1) if the ousted candidate was not without any chance of winning the contract, entitling him to reimbursement of the costs he incurred in presenting his offer, or (2) if this chance was serious, thus opening a right to be compensated for its shortfall including necessarily, since they have been included in its expenses, the costs of presentation of the offer.

The Council of State takes the opportunity to recall that in the event that the public purchaser renounces to conclude the contract for a reason of general interest, the candidate then loses all right to compensation.

Point n ° 2: The right to compensation in the event of the award of a contract according to an irregular procedure

The assessment of the loss of opportunity to obtain a contract at the end of a procedure as radically different as that which applies to public contracts when the procedure followed was that applicable to concessions seems difficult if not impossible.

However, the impossibility of assessing serious chances of obtaining a contract of a different nature or subject to a completely different procedure does not preclude finding that the irregularity of the choice of procedure has led the candidates to submit tenders in vain and therefore to incur costs in a competition which could not result in the fault of the public person.

This is the reason why the Council of State considers that the irregularity relating to the choice of procedure cannot lead the judge to exclude in principle any direct causal link between the irregularity and the damage caused by the eviction and may be entitled, at a minimum, to reimbursement of the costs incurred by the ousted candidate as soon as it is not established that his application or his offer would have been rejected.

 


CE February 28, 2020, Sté Régal des Iles, n ° 426162

 

Considering the following:

  1. It appears from the documents in the file submitted to the trial judges that the municipality of Saint-Benoît, by a notice of public call for competition published on July 30, 2013, launched an open procedure for entering into a delegation agreement of public service for the management of its municipal catering service. By letter dated 2 December 2013, the Régal des Iles company was informed by the mayor of this municipality that its offer had not been accepted. The Régal des Iles company presented an appeal to the administrative court of La Réunion to contest the validity of this contract, concluded on January 8, 2014 by the municipality of Saint-Benoît with the company SOGECCIR, accompanied by a claim for compensation an amount of 8,758,890 euros in compensation for its damage resulting, on the one hand, from its shortfall over ten years and, on the other hand, from the costs incurred for the presentation of its offer. By a judgment of March 31, 2016, rectified by an order of June 13, 2016, the administrative court of La Réunion, after having reclassified the disputed contract as a public market and found that it was affected by several vices having a character of a particular gravity, pronounced the termination of the contract from the first day of the sixth month following notification of the judgment and rejected the remainder of its request. By a judgment of October 8, 2018, the Bordeaux Administrative Court of Appeal dismissed the main appeal and the cross-appeal brought against this judgment, respectively, by the municipality of Saint-Benoît and the company Régal des Iles. The latter is appealing on points of law against this judgment in so far as it has dismissed its conclusions of cross-appeal seeking to order the municipality to pay him the sum of 8,758,890 euros.
  2. When a candidate for the award of a public contract requests compensation for the damage resulting from his irregular eviction from this contract and there is a direct causal link between the fault resulting from the irregularity and the damage claimed by the Applicant because of his ouster, it is up to the judge to check whether or not the candidate had no chance of winning the contract. In the absence of any chance, he is not entitled to any compensation. Otherwise, he is entitled in principle to reimbursement of the costs he incurred in presenting his offer. It should also be investigated whether the irregularly ousted candidate had a serious chance of winning the contract concluded with another candidate. If this is the case, he is entitled to be compensated for his loss of earnings, necessarily including, since they have been included in his expenses, the costs of presentation of the offer, which therefore do not have to make the subject, unless otherwise stipulated in the contract, to specific compensation. On the other hand, the candidate cannot claim compensation for this shortfall if the public body renounces to conclude the contract for a reason of general interest.

  3. It is clear from the statements in the judgment under appeal that, for reasons not disputed in the context of this appeal, the Bordeaux Administrative Court of Appeal redefined the contract for the delegation of public service in the public market and noted that this contract, concluded without the content and the conditions for implementing the selection criteria for tenders having been defined and without publication of a European level award notice, was affected by several flaws of a particularly serious nature .

