Calcul des préjudices subis pour les marchés à bons de commande avec et sans minimum

Calculation of damages suffered for contracts with purchase orders with and without minimums

by Sébastien Palmier on November 10, 2018 | Category: Public markets
Calcul des préjudices subis pour les marchés à bons de commande avec et sans minimum Calcul des préjudices subis pour les marchés à bons de commande avec et sans minimum

CE October 10, 2018, Doctor Dr Jacques Franc, req.no. 410501

 If the holder of a contract terminated improperly can claim compensation for the loss of the net profit of which he has been deprived, it is for him to establish the reality of the damage. This judgment provides an opportunity to determine the terms of compensation for damages suffered in the case of a contract with purchase orders they include a minimum value or quantity or not.

Teaching # 1: How to determine the harm suffered in the purchase order markets?

In a judgment dated October 10, 2018, sté Dr Jacques Franc, the State Council has just considered that in the event of a market with orders irregularly terminated which has a minimum in value or quantity, the loss of profits is certain in respect of this guaranteed minimum.

The Council of State nevertheless takes care to specify that this rule concerns only the hypothesis where the holder is not able to establish the reality of its prejudices beyond the minimum.

If that is the case, then the Council of State establishes as a rule of principle that the holder is entitled to compensation for all the damage he has come to establish the reality "3. Considering that if the holder of an irregularly terminated contract can claim compensation for the loss of the net profit of which he has been deprived, he has to establish the reality of this prejudice. ; whereas in the case of a contract with purchase orders whose contractual documents provide for a minimum in value or quantity, the loss of profits is only certain if it relates to this guaranteed minimum.

To put it another way:

  • In the event of a market with irregularly terminated purchase orders containing a minimum in value or quantity : the holder is entitled to claim " at least »The lack in gain calculated on the basis of the guaranteed minimum since this minimum makes it possible to establish the reality of the prejudices.
  • Assuming a contract with irregularly terminated purchase orders that does not include a minimum in value or quantity : the owner has the right to claim the loss of all the damages suffered as soon as, as indicated by the Council of State, he is able to establish the reality of his prejudices. That way, that its prejudices can present a certain character.


This rule of law laid down by the Council of State therefore applies to all markets with good orders with and without a minimum. It is also intended to apply to candidates who have been excluded from a procedure for awarding a public contract.

Teaching 2: the documents and information used by the administrative judge to determine the damages suffered

The Conseil d'Etat considers that in order to establish the net margin rate, the administrative judge is entitled to refer to the results of the four financial years preceding the termination of the contract. The administrative judge also admits that the attestation drawn up by an auditor or an accountant is a serious and reliable translation of the applicant's accounting records to establish the reality of the damages suffered (CE 31 July 2009, Mr Xavier A, req.no 290971- CAA Nancy, November 28, 2013, public office Metz Habitat Territory, Req No 13NC00967


Board of state
No.
410501
Reading of Monday, October 10, 2018
FRENCH REPUBLIC
IN THE NAME OF THE FRENCH PEOPLE

 

