icone téléphone Tel: 01 42 22 09 18       icone fax Fax: 01 42 22 10 03       icone email sebastien.palmier@cabinetpalmier.fr      newsletter

Lawyer building permit

The law firm Palmier - Brault - Associés is a law firm expert in public procurement law.

The firm is made up of experienced and responsive lawyers who advise and defend the rights of building owners, businesses and individuals, whether for the preparation of building permit applications or for building permit disputes.

The firm works with a lawyer specializing in urban planning law. This collaboration provides him with a high level of expertise to legally secure the building permit file and to guarantee the best interests of the firm's clients in the event of litigation.

Definition
of the building permit

The building permit can be defined as the authorization given by an administrative authority to build one or more new constructions or to modify one or several existing constructions, prior to the execution of the works.
He must respect the rules of town planning, in particular those concerning the implantation of constructions, their destination, their nature, their external appearance and the development of their surroundings.

Who sets the demand
building permit?

It is up to the owner (s) of the land (s), or their agents, to prepare the application for a building permit. This person must simply certify that they meet the conditions to apply for a permit. Several applicants can now jointly file a single permit application.

What are the works for which
the building permit is due?

The Code distinguishes between new constructions and works on existing constructions.

New constructions requiring a building permit are:

  • any new construction for residential use or not, on bare ground (even without foundations), resulting in the creation of a floor area or a footprint greater than 20m2, regardless of its height,
  • pools with a coverage of over 1.80m in height and a pool of between 10 and 100m2
  • wind turbines equal to or greater than 12 m in height (mast + platform),
  • chassis and greenhouses higher than 4m in height, or chassis and greenhouses with a height greater than 1.80m and a surface area greater than 2000m2,
  • works and accessories of electric power distribution lines, if the voltage is greater than or equal to 63 000 volts.
  • Work on existing constructions subject to permits are:
  • any work that creates a floor area or a footprint greater than 20 m2. In urban areas covered by a PLU or planning document in lieu, this threshold of 20m2 is raised to 40m2. Below this 40m2 the file to be filed will be a "prior declaration" if however the total area of the building does not exceed 170m2.
  • any project that changes the destination of existing premises by modifying the façade or supporting structures of the building. Now the annexes are considered to be of the same destination as the main building. Thus the transformation of the garage from a house into a dwelling is no longer considered as a change of destination and no longer requires a prior declaration.
  • the work necessary to carry out a property restoration operation (rehabilitation, modernization or demolition leading to the transformation of the living conditions of a building or a group of buildings).
  • work on an historic monument building or constructions located in protected areas, including the PSMV (Plan de Sauvegarde et Enhancement) is approved (see details in the following questions).

What is the risk of building
without a building permit?

Penalties are provided for persons in breach of the rules (obstruction of access, failure to display, construction without a permit or not in accordance with the permit). These acts constituting infringements of the urban planning code are liable to criminal prosecution and penalties. The limitation period for infringements is 3 years.

How to build a file
building permit?

The application for a building permit must be made to the municipality of the municipality where the land is located or printed on different forms Cerfa No. 13406 * 02 (application for building permit for a house and / or its annexes) or Cerfa no. 13409 * 02 (application for building permit with or without demolitions).

Some documents must be attached to the file in all cases:

  • a site plan of the land,
  • a master plan of buildings to be built or modified,
  • a plan for cutting the land and building,
  • a notice describing the field and presenting the project,
  • a plan of facades and roofs,
  • a photograph allowing to locate the ground in the near environment and in the landscape.

The application for a building permit and the accompanying file must be made in 4 copies. One or two additional copies may be requested especially when the land is located within the protection perimeter of a historic building and is subject to the opinion of the architect of the buildings of France or located in a national park.

The complete file (application for building permit and documents to be provided) must be deposited directly at the town hall where the land is located or sent by registered letter with acknowledgment of receipt.

What are the holdups
to obtain permission to build?

The deadlines are now predictable and guaranteed by a receipt that is issued at the time of filing a complete file at the town hall. The deadline will be counted from this filing date. If the file is sent to the town hall by registered mail with request for acknowledgment of receipt, the date is mentioned on the acknowledgment of receipt.
The deadlines are:

  • 2 months for the building permit of a detached house and / or its annexes
  • 3 months for other constructions.

The administration has one month from the filing of the application to notify the applicant that mandatory documents are missing or that, due to certain mandatory consultations, the time limits are extended. The deadline is counted from date to date (ex: deposit, August 1, 2013, deadline for decision, November 1, 2013).

Without response from these services, their opinion will be deemed favorable; it is a tacit license and you can request a certificate attesting to it.