  4. It appears from the documents in the file submitted to it that the court did not err in law nor misrepresented the documents in the file in finding that the irregularities mentioned above had not deprived Régal des Iles of a serious chance to win the contract in dispute, even though this company has, after the termination of the contract in dispute, concluded with the municipality of Saint-Benoît a public contract for the management of the municipal catering service. Nor did the court, which gave sufficient reasons for its judgment, disregard the significance of the applicant's submissions on this point.
  5. On the other hand, it appears from the documents in the file submitted to the trial judges that the Régal des Iles company was allowed to submit an offer in the context of the procedure for concluding the delegation contract in dispute, that this offer was ranked second position and, as has just been said, that the applicant company was awarded the public contract for the management of the municipal catering service in the municipality of Saint-Benoît. Under these conditions, the Bordeaux Administrative Court of Appeal misrepresented the documents in the file, stating, in order to reject the compensation claims of Régal des Iles for the costs it incurred to present its offer, that the irregular appeal to the procedure for handing over public service delegations by the municipality of Saint-Benoît was not likely to have had an impact on the eviction of the company Régal des Iles and that it was devoid of any chance of get this market.
  6. It follows from the foregoing that the Régal des Iles company is entitled to request the annulment of the judgment which it is attacking in so far as only that it has rejected its claims, presented by way of cross-appeal, seeking compensation for costs incurred in presenting its offer.
  7. It is necessary, in the circumstances of the case, to charge the municipality of Saint-Benoît the sum of 3,000 euros to be paid to the company Régal des Iles, under article L. 761- 1 of the code of administrative justice. The same provisions prevent an amount from being charged against the Régal des Iles company, which is not the losing party in this proceeding.

 

DECIDE:
Article 1: The judgment of October 8, 2018 of the administrative court of appeal of Bordeaux is canceled as it rejected the conclusions of the company Régal des Iles tending to the compensation of the costs incurred for the presentation of its offer .
Article 2: The case is referred to this extent to the administrative court of appeal of Bordeaux.
Article 3: The town of Saint-Benoît will pay Régal des Iles a sum of 3,000 euros under article L. 761-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice. His conclusions presented on the same basis are dismissed.

Candidats évincés : quel droit à indemnisation en cas de recours à une procédure irrégulière ?

Candidats évincés : quel droit à indemnisation en cas de recours à une procédure irrégulière ?

par Sébastien Palmier le 30 avril 2020 | Catégorie : Marchés publics
Candidats évincés : quel droit à indemnisation en cas de recours à une procédure irrégulière ? Candidats évincés : quel droit à indemnisation en cas de recours à une procédure irrégulière ?

CE 28 février 2020, Sté Régal des Iles, n°426162

Dans cette affaire, le Conseil d’Etat apporte d’utiles précisions sur l’étendue du droit à indemnisation d’un candidat évincé lorsque l’irrégularité affecte le choix même de la procédure de passation d’un contrat lancée par l’acheteur public, comme par exemple, en cas de recours irrégulier à la procédure du dialogue compétitif pour l’attribution d’un marché public ou, comme en l’espèce, en d’attribution d’un contrat selon la procédure de délégation de service public au lieu d’une procédure de marché public.

Ce qu’il faut retenir :

 

Point n°1 : Rappel du cadre juridique des droits à indemnisation des candidats irrégulièrement évincés de l’attribution d’un contrat public

Dans son arrêt du 28 février 2020, Sté Régal des Iles, le Conseil d’Etat précise le cadre juridique des droits à indemnisation des candidats irrégulièrement évincés de l’attribution d’un contrat public.

Dans la continuité de sa précédente jurisprudence (CE 14 octobre 2019, Sté les Téléskis de la Croix Fry, n°418317), le Conseil d’Etat rappelle tout d’abord que la perte de chance d’obtenir le contrat n’est indemnisable qu’en tant qu’elle est la conséquence direct de l’irrégularité commise : le juge doit ainsi vérifier d’une part, que l’irrégularité invoquée est la cause directe de l'éviction du candidat évincé ; d’autre part, qu'il existe un lien direct de causalité entre la faute en résultant et le préjudice dont le candidat demande l'indemnisation.