  1. Considering that it appears from the documents in the file submitted to the judges of the merits that, by a contract with purchase orders signed on March 1, 2010, the hospital center of Vendôme has entrusted to the company of Dr. Jacques Franc the interpretation of the X-rays taken within the hospital on prescription of the practitioners of it; that, by a decision of March 17, 2011, the hospital center terminated this contract at the expense and risk of the applicant company on the ground that it would have missed several of its contractual obligations; that, by a judgment before right say of the 14 February 2013, the administrative court of Orléans judged irregular this termination; that, by a second judgment of February 26, 2015, the same court sentenced the hospital center Vendome to pay the company the sum of 94 422 euros for loss of earnings suffered as a result of the termination; that, by a judgment of March 15, 2017 against which the company appealed in cassation, the administrative court of appeal of Nantes increased this sum of 3 000 euros and rejected the surplus conclusions of appeal of this company;
  2. Considering, firstly, that under Article 77 of the Public Procurement Code, then applicable: "I. - A contract with purchase orders is a contract concluded with one or more economic operators and executed as and when measurement of the issuance of purchase orders. (...) / In this market the contracting authority has the power to provide a minimum and a maximum in value or quantity, or a minimum, or a maximum, or to be concluded without minimum or maximum./ The issue of purchase orders shall be carried out without negotiation or prior call for competition from the holders, in accordance with the terms and conditions expressly provided for in the contract. / (...) III. - For occasional small-scale needs, the contracting authority may turn to a service provider other than the market owner (s) (...). The use of this possibility does not dispense the contracting authority from fulfilling its commitment to place orders up to the minimum amount of the contract when it is foreseen ";
  3. Considering that if the holder of a contract terminated irregularly can claim compensation for the loss of the net profit of which he was deprived, it is his responsibility to establish the reality of this prejudice; that in the case of a contract with purchase orders whose contractual documents provide for a minimum in value or quantity, the loss of profits is only certain in that it relates to this guaranteed minimum;
  4. Considering that it appears from the documents in the file submitted to the judges of the merits that the contract in dispute was a contract with purchase orders whose contractual documents provided that its amount would be between a minimum annual value of 200,000 euros and a maximum value of 400,000 euros; that, consequently, based on the minimum amount of orders thus guaranteed to evaluate the shortfall of which the co-contracting company was deprived as a result of the irregular termination of the contract in dispute, the Nantes Administrative Court of Appeal does not did not err in law;
  5. Considering, secondly, that the calculation of the profit being effected by subtracting the total of the proceeds from all the charges, the court did not err in law in holding that the margin rate had to be determined in taking into account not only the variable expenses of the company but also its fixed charges;
  6. Considering, lastly, that the court did not further tarnish its judgment of error of law by referring to the net results of the four fiscal years preceding the termination of the disputed market in order to evaluate the average markup rate of the applicant company;
  7. Whereas it follows from all the foregoing that the appeal of Dr. Jacques Franc's company must be dismissed;
  8. Considering that the provisions of Article L. 761-1 of the Code of Administrative Justice preclude the payment of a sum in this respect to the hospital center of Vendôme, which is not, in the this proceeding, the losing party; whereas, on the other hand, in the circumstances of this case, the sum of 3 000 euros to be paid to the hospital center under the same provisions should be charged to Dr Jacques Franc's company;

DECIDE:

Article 1: The appeal of Dr. Jacques Franc's company is dismissed.
Article 2: Dr. Jacques Franc's company will pay a sum of 3,000 euros to the hospital center of Vendôme under article L. 761-1 code administrative justice.
Article 3: This decision will be notified to the company of Dr. Jacques Franc and hospital Vendome.


Summary :  If the holder of a contract terminated improperly can claim compensation for the loss of the net profit of which he has been deprived, it is for him to establish the reality of the damage. In the case of a contract with purchase orders whose contractual documents provide for a minimum in value or quantity, the loss of profits is only certain in that it relates to this guaranteed minimum.

Calcul des préjudices subis pour les marchés à bons de commande avec et sans minimum

Calcul des préjudices subis pour les marchés à bons de commande avec et sans minimum

par Sébastien Palmier le 10 novembre 2018 | Catégorie : Marchés publics
Calcul des préjudices subis pour les marchés à bons de commande avec et sans minimum  Calcul des préjudices subis pour les marchés à bons de commande avec et sans minimum

CE 10 octobre 2018, Sté du Docteur Jacques Franc, req.n°410501

 Si le titulaire d’un marché résilié irrégulièrement peut prétendre à être indemnisé de la perte du bénéfice net dont il a été privé, il lui appartient d’établir la réalité ce préjudice. Cet arrêt donne l’occasion de déterminer les modalités d’indemnisation des préjudices subis dans le cas d’un marché à bons de commande qu’ils comportent un minimum en valeur ou en quantité ou pas.

Enseignement n°1 : comment déterminer les préjudices subis dans les marchés à bons de commande ?