If the opinion of the architect of the buildings of France (ABF) is required, the period will be, depending on the case, three or four months for a building permit.

An extract of the application for a building permit must be posted at the town hall within 8 days following its filing and remain so throughout the investigation of the file, that is to say for at least 2 or 3 months.

Can we modify his project once the building permit has been filed?

The project can be modified if you apply for a building permit. The new building permit does not mean the withdrawal of the previous one, it does not interrupt the period of validity of this one, nor does it prolong it.

What are the validity periods of a building permit?

When the permit application has a favorable opinion, the construction must be carried out within 2 years from its notification. This period may be extended by one year (and only once) upon request made two months before the expiry time, otherwise the application for a building permit will be canceled. If, after this period of 2 years, the work is interrupted for a period longer than 1 year, the building permit will also be canceled.

Is the display of the permit mandatory?

Upon notification of the deemed favorable (tacit) decision of the building permit, the applicant must post the permit in the field, legibly from the public highway, on a rectangular panel whose sides are greater than 80cm and during any the duration of the work. Failure to display can be sanctioned because the file of the building permit must be able to be consulted in town hall by any interested person. The display in the field determines the starting point for the third-party appeal period against the building permit, which lasts for two months.

What formality should we accomplish
before the work and once the work is finished?

Before starting the work, it is advisable to send a declaration of opening of site in three copies to the urbanism services of the town hall. When the works are completed, the beneficiary of the building permit sends a declaration attesting the completion of the works (DAT) by registered letter with AR or the deposit against discharge at the town hall. In this declaration, the beneficiary undertakes to comply with the permit, which will close the litigation appeal period before the administrative courts.

Under what conditions are the works checked for compliance with the building permit?

It is under the responsibility of the applicant for the building permit (owner of the land or agent) that the works were carried out in accordance with the authorization issued to them.

The responsible authority may challenge the conformity of the work within 3 months to 5 months; after this period she can no longer dispute it. It will be necessary to carry out an on-site verification of this compliance in sectors with national stakes (sites, safeguarded sectors, sectors covered by a natural risk prevention plan, etc.).

Elsewhere, the verifications will be made on the initiative of the mayor and the competent department. If the work does not comply with the authorization, the administration gives notice to the contracting authority to file a modifying permit or to bring the works into conformity.

What are the remedies
to challenge a building permit?

The building permit is a public administrative authorization, issued subject to the right of third parties. The display in the field is the starting point for the 2-month period during which a third party (for example a neighbor) can challenge a building permit if he considers that it is prejudicial to him and that it is contrary urban planning rules. The appeal is inadmissible beyond one year from the completion of the construction.

The remedies are of two kinds:

  • Either an action for annulment of the building permit before the administrative court to challenge a building permit that has not been taken in the required forms. It is therefore preferable to wait until the end of the appeal period of third parties (2 months from the display) to start the work. It is also advisable to confirm the posting by the attestation of a bailiff, a relative or a neighbor.
  • This is a judicial remedy to sanction buildings without a permit or not in accordance with the permit.

icone téléphone Tél : 01 42 22 09 18       icone fax Fax : 01 42 22 10 03       icone email sebastien.palmier@cabinetpalmier.fr      Newsletter

Avocat permis de construire

Le cabinet d’avocats Palmier – Brault – Associés est un cabinet d’avocats experts en droit des marchés publics.

Le cabinet est constitué d’avocats expérimentés et réactifs qui conseillent et défendent les droits des maîtres d’ouvrages, des entreprises et des particuliers que ce soit pour l’élaboration des dossiers de permis de construire ou en matière de contentieux de permis de construire. 

Le cabinet collabore avec un avocat spécialiste en droit de l’urbanisme. Cette collaboration lui assure une compétence pointue pour sécuriser juridiquement le dossier de permis de construire et garantir au maximum les intérêts des clients du cabinet en cas de contentieux.

Définition
du permis de construire

Le permis de construire peut être défini comme l’autorisation donnée par une autorité administrative d’édifier une ou plusieurs constructions nouvelles ou de modifier une ou plusieurs constructions existantes, préalablement à l’exécution des travaux.
Il doit respecter les règles d’urbanisme, notamment celles concernant l’implantation des constructions, leur destination, leur nature, leur aspect extérieur et l’aménagement de leurs abords.

Qui établit la demande
de permis de construire ?

C’est au(x) propriétaire(s) du ou des terrains, ou bien à leurs mandataires, d’établir la demande de permis de construire. Cette personne doit simplement attester qu’elle remplit les conditions pour demander un permis. Désormais plusieurs demandeurs peuvent déposer conjointement une seule demande de permis.