Si ces conditions sont remplies, alors le juge peut apprécier souverainement la graduation du droit à indemnisation selon la grille suivante : si l'irrégularité commise (1) si le candidat évincé n’était pas dépourvu de toute chance d'emporter le contrat, lui ouvrant un droit au remboursement des frais qu'il a engagés pour présenter son offre, ou (2) si cette chance était sérieuse, lui ouvrant ainsi un droit à être indemnisé de son manque à gagner incluant nécessairement, puisqu’ils ont été intégrés dans ses charges, les frais de présentation de l’offre.

Le Conseil d’Etat profite de l’occasion pour rappeler que dans l’hypothèse ou l’acheteur public renonce à conclure le contrat pour un motif d’intérêt général, le candidat perd alors tout droit à indemnité.

Point n°2 : Le droit à indemnisation en cas d’attribution d’un contrat selon une procédure irrégulière

L’évaluation de la perte de chance d'obtenir un contrat au terme d'une procédure aussi radicalement différente que celle qui s'applique aux marchés publics lorsque la procédure suivie était celle applicable aux concessions paraît difficile voire impossible.

Cela étant, l'impossibilité d'évaluer des chances sérieuses d'obtenir un contrat de nature différente ou soumis à une procédure complètement différente n'empêche pas de constater que l'irrégularité du choix de la procédure a conduit les candidats à présenter des offres en vain et donc à engager des frais dans une compétition qui ne pouvait aboutir par la faute de la personne publique.

C’est la raison pour laquelle le Conseil d’Etat considère que l'irrégularité tenant au choix de la procédure ne saurait conduire le juge à exclure par principe tout lien direct de causalité entre l'irrégularité et le préjudice provoqué par l'éviction et peut ouvrir droit, à minima, au remboursement des frais engagés par le candidat évincé dès lors qu’il n’est pas acquis que sa candidature ou son offre aurait été rejetée.

 


CE 28 février 2020, Sté Régal des Iles, n°426162

 

Considérant ce qui suit :

  1. Il ressort des pièces du dossier du dossier soumis aux juges du fond que la commune de Saint-Benoît a, par un avis d’appel public à la concurrence publié le 30 juillet 2013, lancé une procédure ouverte de passation d’une convention de délégation de service public pour la gestion de son service de restauration municipale. Par une lettre du 2 décembre 2013, la société Régal des Iles a été informée par le maire de cette commune que son offre n’avait pas été retenue. La société Régal des Iles a présenté devant le tribunal administratif de La Réunion un recours en contestation de la validité de ce contrat, conclu le 8 janvier 2014 par la commune de Saint-Benoît avec la société SOGECCIR, assorti d’une demande indemnitaire d’un montant de 8 758 890 euros en réparation de son préjudice résultant, d’une part, de son manque à gagner sur dix ans et, d’autre part, des frais engagés pour la présentation de son offre. Par un jugement du 31 mars 2016, rectifié par une ordonnance du 13 juin 2016, le tribunal administratif de La Réunion, après avoir requalifié le contrat litigieux en marché public et estimé que celui-ci était affecté de plusieurs vices présentant un caractère d’une particulière gravité, a prononcé la résiliation du contrat à compter du premier jour du sixième mois suivant la notification du jugement et rejeté le surplus de sa demande. Par l’arrêt du 8 octobre 2018, la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux a rejeté l’appel principal et l’appel incident formés contre ce jugement, respectivement, par la commune de Saint-Benoît et la société Régal des Iles. Cette dernière se pourvoit en cassation contre cet arrêt en tant qu’il a rejeté ses conclusions d’appel incident tendant à la condamnation de la commune à lui verser une somme de 8 758 890 euros.
  2. Lorsqu’un candidat à l’attribution d’un contrat public demande la réparation du préjudice né de son éviction irrégulière de ce contrat et qu’il existe un lien direct de causalité entre la faute résultant de l’irrégularité et les préjudices invoqués par le requérant à cause de son éviction, il appartient au juge de vérifier si le candidat était ou non dépourvu de toute chance de remporter le contrat. En l’absence de toute chance, il n’a droit à aucune indemnité. Dans le cas contraire, il a droit en principe au remboursement des frais qu’il a engagés pour présenter son offre. Il convient en outre de rechercher si le candidat irrégulièrement évincé avait des chances sérieuses d’emporter le contrat conclu avec un autre candidat. Si tel est le cas, il a droit à être indemnisé de son manque à gagner, incluant nécessairement, puisqu’ils ont été intégrés dans ses charges, les frais de présentation de l’offre, lesquels n’ont donc pas à faire l’objet, sauf stipulation contraire du contrat, d’une indemnisation spécifique. En revanche, le candidat ne peut prétendre à une indemnisation de ce manque à gagner si la personne publique renonce à conclure le contrat pour un motif d’intérêt général.