Dans un arrêt en date du 10 octobre 2018, Sté du Docteur Jacques Franc, le Conseil d’Etat vient de considère que dans l’hypothèse d’un marché à bons de commande irrégulièrement résilié qui comporte un minimum en valeur ou en quantité, le manque à gagner revêt un caractère certain en ce qui concerne ce minimum garanti.

Le Conseil d’Etat prend néanmoins le soin de préciser que cette règle ne concerne que l’hypothèse où le titulaire n’est pas en mesure d’établir la réalité de ses préjudices au-delà du minimum.

Si tel est le cas, alors le Conseil d’Etat pose comme règle de principe que le titulaire est en droit d’être indemnisé de l’intégralité des préjudices dont il arrive à établir la réalité « 3. Considérant que si le titulaire d’un marché résilié irrégulièrement peut prétendre à être indemnisé de la perte du bénéfice net dont il a été privé, il lui appartient d’établir la réalité de ce préjudice ; que dans le cas d’un marché à bons de commande dont les documents contractuels prévoient un minimum en valeur ou en quantité, le manque à gagner ne revêt un caractère certain qu’en ce qu’il porte sur ce minimum garanti »

Pour le dire autrement :

  • Dans l’hypothèse d’un marché à bons de commande irrégulièrement résilié qui comporte un minimum en valeur ou en quantité : le titulaire est en droit de réclamer « à minima » le manque en gagner calculé sur la base du minimum garanti dès lors que ce minimum permet d’établir la réalité des préjudices.
  • Dans l’hypothèse d’un marché à bons de commande irrégulièrement résilié qui ne comporte pas un minimum en valeur ou en quantité : le titulaire est en droit de réclamer le manque en gagner de tous les préjudices subis dès lors que, comme l’indique le Conseil d’Etat, il est en mesure d’établir la réalité de ses préjudices. Cela afin, que ses préjudices puissent présenter un caractère certain.


Cette règle de droit posée par le Conseil d’Etat s’applique donc à tous les marchés à bon de commandes avec et sans minimum. Elle a également vocation à s’appliquer aux candidats évincés d’une procédure d’attribution d’un contrat public.

Enseignement n°2 : les documents et renseignements utilisés par le juge administratif pour déterminer les préjudices subis

Le Conseil d’Etat considère que pour établir le taux de marge nette, le juge administratif est en droit de se référer aux résultats des quatre exercices précédant la résiliation du marché. Le juge administratif admet également que l’attestation établi par un Commissaire aux Comptes ou par un expert comptable traduisent de manière sérieuse et fiables les éléments de la comptabilité du requérant pour établir la réalité des préjudices subis (CE 31 juillet 2009, Monsieur Xavier A, req.n°290971- CAA Nancy, 28 novembre 2013, office public Metz Habitat Territoire, req. n°13NC00967


Conseil d’État
410501
Lecture du lundi 10 octobre 2018
REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
AU NOM DU PEUPLE FRANCAIS

 