Quels sont les travaux pour lesquels
le permis de construire est exigible ?

Le Code fait une distinction entre constructions nouvelles et travaux sur constructions existantes.

Les constructions nouvelles nécessitant un permis de construire sont :

  • toute construction neuve à usage d’habitation ou non, sur terrain nu (même sans fondations), entraînant la création d’une surface de plancher ou d’une emprise au sol supérieure à 20m2, quelle que soit sa hauteur,
  • les piscines dont la couverture dépasse 1,80m de hauteur et dont le bassin est compris entre 10 et 100m2
  • les éoliennes égales ou supérieures à 12 m de haut (mât + nacelle),
  • les châssis et les serres dont la hauteur est supérieure à 4m, ou bien, des châssis et serres dont la hauteur est supérieure à 1,80m et la surface supérieure à 2000m2,
  • les ouvrages et accessoires de lignes de distribution d'énergie électrique, si la tension est supérieure ou égale à 63 000 volts.
  • Les travaux sur constructions existantes soumis à permis sont :
  • tous travaux créant une surface de plancher ou une emprise au sol supérieure à 20 m2. Dans les zones urbaines couvertes par un PLU ou document d'urbanisme en tenant lieu, ce seuil de 20m2 est porté à 40m2. En dessous de ces 40m2 le dossier à déposer sera donc une "déclaration préalable" si toutefois la surface totale de la construction ne dépasse pas les 170m2.
  • tout projet qui change la destination de locaux existants en modifiant la façade ou les structures porteuses du bâtiment. Désormais les annexes sont considérées être de la même destination que la construction principale. Ainsi la transformation du garage d'une maison en habitation n'est plus considérée comme un changement de destination et ne nécessite plus qu'une déclaration préalable.
  • les travaux nécessaires à la réalisation d'une opération de restauration immobilière (remise en état, modernisation ou démolition entrainant la transformation des conditions d'habitabilité d'un immeuble ou d'un ensemble d'immeubles).
  • les travaux concernant un immeuble inscrit aux Monuments historiques ou les constructions situées en secteurs sauvegardés, dont le PSMV (Plan de sauvegarde et de mise en valeur) est approuvé (voir les précisions dans les questions suivantes).

Que risque-t-on à construire
sans permis de construire ?

Des sanctions sont prévues contre les personnes en infraction avec les règles (obstruction au droit de visite, défaut d’affichage, construction sans permis ou non conforme au permis). Ces actes constituant des infractions au code de l'urbanisme sont passibles de poursuites pénales et de sanctions. Le délai de prescription des infractions est de 3 ans.

Comment constituer un dossier
de permis de construire ?

La demande de permis de construire doit être effectuée à la mairie de la commune où est situé le terrain ou sur imprimé aux moyens de différents formulaires Cerfa n°13406*02 (demande de permis de construire pour une maison individuelle et/ou ses annexes) ou Cerfa n°13409*02  (demande de permis de construire comprenant ou non des démolitions).

Certaines pièces sont à joindre au dossier dans tous les cas :

  • un plan de situation du terrain,
  • un plan masse  des constructions à édifier ou à modifier,
  • un plan de coupe du terrain et de la construction,
  • une notice décrivant le terrain et présentant le projet,
  • un plan des façades et des toitures,
  • une photographie permettant de situer le terrain dans l'environnement proche et dans le paysage.

La demande de permis de construire et le dossier qui l'accompagne doivent être établis en 4 exemplaires. Un ou deux exemplaire supplémentaires peuvent être demandés notamment lorsque le terrain est situé dans le périmètre de protection d'un bâtiment historique et qu'il est soumis à l'avis de l'architecte des bâtiments de France ou situé dans un parc national.

Le dossier complet (demande de permis de construire et pièces à fournir) doit être déposé directement à la mairie où est situé le terrain ou envoyé par lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception.

Quels sont les délais
pour obtenir l'autorisation de construire ?

Les délais sont désormais prévisibles et garantis par un récépissé qui est délivré au moment du dépôt d'un dossier complet à la mairie. Le délai sera compté à partir de cette date de dépôt. Si le dossier est adressé à la mairie par pli recommandé avec demande d'avis de réception, la date est mentionnée sur l'accusé de réception.
Les délais sont de :
  • 2 mois pour le permis de construire d’une maison individuelle et/ou de ses annexes
  • 3 mois pour les autres constructions.