  3. Il ressort des énonciations de l’arrêt attaqué que, par des motifs non contestés dans le cadre du présent pourvoi, la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux a requalifié le contrat de délégation de service public en marché public et a relevé que ce contrat, conclu sans que le contenu et les conditions de mise en oeuvre des critères de sélection des offres n’aient été définis et sans publication d’un avis d’attribution de niveau européen, était affecté de plusieurs vices présentant un caractère d’une particulière gravité.

  4. Il ressort des pièces du dossier qui lui était soumis que la cour n’a pas commis d’erreur de droit ni dénaturé les pièces du dossier en estimant que les irrégularités mentionnées ci-dessus n’avaient pas privé la société Régal des Iles d’une chance sérieuse d’emporter le marché en litige, alors même que cette société a, postérieurement à la résiliation du contrat en litige, conclu avec la commune de Saint-Benoît un marché public pour la gestion du service de restauration municipale. La cour, qui a suffisamment motivé son arrêt, n’a pas davantage méconnu la portée des écritures de la requérante sur ce point.
  5. En revanche, il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis aux juges du fond que la société Régal des Iles a été admise à présenter une offre dans le cadre de la procédure de conclusion du contrat de délégation en litige, que cette offre a été classée en deuxième position et, ainsi qu’il vient d’être dit, que la société requérante s’est vue attribuer le marché public pour la gestion du service de restauration municipale de la commune de Saint-Benoît. Dans ces conditions, la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux a dénaturé les pièces du dossier en estimant, pour rejeter les conclusions indemnitaires de la société Régal des Iles au titre des frais qu’elle a engagés pour présenter son offre, que le recours irrégulier à la procédure de passation des délégations de service public par la commune de Saint-Benoît n’était pas susceptible d’avoir eu une incidence sur l’éviction de la société Régal des Iles et que celle-ci était dépourvue de toute chance d’obtenir ce marché.
  6. Il résulte de ce qui précède que la société Régal des Iles est fondée à demander l’annulation de l’arrêt qu’elle attaque en tant seulement qu’il a rejeté ses conclusions, présentées par la voie de l’appel incident, tendant à l’indemnisation des frais engagés pour la présentation de son offre.
  7. Il y a lieu, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, de mettre à la charge de la commune de Saint-Benoît la somme de 3 000 euros à verser à la société Régal des Iles, au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative. Les mêmes dispositions font obstacle à ce qu’une somme soit mise à ce titre à la charge de la société Régal des Iles qui n’est pas, dans la présente instance, la partie perdante.

 

D E C I D E :
Article 1er : L’arrêt du 8 octobre 2018 de la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux est annulé en tant qu’il a rejeté les conclusions de la société Régal des Iles tendant à l’indemnisation des frais engagés pour la présentation de son offre.
Article 2 : L’affaire est renvoyée dans cette mesure à la cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux.
Article 3 : La commune de Saint-Benoît versera à la société Régal des Iles une somme de 3 000 euros au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative. Ses conclusions présentées sur le même fondement sont rejetées.