  1. Considérant qu’il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis aux juges du fond que, par un marché à bons de commande signé le 1er mars 2010, le centre hospitalier de Vendôme a confié à la société du docteur Jacques Franc l’interprétation des clichés radiographiques réalisés au sein de l’hôpital sur prescription des praticiens de celui-ci ; que, par une décision du 17 mars 2011, le centre hospitalier a résilié ce marché aux frais et risques de la société requérante au motif que celle-ci aurait manqué à plusieurs de ses obligations contractuelles ; que, par un jugement avant dire droit du 14 février 2013, le tribunal administratif d’Orléans a jugé irrégulière cette résiliation ; que, par un second jugement du 26 février 2015, le même tribunal a condamné le centre hospitalier de Vendôme à verser à la société la somme de 94 422 euros au titre du manque à gagner subi du fait de la résiliation ; que, par un arrêt du 15 mars 2017 contre lequel la société se pourvoit en cassation, la cour administrative d’appel de Nantes a augmenté cette somme de 3 000 euros et a rejeté le surplus des conclusions d’appel de cette société ;
  2. Considérant, en premier lieu, qu’aux termes de l’article 77 du code des marchés publics, alors applicable : “ I. – Un marché à bons de commande est un marché conclu avec un ou plusieurs opérateurs économiques et exécuté au fur et à mesure de l’émission de bons de commande. (…) / Dans ce marché le pouvoir adjudicateur a la faculté de prévoir un minimum et un maximum en valeur ou en quantité, ou un minimum, ou un maximum, ou encore être conclus sans minimum ni maximum./ L’émission des bons de commande s’effectue sans négociation ni remise en concurrence préalable des titulaires, selon des modalités expressément prévues par le marché. / (…) III. – Pour des besoins occasionnels de faible montant, le pouvoir adjudicateur peut s’adresser à un prestataire autre que le ou les titulaires du marché (…). Le recours à cette possibilité ne dispense pas le pouvoir adjudicateur de respecter son engagement de passer des commandes à hauteur du montant minimum du marché lorsque celui-ci est prévu “ ;
  3. Considérant que si le titulaire d’un marché résilié irrégulièrement peut prétendre à être indemnisé de la perte du bénéfice net dont il a été privé, il lui appartient d’établir la réalité de ce préjudice ; que dans le cas d’un marché à bons de commande dont les documents contractuels prévoient un minimum en valeur ou en quantité, le manque à gagner ne revêt un caractère certain qu’en ce qu’il porte sur ce minimum garanti ;
  4. Considérant qu’il ressort des pièces du dossier soumis aux juges du fond que le contrat en litige était un marché à bons de commande dont les documents contractuels prévoyaient que son montant serait compris entre une valeur annuelle minimale de 200 000 euros et une valeur maximale de 400 000 euros ; que, par suite, en se fondant sur le montant minimal de commandes ainsi garanti pour évaluer le manque à gagner dont a été privée la société cocontractante du fait de la résiliation irrégulière du marché en litige, la cour administrative d’appel de Nantes n’a pas commis d’erreur de droit ;
  5. Considérant, en deuxième lieu, que le calcul du bénéfice s’opérant par soustraction au total des produits de l’ensemble des charges, la cour n’a pas commis d’erreur de droit en jugeant que le taux de marge devait être déterminé en prenant en compte non seulement les charges variables de la société mais également ses charges fixes ;
  6. Considérant, en dernier lieu, que la cour n’a pas davantage entaché son arrêt d’erreur de droit en se référant aux résultats nets des quatre exercices précédant la résiliation du marché en litige pour évaluer le taux de marge moyen de la société requérante ;
  7. Considérant qu’il résulte de tout ce qui précède que le pourvoi de la société du docteur Jacques Franc doit être rejeté ;
  8. Considérant que les dispositions de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative font obstacle à ce qu’une somme soit mise, à ce titre, à la charge du centre hospitalier de Vendôme, qui n’est pas, dans la présente instance, la partie perdante ; qu’en revanche, il y a lieu, dans les circonstances de l’espèce, de mettre à la charge de la société du docteur Jacques Franc la somme de 3 000 euros à verser au centre hospitalier au titre des mêmes dispositions ;

D E C I D E :

Article 1er : Le pourvoi de la société du docteur Jacques Franc est rejeté.
Article 2 : La société du docteur Jacques Franc versera une somme de 3 000 euros au centre hospitalier de Vendôme au titre de l’article L. 761-1 du code de justice administrative.
Article 3 : La présente décision sera notifiée à la société du docteur Jacques Franc et au centre hospitalier de Vendôme.


Résumé :  Si le titulaire d’un marché résilié irrégulièrement peut prétendre à être indemnisé de la perte du bénéfice net dont il a été privé, il lui appartient d’établir la réalité ce préjudice. Dans le cas d’un marché à bons de commande dont les documents contractuels prévoient un minimum en valeur ou en quantité, le manque à gagner ne revêt un caractère certain qu’en ce qu’il porte sur ce minimum garanti.