L'administration a un mois à compter du dépôt de la demande pour notifier au demandeur que des pièces obligatoires sont manquantes ou que, en raison de certaines consultations obligatoires, les délais sont prolongés. Le délai est compté de date à date (ex : dépôt, 1er août 2013, date limite de  décision, 1er novembre 2013).

Sans réponse de la part de ces services, leur avis sera réputé favorable ; c'est un permis tacite et vous pouvez demander un certificat l'attestant.

Si l'avis de l'architecte des bâtiments de France (ABF) est requis, le délai sera, selon le cas, de trois ou quatre mois pour un permis de construire.

Un extrait de la demande de permis de construire doit être affiché à la mairie dans les 8 jours qui suivent son dépôt et le rester durant toute l'instruction du dossier, c'est-à-dire pendant au moins 2 ou 3 mois. 

Est-ce que l'on peut modifier son projet une fois le permis de construire déposé ?

Le projet peut être modifié à condition de demander un permis de construire modificatif. Le nouveau permis de construire ne signifie pas le retrait du précédent, il n’interrompt pas le délai de validité de celui-ci, ni ne le prolonge. 

Quels sont les durées de validité d'un permis de construire ?

Lorsque la demande de permis a un avis favorable, la construction doit être réalisée dans un délai de 2 ans à compter de sa notification. Ce délai peut être prolongé d’une année (et seulement une fois) sur demande formulée deux mois avant le délai d’expiration, sinon la demande de permis de construire sera annulée. Si, passé ce délai de 2 ans, les travaux sont interrompus pendant une durée supérieure à 1 an, le permis de construire sera également annulé. 

L'affichage du permis est-il obligatoire ?

Dès la notification de la décision réputée favorable (tacite) du permis de construire, le demandeur doit afficher la mention du permis sur le terrain, de manière lisible depuis la voie publique, sur un panneau rectangulaire dont les côtés sont supérieurs à 80cm et pendant toute la durée du chantier. Le défaut d’affichage peut être sanctionné car le dossier du permis de construire doit pouvoir être consulté en mairie par toute personne intéressée. L’affichage sur le terrain détermine le point de départ du délai de recours des tiers contre le permis de construire, d’une durée de 2 mois. 

Quelle formalité doit-on accomplir
avant les travaux et une fois les travaux terminés ?

Avant de commencer les travaux, il convient d’adresser une déclaration d'ouverture de chantier en trois exemplaires aux services urbanisme de la mairie. Lorsque les travaux sont terminés, le bénéficiaire du permis de construire adresse une déclaration attestant l’achèvement des travaux (DAT) par lettre recommandée avec AR ou la dépose contre décharge à la mairie. Dans cette déclaration, le bénéficiaire s'engage sur la conformité avec le permis ce qui permettra de clore les délais de recours contentieux devant les tribunaux administratifs. 

Dans quelles conditions les travaux sont-ils contrôlés pour constater le respect du permis de construire ?

C’est sous la responsabilité du demandeur du permis de construire (propriétaire du terrain ou mandataire) que les travaux ont été réalisés conformément à l’autorisation qui leur a été délivrée.

L'autorité responsable pourra contester la conformité des travaux dans un délai de 3 mois à 5 mois ; passé ce délai elle ne peut plus la contester. Il sera obligatoirement procédé à une vérification sur place de cette conformité dans les secteurs à enjeux nationaux (sites, secteurs sauvegardés, secteurs couverts par un plan de prévention des risques naturels, …).

Ailleurs, les vérifications seront faites à l'initiative du maire et du service compétent. Si les travaux ne sont pas conformes à l'autorisation, l'administration met en demeure le maître d'ouvrage de déposer un permis modificatif ou de mettre en conformité les travaux. 

Quels sont les recours possibles
pour contester un permis de construire ?

Le permis de construire est une autorisation administrative publique, délivrée sous réserve du droit des tiers. L’affichage sur le terrain constitue le point de départ du délai de 2 mois pendant lequel un tiers (par exemple un voisin) peut contester un permis de construire en justice s’il estime qu’il lui porte préjudice et qu’il est contraire aux règles d’urbanisme. Le recours est irrecevable au-delà d'un an à compter de l'achèvement de la construction.

Les recours sont de 2 sortes : 

  • Soit un recours en annulation du permis de construire devant la juridiction administrative pour contester un permis de construire qui n’a pas été pris dans les formes requises. Il est donc préférable d’attendre la fin du délai de recours des tiers (2 mois à partir de l'affichage) pour commencer les travaux. Il est également conseillé de confirmer l’affichage par l’attestation d’un huissier, d’un proche ou d’un voisin.
  • Soit un recours judicaire pour sanctionner les constructions sans permis ou non conforme au permis.